We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
shannon new zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Great place to stay. Beautiful apartments with a view to die for. We were well looked after by the hosts - they were helpful and friendly - would go back tomorrow

Room Tip: the hosts will tell help you choose - depends on what you are after
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    49
    7
    0
    6
See reviews for
157
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
892 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This place is extraordinary! The unit has 2 bedrooms, two baths, Laundry in the unit, kitchen, lounge and eating area inside and on the balcony. So well furnished with taste and charm. The manager could not do enough for us. His info was tops and we were so excited to be in a secure, safe, beautiful place. I wanted to stay for a week+. Alas we were only here for one night. I wouild consider coming here for a long holiday!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
295 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed three nights at Waves on the Esplanade, Kaikoura at the start of our four week holiday in the South Island of New Zealand. It was a great start to the holiday and we enjoyed everything about this two bedroom two bathroom apartment which was on the top floor overlooking both ocean and (snow capped) mountains. The managers were very helpful and friendly. It was a short walk to a few restaurants or a 20 minute walk to the "centre" of town. There were a few nice homely touches in the apartment which made it feel like home and it was very modern and well equpped. We really enjoyed the peninsular loop walk through a seal colony and over the headland.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor towards th front of the building. There is parking on the ground floor, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHJHGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

we stayed for three nights in their two-bedroom apartments. They were spacious, very clean and had a great range of appliances and amenities. We stay in many apartment complexes and these were up with the best of them. Liz and Damar were very helpful & nothing was too much trouble. Their recommendations for restaurants were spot on. The oceanfront location was great with restaurants in easy walking distance and only a matter of a few minutes drive to the heart of Kaikoura town shopping. Would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: any of the rooms seemed to have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVPAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My apartment was spacious, clean, very nicely decorated and had a GREAT view from the balcony. Damer and Liz are great hosts. Damer was kind enough to pick me up from the train station when I became stranded. Not only did he pick me up, he then took me on a quick tour of some of the more scenic areas. The customer service at Waves is simply above and beyond. This will be my "home" whenever I return to Kaikoura.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VB336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed for two nights in Sep 2011 and had a great stay. The apartments are very spacious and could easily have held two couples rather than just one as there was two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Everything was spotless and the views were great. We would highly reccommend Waves.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Super_P_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Spotlessly clean, comfortable, spacious, well equipped apartment. Lovely setting. Friendly, helpful, patient hosts, a very relaxing stay. On our last night, they were fully booked with french fans, but the structure and design of the building ensures you don't hear your neighbours. The thoughtfulness of Liz and Damer is extraordinary, they will do what they can to enhance your stay, without being intrusive. We had lifts to supermaket, restaurant, railway station etc They didn't charge us for the fresh milk and internet we had and their recommendations of places to eat and things to do, were spot on. Plenty of scope to cater for yourselves. Dolphin Encounter Cafe next door great for brekkie/lunch and you still get that view!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Property: Kaikoura Apartments
Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing