We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 4-week holiday. It was excellent. We were in a 2-bed apartment but only 2 of us, so lots of space. Having laundry facilities in the apartment was great as it was part way through our holiday and we could get everything clean again! Also the kitchen was very well equipped. We only did breakfasts but it would have been easy to do dinner if we'd wanted to. Liz (owner) was very helpful, suggesting great places for dinner (Tuti's and Green Dolphin) which were both excellent. She also offered to drop us off at Green Dolphin if it rained that evening but luckily we didn't need to take her up on that.
The location was pretty good too - a bit of a walk to restaurants (10 - 20 mins depending which ones you wanted) but right near the Dolphin Encounter office and cafe (see my other review about the dolphins!). By the way, Liz lends out towels for beach or dolphin swim, so that was really useful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We went on a 5 week car vacation and this is by far the best place we've stayed at during the whole time. The rooms were modern, spacious and well planned. There was a washing machine and dryer in the room, free of charge and washing powder included.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Months ahead we dithered around looking around for the best place to stay in Kaikoura and we really found it. The suite had 2 balconies overlooking the sea, with waves crossing just across the esplanade. Very clean and contemporary in furnishings. Full kitchen, and clothes washing facilities. My husband & I rattled around in the place because it was so spacious, but it was nice to luxuriate a bit toward the end of our month trip. Walking distance to the whole town, even restaurants such as Tuti's on the other end of town. Don't miss Tuti's, for a charming restaurant and great food at reasonable prices as compared to the rest of NZ. The manager couple even supplied some milk for coffee! And recommended a place in town for Thai food that was very reasonably priced. It turned out to be phenomenal!

Room Tip: Ask where you can see the waves and also hear them crashing to get the most from your sea- front vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALEGARDNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Staying at Waves was a delightful experience. We were greeted by Daymer and Liz (owners) who immediately made us feel right at home. Room were large and very nicely furnished. Had fresh milk in our room along with an assortment of teas and coffee (learned to use coffee press!) and goodies. Location couldn't have been better -walk to town, walk the peninsula, kayak, it really is a cool place. View from our room was spectacular and the people added greatly to our experience-would recommend this place to all!
Carpe diem!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ellie352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Waves, met by our friendly host Damer. The apartments themselves were immaculately clean and well appointed. Only wish we had more time to take advantage of the spa and recreation activities.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a room with a good view over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here over the Christmas holiday and it was great. It was a great location, a great unit with an amazing view and very gracious hosts. Liz and Damer were the perfect hosts and went out of their way to make sure our twin 8 year old daughters had a great holiday, even on the rainy days where Liz provided the girls' activities to keep them busy inside. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy9611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed both the apartment and the beautiful views, directly out on to the Pacific Ocean. The apartments are spacious, two bedrooms, and have all the facilities you could wish for. The managers are extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: £149 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing