We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous spot, very comfy beds, helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
australia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“fabulous spot, very comfy beds, helpful staff.”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We were a group of 5 sharing an apartment with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a full size single bed was put in the lounge room - which did not impact on the living area at all. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the apartments facilities, and were able to walk to cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    49
    7
    0
    6
See reviews for
157
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
billericay
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

stayed sadly for just one night but splashed out on this fantastic apartment as it was my wifes 60th.The apartment had everything inc.two bedrooms and two bathrooms, it was modern,spotless and sublime. I had pre requested Bubbly from Liz (our host) but we were greeted with balloons, bunting and even a gift from Liz..My wife was overwhelmed.
So thanks again Liz for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillericaySeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

This was a great place. Fantastically clean, and absolutely everything you would need was provided.
The view from the balcony was marvellous.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed here as part of our Silver Wedding Tour. We were initially booked for 3 nights but, because of the terrible events in Christchurch, needed an extra night. This was no problem for Liz who does not seem to have problems .. only solutions! This was despite her having to travel to Christchurch on the night of 22nd to collect her children who had been caught up in it all. When we first arrived we were shown to apartment #1, the Honeymoon Suite! There were balloons on the door and an anniversary message for us. Inside were flowers and a gift. We were amazed. The apartment was clean, spacious and very well equipped. The views were stunning. It was such a quiet location that you could sleep with the balcony doors open to catch the sound of the surf. Liz has plenty of great suggestions for eating out or where to buy food to eat in. Wonderful seafood from the ladies in the van on the esplanade. We will return to NZ to visit Christchurch in the future and would certainly stay here again.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenDayFanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2011

The hosts of the Waves Liz and Damer were so kind and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable. We were treated more like friends than clients.
The apartments were immaculate with great views. Great location with only a short walk to shops restaurants and attractions etc.
Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2011

In spire of a major bungle by the Auckland Tourist Office who simply forgot to confirm our booking, we were welcome with a great smile and with the help of her two assistants the manageress played around a no vacancy situation to find us splendid accommodation, better than we had booked for. For us there is nô better holiday address in the whale watching countries of thé world.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boro1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We made a booking online at this place. The booking was confirmed and our visa card instantly debited prior to our stay. Then Waves sent an email cancellation telling us they were going to debit a cancellation fee. The web booking was made confirmed and paid for and then Waves emailed to cancelled our booking and charge us a cancellation fee. Bad management, bad booking system, bad goodwill. they could at least have contacted us by phone personally, said they had made a mistake and suggested alternate accomodation in Kaikoura. When questioned they said they would not charge a cancellation fee as they had "accidentally double booked?"..... Yeah right!! a new slogan for the beer people...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nowaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Property: Kaikoura Apartments
Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing