We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad”
Review of Seaview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seaview Motel
Ranked #13 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
1 review
“Too bad”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Bad views,bad customer service.
the price looked and sounded great in the AD.was no graders there,the building was badly altered old house that was dirty and run down.
It was the worst value for one night money.i will find somewhere to stay if I am coming again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sgsuli-0957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    38
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
28
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for a night on our way through the Malbourough region. Its a quite little place set on the little road which runs all the way along the sea front. Its located about a 10 minute walk away from the cafes and eating places.The guy who runs it was friendly and funny. Kaikoura is really nice place.
The rooms were basic and clean although nothing flash. Although the room price we paid was not extortionate, I still expected slightly more from it. I found that the standard of accommodation in the south island in general was lower than that in the north.

Room Tip: Try and get the ones with the seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I hate to give a hotel a bad review as I like to give everyone the benefit of the doubt but in this case I'm afraid I have no choice. We were extremely disappointed with Seaview Motel. We stayed in Unit 2 Starboard Lounge on the ground floor. I can only describe it as 'basic'. There is one double bedroom which was Ok but had absolutely no hanging space and 2 single beds in the other room which doubled as a lounge, kitchen and dining area also. The unit is extremely badly insulated. We could hear the man next door coughing through the night. The bathroom is plastic and again very basis. Early the next morning the person next door revved up his motorcycle just outside our window making a terrific din with no thought that someone might be still asleep. It appeared, when we were there, that the driveway was a meeting place for the local motorcycle club. We had booked to stay here for 2 nights but wanted to leave after just one. When asked if the owner minded us leaving we were asked with surprise why we wanted to go and initially told that we would have to pay for 2 nights. In the end we paid a proportion of the second night's price with the promise that if the unit was let out for that night, the owner would refund our money. We checked later that day to see if there were any vacancies and found that the hotel was full however, no refund was forthcoming. The cost of the room we had was 180 NZ$ which we found was way overpriced. In other parts of NZ we rented a whole house for the same amount. Please find somewhere else to stay if you are visiting Kaikoura.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vse40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraSeaviews, General Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
What a load of bull...t,perhaps a neighbour started a motor bike which is beyond our control,the unit was NOT relet so stop inventing fictional stories,the "plastic ",in the bathroom is the modern material used/not plastic!!!!you are obviously, given your ages,living in a pre war 1910s house,with corrugated iron on the bathroom walls...
From the moment you arrived you whinged and whined and it was a pleasure to see you go and let some decent genuine guests in...Thank god you are gone,and someone else can have you if you ever come back...I suggest you get counselling for your lack of being in touch with reality...
Yahoo,some nice people just turned up...Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorokan, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Delightful and relaxed accommodation on the esplanade. Great location for all activities in Kaikoura. We had the upstairs studio and was well appointed. Only let down was no bedside lamps. The weather was unpredictable and the sea fog persisted, but when it cleared it was a magical view to beach and mountains. For anyone else reading this who may have read old reviews which were not good, there are new managers and the entire motel complex has been breathed with cleanliness, friendliness and great hosts. Ignore the old posts pre April 2013. Thanks for the humour oh and doing our washing.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraSeaviews, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thanks for kind words,we had beside lamps,but the Australians keep stealing them and I've
run out of places to hide them..I have put a box of matched on the bedside cabinets instead!!!
Regards and Merry Xmas,ROGER & AGED &DECREPID WIFE TRISH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motueka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed for three nights at this motel, and I had a really good time! The owners, Trish and Roger, made me feel really welcome and told me what's good to do in Kaikoura, and helped as much as possible! The place itself has a really nice view of the sea, just a few meters walk away! Close to town and not too far from the sea colony! Nice, clean and cosy rooms, with kitchen, tv and fridge! Would definitely recommend this place! Thank you Trish and Roger!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackpackerSwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights they were very welcoming and gave us directions to the seals and Irish bar were we had a $15 roast meal . room was warm and very nice loved our stay and would defiantly stay here again they were lovely people the best part of our holiday cheers for having us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel managers were absolutely great, we didn't have a car and when they had time they would drop us in to town or the seal colony and even took us to a lookout. Would def stay there again and recommend to everyone I know!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Motel

Property: Seaview Motel
Address: 164 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview Motel ...If you want an enjoyable and memorable experience,thenthis is the place to stay.Sitated on the seafront only metres to the seashore on the Kaikoura Esplanade.With uninterrupted views of mountains and seaviews from 4 of our prime units,easy walking distance to shopping centre,bars & restaurants & Summer swimming pool.Your hosts Gordon & Donna,provide spotless and tidy accommodation,bookings for the many local activities(Whalewatching/Dolphin Encounters/Golf/Seal Encounters/Hiking Trails/Fishing Charters/you name it,we'll book it for you...Summer guest BBQ area,bring along your BBQ food and refreshments,...Or simply kick back in your unit or on the beach,and listen to the sound of the sea lapping away,and enjoy your glass of wine and just RELAX....We look forward to seeing you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seaview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing