We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Kaikoura”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stopped off on our way up to North Island and this was the only place still open at 10pm (Kiwi's certainly close up early). The owners couldn't have been more helpful, though, trying to find somewhere we could find a meal. They also lent me their car to charge my phone! The apartment was roomy, clean and well equipped, and good value given that we could have had double the number of people in there. It's within walking distance to the bar and restaurant area and the beach is across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philking64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

We stayed at the Waterfront apartments on two separate visits using the wheelchair accesible rooms. The owners were friendly and helpful, the apartments had their own parking bay with room number marked, a washing machine and dishwasher were in the kitchen and the fixtures and fittings were of very good quality. Both the rooms we stayed in could have done with a good dust but other than that were clean and the access facilities were excellent. A short drive along the sea front brought you to the main shopping area of Kaikoura and there are 2 supermarkets within 5 minutes drive of the apartments as well as cafes and restaurants. Quite expensive but to be expected in high summer season.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We booked the king studio room online, but when we arrived at the hotel we were told that that room had just been sold to someone else. The manager told us that it was our fault for booking on the day we were arriving. She said that there were no similar rooms available, but said we could have a one bedroom apartment for an extra $40 per night. When we said we weren't prepared to pay that much she revealed that there was in fact another studio room which we could stay in.

The room itself was clean and functional, though on the small side for $130 per night. However, the double booking and the attempt to upsell us were very disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

the accommodation consists of two bedroom ( but they will decrease the cost if you only want one bedroom.) The kitchen is fully equipped with a dishwasher, stove etc.. The apartments are on the beach front though there is only a partial view of the sea from one's balcony unless one has the front accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxinenewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We stayed 2 nights with our 2 adult daughters and found the 2 bedroom apartment to meet all of our needs. A very warm welcome from the owners on our arrival with lots of information about Kaikoura, where to eat and places to visit etc. The apartment was very well presented with a fully equiped kitchen and magnificent views of the coast and mountains in the background. Having breakfast on the balcony with those views was a highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileyact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We had a two bedroom 'executive' apartment here, it was comfortable and decently equipped. The views from the apartment were great with the seafront from the balcony and the snow capped mountains from the side windows. The owners were very helpful, friendly and provided great tips for places to go and eat, all of which we followed and were not disappointed. The restaurants were great and I am sure there were others that we did not visit that were equally good. We loved the area if we should return to this part of the world again, this is where we would want to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazyboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Great place to stay - very friendly staff and clean room, with good channel selection and loads to do. We at an off peak time had an upstairs unit which was better then over looking the car park, we also had a great view of the mountains. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments

Address: 126 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £71 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, modern 1 and 2 bedroom courtyard or balcony apartments with stunning sea and mountain views. Only 50 metres to the beach, 100 metres to Dolphin Encounter, Albatross Encounter, award winning cafes and restaurants and a 2 minute drive to Watch Watch and town. Located on the sea edge of the famous Peninsula Walk. Executive double spa bath, access and family apartments. Apartments all have a fully self-contained kitchen (stove top, oven, rangehood, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle, plunger coffee machine), in-room laundry (washer/dryer), 50+ channels on SKY LCD TV, wireless Internet access, super king and twin bedrooms, double glazing, air conditioning/heat pumps, electric blankets, hairdryer, alarm clocks, a private balcony or a private gated courtyard to enjoy the views, indoor and outdoor dining settings, free on-site parking. .Continental breakfasts available for purchase. 2 Studio units with kitchenette, ensuite, Queen or King bed, 50+ Sky channels at complex rear - perfect for a quiet restful overnighter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Apartments Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing