We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hapuku Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Court Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anchor Inn Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
266
40
9
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
40
9
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housedeer farmtreehouse roomolive grovesbreakfast and dinnermaster chefvenisonnew zealandamazing treeour honeymoonsitting arealog burnerstunning placedietary requirementsoverlooking the mountainsamazing viewssnow capped mountains
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Hupuku Lodge is a quite upmarket lodge and pulls most things off very well. We spent two nights in a treehouse which was a great experience.

Let's concentrate on the good bits first - which is basically most of it! The Treehouses are very comfortable, lovely beds, beautiful decor, great views and a sumptuous two person bath. We stayed for dinner one night and the meal was good (not stunning but good) as you would expect a small menu, done well, with some nice local wine. Breakfast was similar, a limited choice continental (cereal (one choice only), fruit, toast etc) and a cooked menu at extra cost.

Staff were very helpful and friendly and did as much as they could to make our stay great, even down to the complimentary bottle of wine for my wifes big 50.

Don't want to dwell on the negatives as the overall experience was good but the lodge is located about 100 meters from highway 1 - which is not like a UK Motorway but did give some traffic noise and the railway is also close, albeit with a limited number of trains. Finally it is (in my view) expensive but book up for a night or two for that special occassion.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Febbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

A one night stay in early February in the lodge itself rather than the tree houses. The lodge is very comfortable with very spacious rooms. We ate in the lodge at night – inclusive pre-dinner drinks and excellent food, if a little formal. Situated a brief car ride from Kaikoura itself. Would like to have stayed longer. Free wireless internet.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyBoomerCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We stayed for 1 night in one of the treehouse lodges. There were numerous perks in the room- heated floors in the bathroom, jacuzzi bath, shower overlooking the farmland and ocean, ipod dock including ipod loaded with music, TV with DVD player and DVD rental avalable in the main lodge, in-room fireplace with logs already loaded up, mini-bar, tea-kettle, I could go on and on. The views from the room were magnificent- you could feel like you're totally isolated with all the amenities of modern life. The continental breafast was what you would expect and the dinner was excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redpandachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

I apologise for this review being a little late. My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights in August during very inclement weather. We very nearly didn't get there as the weather was so atrocious and there were landslides everywhere. We were so pleased that we made it because it was gorgeous. We had a room in the main building which was warm, luxurious and the view was spectacular . I pod player in the room, filtered water, underfloor heating. It was so comforting after being on the road for hours driving in gusting winds and horizontal rain.
We were made to feel very welcome and decided to eat there both nights. The food was excellent and the wine list impressive. The manager couldn't do enough for us. He even found out that my husbnad loves cheese so went out of his way to find some interesting local cheeses for him the second night we were there.

There is a deer farm next to the lodge. Their "pet" deer ,Marie is very friendly and nosy. She will come up to you on the look out for food but as they are normally such shy animals it was quite endearing. We did not have any problems with smells or flies but I suppose that was due to the cold weather. Quite glad about that! Some consolation for being cold and wet most of the time.

Many of our compatriots were stranded at the lodge beacuse of the blocked roads. if you're going to be stranded anywhere then this is the place to be. The decor is tasteful and stylish the log fire is comforting and cosy. I would recommend this place to anyone as a haven in a mad world.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aranwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We loved this place from the second we arrived. Yes it is more expensive than some of the other local accommodation but what a treat to spend 5 nights in a tree house. But no ordinary tree house, it was so well designed and equipped, we loved it. The staff were so friendly and could not do enough to help us. Lee put together a 5 day itinery for us and for most things just charged to the room so we just had to pay for all our trips etc on check out.
The eveing meal was superb.
This is a must stay place.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Angelica1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews