We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fyffe Country Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
59
12
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
12
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge suiteset in beautiful gardensbeautiful propertywonderful hostswhale watch cruiseour short staythe main highwayour honeymoona great place to staycolinmountainsviewsluxurycomfortearthquake
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Fyffe Country Lodge would be one of the best places to stay in Canterbury. The rooms are wonderfully decorated and very upmarket. It is 6 star quality! The outdoor surroundings are beautifully kept by Colin (host) and are so picturesque with specatular views of the mountains.

The hosts are very friendly and served us the absolute best Seafood Chowder we have ever tasted!

We had everything we needed for a luxurious evening (and morning) of decadence. We felt like royalty, which by the way, Chris (hostess) says they do have staying there regularly!

I cannot see how anyone could possibly find Fyffe Country Lodge disappointing!?? We highly reccommend staying here when you feel you need a little something special :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cacr, Owner at Fyffe Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Your review was amazing...it is so lovely when guests get to experience and appreciate the lodge. We try exceptionally hard to get everything right and wonderful guests such as yourselves make it a treat for us too !! Thank you !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

When making our bookings for our N.Z. trip from the U.K. we relied to a great extent on Tripadvisor reviews. I'm wondering whether we did stay at the same place! This place was the only disappointment of the whole trip. We appreciate that this was the winter 'off' season but everywhere else had kept up the expected high standards. On checking in we were welcomed and handed a small jug of milk which we carried across to our room. The room was fine and lived up to expectations although the heating was barely adequate, being a small oil radiator plugged into the wall. The bathroom was well fitted out but no underfloor heating which we have come to expect at these prices so it was a chilly shower experience, despite the overhead heat lights. The room fridge was completely empty apart from our small jug of milk.
We had to order our evening meal at check in as we were the only residents so no full restaurant service was goint to happen. The meals were a disaster. The meat was cooked well enough but the vegetables felt as though they had been taken from a freezer as they were spnongey and tastless, and totally at odds with the fresh tasting food we have expwerienced everywhere else without exception. The whole presentation of the meal was poor. Sadly, this was the worst food we had ever been presented with on our entire N.Z. trip. Our feelings were that we were inconvenient guests during the quiet winter months and perhaps this place should not be open for guests until the busier summer months. The only saving grace was the breakfast cooke from nearby Kaikoura who had come in specially to look after us and presented us with an excellent breakfast. This stay was definitely not worth the top dollar price we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cacr, Owner at Fyffe Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you Chris and Carmen for your interesting review.

Firstly I would like to address the issue of you carrying a small jug of fresh milk 10 mitres to your room,…. … I actually thought I was going to be carrying some luggage and this was the reason you had the milk…my apologies.
Heating: Your room was warm on arrival and an 11 fin oil burner (the biggest you can buy in NZ)had been on between 2 -3 hours prior to your arrival. Additional heating was offered to you however you said you were fine.
The bathroom/ensuite is a wet area which can also be used for wheelchair access. The bathroom has a heated towel rail along with heat lamps. Beds have electric blankets plus 80% goose down duvets.
Restaurant: Service …this was marked low….On the evening you stayed we specially opened our 75+ seating restaurant for you both and ensured the log burner was on (This meant heating a room 14 meters x 7 meters ) We do not open to the general public during the winter months. If this is not service I really am not sure what is…most…. New Zealand restaurants would not open such a large dining room for 2 persons.
You got to try our beautiful Seafood Chowder which is known nationally and internationally. The beef was cooked to perfection (For this we hold national awards) I had recommended the Salmon, Beef or Blue Cod as the couscous is not everybody’s… ‘cup of tea’….this was what you selected … but never the less is quite tasty and has Mediterranean influences with zucchinis, crushed tomatoes, onions and currants (readers please feel free to ask for this recipe and try it for yourself) The sauce is quite a thin sauce and the reason for this is it mixes adequately through the couscous which can tend to be dry. I think couscous is one of the hardest products to present and I imagine chef’s world wide would agree with me (If I have to be guilty of anything it is that I always find it hard to estimate the quantity of couscous to put on a plate.). If I put too much on your plate I apologise. I personally drove to the village… after you had checked in … 5 k’s away to purchase the vegetables for the evening which were steamed. We also had some as we cooked for ourselves at the same time.
Our restaurant has catered to one of New Zealand Prime Ministers, Politicians, several ambassadors to New Zealand, Celebrities and movie producers and frequently we host some of the world’s royals who have never dined out of house. Most of our tours have been coming to the restaurant for the past 12-15 years.
Value: This scored low. $240.00 was the payable rate for this room which included taxes and 2 x 2 course breakfasts and free wifi. We stay at similar properties and we pay $275.00 with no breakfast or free wifi.
Our Environment Policy…The Fridge….and Pre ordered Meal.
Both of these are about being realistic in how we operate with the least impact to our environment. Other than the fact that a mini bar has proven to be less than honest on several occasions we recite in our compendium that our water source is of the purest. We have an artisan bore which is 100-ft down and is monitored by the local authorities. Stocking our refrigerators with bottled water which possibly may have sat on the shelves of a ware house storage unit for a period of time defeats the purpose of providing and maintaining such a pure source….The depth of the bore ensures the water is very cold and can be source directly from the tap. The taste is amazing….
If just 2 persons are dining in…. (As was the case in this instance ) we ask them to pre order… this means we are not impacting on our environment by way of unnecessarily running ovens or producing products that are just not going to be used and are perishable products.. We are very conscious of the beautiful environment we live in and take measures to ensure we contribute in whatever way we can without comprising on quality.
We were sorry to read you weren’t able to enjoy this stunning property. On the morning of your departure as we had staff on doing breakfast for you we had taken the time to make a toll call to greet you “Good Morning” and checked that you had a comfortable stay and a good nights sleep…once again everything we were told was “just fine. “and that you had had a very good sleep. We wished you well for the next stage of your journey……
Perhaps….on your next holiday where ever it may be if you were not happy with something it may pay to take the issue up directly with the hosts so if a problem arises it can be addressed there and then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

beautiful setting , hosts make you feel at home, close to town , but very private , we as a family loved the place and will be back,the grounds are beautiful , the whale watching is very close and that is spectacular, kiakoura is a homely little town a great stop when travelling to christchurchfrom picton

Room Tip: suite rooms
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sullydump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cacr, Owner at Fyffe Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you so much for your encouraging review it is so nice that you were able to appreciate the
the lodge and grounds. Colin is so particular with the buxus and it is pruned to perfection and the lodge has such a beautiful back drop to the mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Best place we stayed during our trip to New Zeeland, beautiful small lodge outside city of Kaikoura, where you woke up in the early morning for rooster's singing. Thanks to Chris and Colin we had all our meals there, everything was excellent from breakfast to dinner. Stay in Kaikoura was culminated in seeing two huge sperm whales during our whale cruise.

Room Tip: Highly recommended to everybody
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seija H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We LOVED our stay at Fyffe Country Lodge!! The garden and mountain views were gorgeous (we could easily see why someone would want to be married here), the food was yummy, and Chris and Colin were the perfect hosts!! Our room was AMAZING!! It was very spacious...and had TWO bathrooms!!

After breakfast Colin gave us some of his gardening tips (I plan on implementing some of them), and Chris graciously let me pet her sheep and showed me gray pumpkins (I had never seen gray pumpkins before) and some of her beautiful flowers. I didn't want to leave!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #2.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanciA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews