We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view and great start to our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We arrived for a one night stay in one of the top floor apartments. When we drew back the curtains in the morning we had a majestic view of blue sky and snow-clad mountains leading down to a view of the Pacific Ocean.

Fantastically equipped and stylish family accommodation. Nothing had been overlooked; everything had been very well thought through. Top amenities and comforts, accompanied by very friendly and welcoming service.

I would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guy1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was a top-notch property and would love to stay here again. We had a very comfortable two bedroom apartment and it had everything. They even have a low counter in the handicap apartment so you can cook from a wheelchair. great location. Couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had a one night stay in a top floor apartment in early July. We drove past the property as we entered the town, it was dark and late and we missed the sign, so we were pleased to park up underneath our room. The apartments are very well furnished, so we decided to chill out with a take away and watch a film from Sky; we had some fish and chips that weren't great, the restaurants and crayfish places were better options.

Opening the curtains in the morning revealed a fantastic view to the sea and mountains from the apartment, just great. It's a short drive or brisk stroll into town, there's a supermarket and bakery, and plenty of food options. There was a hot tub that we didn't use as it was winter, rooms were very warm. All in all, it's a lovely place in a sweet town - it's not cheap, but it was good for the money.

The owners were great and helpful, a good source of information. They were great to let us know immediately they'd found my daughter's precious scarf she'd left there. And there's a generous Internet allowance.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank SteveP1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I initially booked a 2 night stay in a ground floor apartment through booking.com. A few days before our arrival we recieved an email asking if we needed ground floor access as we could be upgraded to a top floor apartment free of charge. Having now stayed in these apartments it would definitely be worth paying the extra for top floor sea views. The apartments are amazing! They are directly across the road from the beach. Inside the apartments are clean, modern and luxurious with every appliance that you could need. Location is ideal with a 5 minute walk to the main esplanade area with shops, supermarkets and restaurants. The whale watching tour office is a 5 minute drive away. Would definitely stay here again if we return to Kaikoura in the future. Dont hesitate to book!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripMember101720162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We booked this apartment because we always look in tripadviser before we book anything to see the reviews and get an idea about the Hotel/Motel/Apartment etc.
We were very pleasantly surprised. What a great 2 Bedroom apartment we had. With all the bells and whistles. Great appliances, spacious, clean and nice views over sea and mountains. Our stay was far too short and we will certainly be back.
The hosts were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargitandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Over the last fifteen years we've chosen self-catering apartments wherever possible in Europe, North America, Asia, Oz and even the Pacific Islands. Of those many places, Waves on the Esplanade was the very best on all counts - and it is only 181km from home!
As well as the positive reviews, I had a hint from Liz's profesionalism in handling the phone booking that this was something special. Both Liz and Damer Farrell have suitable personalities for such a venture.
We stayed three nights in the premier suite, views to the sea and to the mountains. The furniture and fittings are not only top-level, but also functional - I've never seen such a well-equipped and well-organised kitchen. Every gadget one can imagine. There is even an Italian expresso machine with frother. It was all so easy that we ended up preparing all our meals there, even our token celebration meal of seafood - a glass of wine on the sunset balcony. Ah, bliss.
Look for the little touches that Liz and Damer think up between them. Thank you both.

PS the units are individually owned - you may like it so much you want to buy one.

Room Tip: Garages are on the ground floor so all units have some elevation - second level ones have the best v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi_rua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed three nights at Waves. Had a two bedroom apartment - one en-suite and the other separate which also had a washing machine, drier and sink in a well appointed cupboard.
Own parking space below the apartment and a lift to our floor.
Met by the Manager (Liz) who was most helpful and informative not only about the apartment but the area itself.
Beautifully appointed apartment with super views of the beach from the balcony. It had everything we needed.
Has free Wi-Fi .....great when you want to keep in touch with family at home.
Went whale watching (absolutely fabulous!!!!). Liz also suggested going to the seal colony - again fab.
Kaikoura is in a beautiful setting and Waves just made our stay there perfect. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy61268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
371 reviews
0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Panorama Motel
Panorama Motel
#11 of 20 in Kaikoura
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: £125 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing