We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class apartments coupled with the perfect hosts Liz & Damer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Waves has got to be the very best in holiday apartments in Kaikoura everything is absolutely first class & spotlessly clean the hosts Liz & Damer are great with nothing being too much trouble because we arrived via the train from Blemheim (which I might add is one amazing journey not to be missed ) they shuttled us about in their own car as if they had known us forever !! We will certainley recommend the Waves Apartments to our freinds. Thank you Liz & Damer.......Dennis & Janet.....Devonport, Auckland

Room Tip: We stayed in room no 9 with amazing veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Liz and Damer were perfect hosts always going out of their way to help and advise us - they even managed to get the local shuttle taxi service to hire out their bus to us for the day! Damer also ran us around in his car numerous times because we travelled to Kaikoura via train.

The appartments were perfect with everything you could think of taken care of. The quality of the building, the furnishings and the equipment was very high. Our kids loved the spa pool, the scooters and the selection of DVDs whilst we made good use of the bikes.

The appartments are ideally located just a 10 minute walk to the town centre, surrounded by good eateries and tourist attractions and they all have fantastic views over the sea and mountains.

We will definitely be staying again.....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

On arriving into Kaikoura we were greeted with a 6hr delay due to the only road being closed after a crash, this soon became a stress free situation with one call to the owners of the waves on the esplanade. They came and got us in 20mins and then did everything they could to make the evening pleasant without our vehicle. The apartment was stunning, breathtaking views and a really homely feel whilst staying stylish. The owners had thought of everything, you literally couldn't ask for more! The selling point really had to be the hospitality and warm welcome we were given, nothing was an issue... any advice/bookings/help required was given with a big smile and fantastic attitude. Would stay again in an instant!

Room Tip: We had apartment 12 which had stunning views, the top floor I would imagine would get best views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The units are imaculate and have everything you need with amazing views and within easy walking distance of the town. The owners are friendly and helpful and have clearly worked hard to produce excellent facilities and accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_gardening_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This is a great place to stay in Kaikoura. A comfortable sef catering apartment with tremendous views. The owners were friendly and very helpful. They had good advice as to the cheapest place to buy crayfish, where to see baby seals, the best restaurants and what to do when whale watching boat trips were cancelled. The apartments are extremely well kitted out. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dj_vhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Great place to stay. Beautiful apartments with a view to die for. We were well looked after by the hosts - they were helpful and friendly - would go back tomorrow

Room Tip: the hosts will tell help you choose - depends on what you are after
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This place is extraordinary! The unit has 2 bedrooms, two baths, Laundry in the unit, kitchen, lounge and eating area inside and on the balcony. So well furnished with taste and charm. The manager could not do enough for us. His info was tops and we were so excited to be in a secure, safe, beautiful place. I wanted to stay for a week+. Alas we were only here for one night. I wouild consider coming here for a long holiday!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Panorama Motel
Panorama Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: £137 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing