We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More luxurious than appears on internet - beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“More luxurious than appears on internet - beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

I wasn't expecting much of the apartment we rented based on what I saw from the internet, but we were happy to find a beautiful apartment with the most amazing views when we arrived. Request a 3rd floor apartment for the best views. Great location, just a few minutes' drive from the main street, and we were able to walk to the dolphin swimming office.

The washer/dryer was also extremely useful, and the manager was very accommodating - we were able to have a late check out so we could shower after our swim with dolphins in the morning. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    49
    7
    0
    6
See reviews for
157
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

We feel lucky that we chose Waves on the Esplanade. Kaikoura is a pretty quiet place, and is spread out along the coastline. Waves was right in the middle of other motels & apartments and most the restaurants were close by. The units seemed to all have beautiful views, they were well equipped, clean, comfortable, and warm. The highlight of the spot though is that Liz, the Manager, is such a warm helpful person - she really made our stay in Kaikoura special.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night during our honeymoon, and this was hands-down our best hotel experience in all of New Zealand. Damer came and met us at the train station, drove us around town - and even picked up some groceries for us! - before bringing us back to our spacious, well-kept apartment with an absolutely mesmerizing ocean view. Now admittedly, we may have been getting a bit of "honeymoon treatment," and it was off-season - so your mileage might vary a bit - but we had a fantastic experience from start to finish. These are two of the nicest, most hospitable innkeepers anyone could hope to encounter. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesKaikoura, Manager at Kaikoura Apartments, responded to this review, 16 September 2009
Hi Guys

Thanks so much for your feedback - hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon. Just wanted to say that although it was our quieter season we do as much of this as we can for anyone whatever the time of year :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

The accomodation was excallent we stayed in the apartment right on the front so the views we're amazing. The interior of the apartment was modern and spotless. The owners were so friendly and very helpful, helping us organise an alternative boat trip as ours fell through. Go and stay here, for location and accomodation you won't find better in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cab1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

We were only in Kaikoura for one night and booked these apartments as they looked so nice in the photos on their website. The photos didn't lie and the views and rooms were exactly as described. They appeared fairly new or had been redecorated quite recently as everything in the apartment was pristine.
The location is great if you have fantastic weather as there is a balcony which you could sit out on - it does overlook the road so better to be in apartments further towards the back - you can check their plan to see which one you are booking - but the sea is beyond which would be fantastic. As long as the weather is sunny and warm.
Unfortunately it was neither when we were there and so it isn't such a nice location. To walk to the bars and restaurants in the town - I say town it is more of one small strip of shops, bars and restaurants - is a good 10-15 minute walk which is fine if it isn't raining but not if it is.
We decided to have dinner in a restaurant on the other side of the apartments - going away from the town which was only a few hunderd metres away and was recommended by both the owner and in the book in the room. However both failed to mention that it closed on a Monday night and so we walked there for nothing!
Would be great for a family though - very spacious with a large lounge and open plan kitchen which had everything in it including a dishwasher and cooker. Even a washing machine in the bathroom and dryer which was really handy.
2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (one is an ensuite off of one of the bedrooms) so it is fine if you are 2 friends or 2 couples sharing.
You have your own parking space and milk is provided. As this only cost about £50 for one night it was good value. It was just a shame that the weather was bad so we didn't fully appreciate it.
Service was fine - nothing special but adequate and it was quite easy to find - just drive through the town and it is on the main road just as you head out.
Would stay again but only in good weather. There is nothing to do in Kaikoura unless the sun is shining!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolafb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

Modern, well furnished and fantastic views of the sea. The apartments are huge, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, with all the in room facilities you’d expect plus a dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. Each apartment has a balcony with tables and chairs so you can eat out with a lovely view of the ocean. There was an allocated parking space underneath the apartments for your car.

The dolphin encounter base is close to the apartment, the whale watch base a 5 minute drive and it is a 10 minute walk to the town centre where the majority of the restaurants are.

These apartments are privately owned and let out so there is one locked cupboard in the main bedroom.

The only fault I could find is the sign in the kitchen asking you not to cook smelly foods (e.g. curries) for the benefit of the guests that follow you, ok it is considerate but a bit too regulatory?

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISRAEL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

Excellent appartments. Very conveninent.
Very good service. You have everything inside the flat.
The internet connection is not adjusted.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZEEVBERNSTINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WavesKaikoura, Manager at Kaikoura Apartments, responded to this review, 20 August 2009
Thank-you for your review. I'm so sorry that there was a problem in your apartment - we have tried to get the problem solved - unfortunately it is not possible to do this however we have found a way around the issue. No problems with internet access in any of the other apartments :)

Warm regards

Liz & Damer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Property: Kaikoura Apartments
Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing