We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We were thrilled when we opened the door .... It was beautiful!! Mum is 86 with dodgy knees and there was a lift up to our unit which was wonderful! We both caught terrible colds in NZ and the manager Liz went out of her way for us. She sent up medicine and a bottle of scotch. Liz was a delight and really made us feel welcome.... Thank you Liz and hope to come back next year

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank helenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    49
    7
    0
    6
See reviews for
157
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here for one night in their ‘Luxury’ unit, which was apartment #1. The apartment had a lounge and dining area with open plan kitchen, as well as two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. It ended up being loads of space for the two of us. There were pleasant ocean views from the lounge and there was a large balcony attached as well. The apartment seemed well stocked with kitchen utensils, washing machine, ironing board, vacuum, etc. I’m not sure if I would call it a luxurious apartment, but it was reasonably well appointed and we were satisfied with our stay. The staff at the front desk (possibly the owners) were friendly and happy to give us tips for our short stay in Kaikoura. It is a very small town and we found that everywhere we wanted to go (i.e. local shops, dinner, Peninsula Walkway, Whale Watch office) was within 5-10 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 2 nights and it was perfect. The apartments are beautifully designed so that all of them have balconies looking out over the ocean. Our apartment was classy, clean and very well equipped. Kaikoura must be one of the most spectacular places in the world.

Room Tip: You'll hear the sea better if you have an apartment nearer to the esplanade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed three nights at Waves, Liz in reception welcoming and friendly. Great location, only 5 minutes walk from centre of town unless you feel like a nice dawdle and just take in the view of the mountains. Apartment we chose was spacious and had view of ocean and mountains, well maintained, absolutely spotless and great having washing machine and dryer, thought we wouldn't need to use them but did on our last night. We didn't cook but the kitchen was certainly well equipped if we felt inclined to do so. Recommend Waves on the Esplanade and if in Kaikoura again would stay there.

Room Tip: A higher floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (no 11) and it was fantastic. The views are mind-blowing and sitting having a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking snow capped mountains on one side and the sea on the other, in a peaceful, quiet, beautiful little town like Kaikoura is a perfect end to the day. Our apartment was perfectly appointed and we wanted for nothing. It was a short 7-10 minute walk to town for dinner and a little more the other direction to the seal colony and beautiful lookouts etc. Manager was delightful and helpful and little touches (hand crocheted doily tops to the hand painted little milk bottles...? What's not to love! : ) really made a difference. I can't wait to go back and next time I'll stay longer.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Puddingkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 4-week holiday. It was excellent. We were in a 2-bed apartment but only 2 of us, so lots of space. Having laundry facilities in the apartment was great as it was part way through our holiday and we could get everything clean again! Also the kitchen was very well equipped. We only did breakfasts but it would have been easy to do dinner if we'd wanted to. Liz (owner) was very helpful, suggesting great places for dinner (Tuti's and Green Dolphin) which were both excellent. She also offered to drop us off at Green Dolphin if it rained that evening but luckily we didn't need to take her up on that.
The location was pretty good too - a bit of a walk to restaurants (10 - 20 mins depending which ones you wanted) but right near the Dolphin Encounter office and cafe (see my other review about the dolphins!). By the way, Liz lends out towels for beach or dolphin swim, so that was really useful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We went on a 5 week car vacation and this is by far the best place we've stayed at during the whole time. The rooms were modern, spacious and well planned. There was a washing machine and dryer in the room, free of charge and washing powder included.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Property: Kaikoura Apartments
Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing