We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop off location to see the whales”
Review of Hapuku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hapuku Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great stop off location to see the whales”
Reviewed 9 April 2009

This lodge is a great concept and I think you really have to stay in the treehouses. The view of the mountains is stunning and rooms have great services like floor heating and a wood stove. The food is great and well cooked and there is a good selection of wine. The clear attraction is Kaikoura where you can go and see all kinds of sea life (whales, dolphins, albatross) and on clear nights the view of the sky is amazing.

It's a short drive to Kaikoura and the hotel is just off the interstate on the drive down to Christchurch. So I think this is the ideal hotel to stop for a day or two on your trip through NZ and explore Kaikoura. There is a good laundry service and internet which means catching up with admin is no problem as well.

It's not a cheap place but the style and comfort is pretty top end. I wouldn't recommend the treehouses to people with disabilities as there are a number of stairs to go up, but the friendly staff do help with your luggage.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Green_kermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    37
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
215
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We were very disappointed with this lodge.
Our room & bathroom although very spacoius had a nasty smell of drains that permeated the whole suite. We did complain & the owners tried to clean the drains but apparently it turns out that it is a known problem & not solvable at the time of our visit.
The evening meal on offer is extremely overpriced & when offered to join for drinks in the lounge (as most B & B establishments do) we found that the glass of wine we had was not complimentary but charged to uor account. This is not the usual custom that we found in New Zealand & supprised us somewhat.
Although a B & B it only included a continental breakfast & cooked breakfast was charged for.
We felt that the establishment was out to make as much money as it could from its clients & there was not a nice friendly atmosphere.
We would not recommend this establihment as I am sure there are much better B & B's in the area that are better value for money.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham_hyland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

From its website ('the quest for the most comfortable beds in the world', 'the exquisite hand made furniture' etc etc), I expected this to be amongst the highlights of my South Island tour. It wasn't. The woodwork was indeed exceptional and the staff very obliging. But the setting, hospitality and overall experience wasn't nearly as good as most other places I stayed in at significantly lower cost. Niggles included the smell of drains coming up through the basin so the plug had to be left in throughout, the room being unbearably hot on arrival with an inadequate fan to cool it, sparse guest information in the room and the car park being so poorly surfaced that if you were unfortunate enough to have a car door open when another vehicle moved everything was instantly coated in dust and grit. Above all, though, the let down was the people - all the more so given the general standard of hospitality experienced across NZ. The staff were good, but the owners and senior management struggled even to acknowledge the presence of a customer during all three periods when our paths crossed. I'm certainly not one to expect special attention, but the very basics such as a 'hello', 'good evening' or 'good morning' wouldn't seem too much to expect from a venue whose website waxes lyrical about the customer experience provided.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swlaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Hupuku Lodge is a quite upmarket lodge and pulls most things off very well. We spent two nights in a treehouse which was a great experience.

Let's concentrate on the good bits first - which is basically most of it! The Treehouses are very comfortable, lovely beds, beautiful decor, great views and a sumptuous two person bath. We stayed for dinner one night and the meal was good (not stunning but good) as you would expect a small menu, done well, with some nice local wine. Breakfast was similar, a limited choice continental (cereal (one choice only), fruit, toast etc) and a cooked menu at extra cost.

Staff were very helpful and friendly and did as much as they could to make our stay great, even down to the complimentary bottle of wine for my wifes big 50.

Don't want to dwell on the negatives as the overall experience was good but the lodge is located about 100 meters from highway 1 - which is not like a UK Motorway but did give some traffic noise and the railway is also close, albeit with a limited number of trains. Finally it is (in my view) expensive but book up for a night or two for that special occassion.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Febbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

A one night stay in early February in the lodge itself rather than the tree houses. The lodge is very comfortable with very spacious rooms. We ate in the lodge at night – inclusive pre-dinner drinks and excellent food, if a little formal. Situated a brief car ride from Kaikoura itself. Would like to have stayed longer. Free wireless internet.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyBoomerCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We stayed for 1 night in one of the treehouse lodges. There were numerous perks in the room- heated floors in the bathroom, jacuzzi bath, shower overlooking the farmland and ocean, ipod dock including ipod loaded with music, TV with DVD player and DVD rental avalable in the main lodge, in-room fireplace with logs already loaded up, mini-bar, tea-kettle, I could go on and on. The views from the room were magnificent- you could feel like you're totally isolated with all the amenities of modern life. The continental breafast was what you would expect and the dinner was excellent!

  • Liked — Room amenities and view
  • Disliked — Distance from the center of town
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redpandachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

I apologise for this review being a little late. My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights in August during very inclement weather. We very nearly didn't get there as the weather was so atrocious and there were landslides everywhere. We were so pleased that we made it because it was gorgeous. We had a room in the main building which was warm, luxurious and the view was spectacular . I pod player in the room, filtered water, underfloor heating. It was so comforting after being on the road for hours driving in gusting winds and horizontal rain.
We were made to feel very welcome and decided to eat there both nights. The food was excellent and the wine list impressive. The manager couldn't do enough for us. He even found out that my husbnad loves cheese so went out of his way to find some interesting local cheeses for him the second night we were there.

There is a deer farm next to the lodge. Their "pet" deer ,Marie is very friendly and nosy. She will come up to you on the look out for food but as they are normally such shy animals it was quite endearing. We did not have any problems with smells or flies but I suppose that was due to the cold weather. Quite glad about that! Some consolation for being cold and wet most of the time.

Many of our compatriots were stranded at the lodge beacuse of the blocked roads. if you're going to be stranded anywhere then this is the place to be. The decor is tasteful and stylish the log fire is comforting and cosy. I would recommend this place to anyone as a haven in a mad world.

  • Liked — The comfort
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything to grumble about
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aranwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
7.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
7.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
39 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Fairways
The Fairways
#5 of 36 in Kaikoura
298 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hapuku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuku Lodge

Property: Hapuku Lodge
Address: State Highway 1 At Station Road, RD 1, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hapuku Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuku Lodge and Tree Houses is distinctive boutique luxury accommodation set on a deer farm and olive grove in one of the world's most beautiful locations, between the Kaikoura Mountains and the Pacific Coast of New Zealand's South Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hapuku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hapuku Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing