We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely View”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seaview Motel
Ranked #15 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely View”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed in the front bottom room looking out to the sea which was very pleasant indeed.The motel was a real mixture of old and new, some work not being very well done.The bathroom was newish and well equipped.Short of cutlery and teabags etc.for three.Rather poor service.Parking not good,out the back in a gravel area.Not great value.I am afraid it will be elsewhere for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    38
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
28
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for one night on a trip around NZ. We found it to be a very nice and clean place. The staff were friendly and helped us book some tours that we wanted to do. The location is nice as it is literally on the water front but just far enough down from the centre to mean that it is quiet and very peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM987789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at this motel for one night on the way to Christchurch. When we arrived there was no -one at reception, and there was a post it note informing us of what room we were in . The keys were in the door. It would have been nice to meet the owner.
We had the one bedroom seaview apartment at the front. The view was amazing, it was really lovely to eat our dinner at the table looking out to sea. The apartment itself was very clean and the bathroom seemed brand new. The kitchen was a little dated, but had everything that you would need.

Room Tip: choose a seaview room, nothing better than an ocean view to start or end a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Loved this place. Stayed for one night in February 2014. This motel is right on the beachfront and looks a little dated from the outside, but don't judge a book by it's cover. We booked the 'Crowsnest" which is upstairs at the front of the motel. What a pleasant surprise we had after climbing the wooden stairs to our room. Spotlessly clean and very spacious. Has an enclosed balcony area with full glass windows which gave us a panoramic view of the ocean. Very light and airy and very relaxing. Super comfortable bed. Also has a single bed, dining and separate sofa. Make sure to read the motel compendium in the room, very funny if you understand 'tongue in cheek' humour. Thank you for the entertainment, Roger. Good value for money. Wished we were staying longer.

Room Tip: Book the Crowsnest for the best view. Access is up some wooden stairs and across the top of the lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Seaview Motels, great Hosts Roger and Trish. very helpful and accommodating suggesting where is good to dine out. lovely clean rooms. will definitely come back and stay again and recommend to others. great views in perfect location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I have delayed writing this report by a few days as it was the first motel we stayed in during our 4 week tour around New Zealand and I wanted to be able to make a valid comparison with other motels. Unfortunately it has turned out to be the worst. OK, the room was functional, but furnished to the minimum standard acceptable. There were no bedside lights (a note informed us they were not being replaced because the Australians stole them!). The sliding glass doors across the front of the chalet gave absolutely no privacy allowing anyone to look straight in to the bedroom. There were no net curtains and privacy could only be obtained by having the curtains completely closed. There certainly was not a sea view from our chalet. We were set back behind the reception and felt very overlooked. It felt as if a complete refurbishment was well overdue and in consequence we believed the room was substantially over-priced. We have stayed in better motels in more exclusive locations and at a better price since.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AandAKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraSeaviews, General Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
ANOTHER 6 STAR GUEST,want a to pay for a 1 star,and expect a 5 star...If you had someone in the family that could read,you would have SEEN,that this unit had no seaview....Net curtains became out dated in NEW ZEALAND years ago,maybe they are still all the rage in your country but not here.It is now 2014 in the SOUTHERN HEMISPHERE...Strangely enough,there are some guests that you can never please...When we go on holiday,we enjoy ourselves,not search for all the negatives,and then whine about them,ROGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Bad views,bad customer service.
the price looked and sounded great in the AD.was no graders there,the building was badly altered old house that was dirty and run down.
It was the worst value for one night money.i will find somewhere to stay if I am coming again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sgsuli-0957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.0 mi away
Sierra Beachfront Motel
Sierra Beachfront Motel
#18 of 20 in Kaikoura
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Motel

Property: Seaview Motel
Address: 164 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview Motel ...If you want an enjoyable and memorable experience,thenthis is the place to stay.Sitated on the seafront only metres to the seashore on the Kaikoura Esplanade.With uninterrupted views of mountains and seaviews from 4 of our prime units,easy walking distance to shopping centre,bars & restaurants & Summer swimming pool.Your hosts Gordon & Donna,provide spotless and tidy accommodation,bookings for the many local activities(Whalewatching/Dolphin Encounters/Golf/Seal Encounters/Hiking Trails/Fishing Charters/you name it,we'll book it for you...Summer guest BBQ area,bring along your BBQ food and refreshments,...Or simply kick back in your unit or on the beach,and listen to the sound of the sea lapping away,and enjoy your glass of wine and just RELAX....We look forward to seeing you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Seaview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing