We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well laid out and comfortable apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have been to the apartments before and were very pleased to see that high standards met last time had been maintained. We had more than enough room, the amenities were all clean and sleeping in wonderful beds was not a problem. There was no problem in getting out to find supplies as we were self catering, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby if you did not want to eat in. Everything worked, and our welcome was friendly and warm. We were certainly well rested for our excursions the next day and would recommend the venue to all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian5982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed at Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments back in February. The apartments are in a great location, across the quiet road from the waters edge & beautiful views of the mountains in the background. Only a 5 minute walk into the town where there are plenty of restaurants, cafes & bars to chose from. The apartments are clean & comfortable & the owner was very friendly & helpful. We would definately stay there again on our next visit

Room Tip: An apartment closer to the road will have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst travelling around the South Island and was pleasantly surprised by both the location and apartment itself. We had an upstairs 2 bed apartment which was spacious and fully equipped including a washer-dryer, usually an additional charge in many complexes. The twin room was pretty roomy with enough space for 2 of us to unpack and still get around easily. The location is perfect, a short walk to the restaurants and cafes with dolphin encounter just next door.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Three of us stayed in the Apartment. It was immaculately clean, well furnished and had every amenity. The beds were comfortable and the shower very good. The Apartments are perfectly positioned within easy walking distance of the town centre and so convenient for the Dolphin Encounters. We have already recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okiwa_Bay_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My family stayed here for a night on our way to the Marlborough wine region. There were little options available at the time, which the overly chatty female owner used fully to her advantage. It was close to the beach, but $240 for a cheap motor inn with mouldy smelling carpets and tack throughout was really excessive. Our biggest issue however was the laundry. They had purchased one of those cheap all in one washer/dryer units for the room (charging a dollar for laundry soap). My wife put on a load before we went to bed. In the morning she woke up and went to retrieve the clothes only to have the door handle snap off in her hand. We let the owners know about the issue and they promptly told us that we were going to be charged $50 to have it replaced! I cried foul at the assumption that it could be considered our fault, only to be told that we didn't fully read the instructions?!? I went back to the room wondering how it was possible to mis-understand the general dynamics of a washing machine so badly that parts would break off in one's hand, and yes, there taped to the inside of the closet door, was a long list of instructions. Right near the bottom it stated that once a load is finished, you must manually turn off the machine and the wait a full two minutes before opening the door or the handle will break and 'you will be charged!' Wow, talk about a trap! They acknowledged that this happens several times a year; obvious in the fact that they actually needed to post instructions warning weary travellers of the pitfalls of using their cheap, poorly designed machines. I wouldn't recommend this place for many reasons, but it will likely be the only place available if you roll into town late. If so, avoid using the laundry unless you're one of those people who likes to read instruction manuals on every day household appliances.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JSOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This complex is made up of privately owned apartments which the manager lets out. The one we stayed in was two bedroom on the ground floor with no outdoor furniture anyway. Two bedrooms was more than we needed, but it was getting late to be fussy. No view despite the price. Internet is not free. Walking distance to a nice restaurant down the esplanade which is good. (restaurant and the walk)

Room Tip: If you want a view over water, you need to specifically ask. Don't assume by the name and promot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to go for a last minute over night stay in Kaikoura. We booked the luxury king apartment located around the back of the complex. We were really pleased with how private it was. Friendly staff, brilliant location. Felt like a real holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy-Bee270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hampton's Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments

Address: 126 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £73 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, modern 1 and 2 bedroom courtyard or balcony apartments with stunning sea and mountain views. Only 50 metres to the beach, 100 metres to Dolphin Encounter, Albatross Encounter, award winning cafes and restaurants and a 2 minute drive to Watch Watch and town. Located on the sea edge of the famous Peninsula Walk. Executive double spa bath, access and family apartments. Apartments all have a fully self-contained kitchen (stove top, oven, rangehood, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle, plunger coffee machine), in-room laundry (washer/dryer), 50+ channels on SKY LCD TV, wireless Internet access, super king and twin bedrooms, double glazing, air conditioning/heat pumps, electric blankets, hairdryer, alarm clocks, a private balcony or a private gated courtyard to enjoy the views, indoor and outdoor dining settings, free on-site parking. .Continental breakfasts available for purchase. 2 Studio units with kitchenette, ensuite, Queen or King bed, 50+ Sky channels at complex rear - perfect for a quiet restful overnighter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Apartments Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing