We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Gem on the East Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Gem on the East Coast”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Came by this place by accident. What a pleasant find. Clean, decent beds, GREAT view of the sunrise, plenty of space, roomy tub. We were two couples. We had a great nights sleep, a nice place to stay makes all the difference. I highly recommend this place.

And then there was the hostess. What a gem. Helpful, friendly. One of those people you want to take home with you. All the best. We will definitely come back and stay again.

Room Tip: We had the front room. The sunrise was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolphin323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    42
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have been to the apartments before and were very pleased to see that high standards met last time had been maintained. We had more than enough room, the amenities were all clean and sleeping in wonderful beds was not a problem. There was no problem in getting out to find supplies as we were self catering, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby if you did not want to eat in. Everything worked, and our welcome was friendly and warm. We were certainly well rested for our excursions the next day and would recommend the venue to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian5982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed at Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments back in February. The apartments are in a great location, across the quiet road from the waters edge & beautiful views of the mountains in the background. Only a 5 minute walk into the town where there are plenty of restaurants, cafes & bars to chose from. The apartments are clean & comfortable & the owner was very friendly & helpful. We would definately stay there again on our next visit

Room Tip: An apartment closer to the road will have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst travelling around the South Island and was pleasantly surprised by both the location and apartment itself. We had an upstairs 2 bed apartment which was spacious and fully equipped including a washer-dryer, usually an additional charge in many complexes. The twin room was pretty roomy with enough space for 2 of us to unpack and still get around easily. The location is perfect, a short walk to the restaurants and cafes with dolphin encounter just next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anakiwa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Three of us stayed in the Apartment. It was immaculately clean, well furnished and had every amenity. The beds were comfortable and the shower very good. The Apartments are perfectly positioned within easy walking distance of the town centre and so convenient for the Dolphin Encounters. We have already recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okiwa_Bay_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My family stayed here for a night on our way to the Marlborough wine region. There were little options available at the time, which the overly chatty female owner used fully to her advantage. It was close to the beach, but $240 for a cheap motor inn with mouldy smelling carpets and tack throughout was really excessive. Our biggest issue however was the laundry. They had purchased one of those cheap all in one washer/dryer units for the room (charging a dollar for laundry soap). My wife put on a load before we went to bed. In the morning she woke up and went to retrieve the clothes only to have the door handle snap off in her hand. We let the owners know about the issue and they promptly told us that we were going to be charged $50 to have it replaced! I cried foul at the assumption that it could be considered our fault, only to be told that we didn't fully read the instructions?!? I went back to the room wondering how it was possible to mis-understand the general dynamics of a washing machine so badly that parts would break off in one's hand, and yes, there taped to the inside of the closet door, was a long list of instructions. Right near the bottom it stated that once a load is finished, you must manually turn off the machine and the wait a full two minutes before opening the door or the handle will break and 'you will be charged!' Wow, talk about a trap! They acknowledged that this happens several times a year; obvious in the fact that they actually needed to post instructions warning weary travellers of the pitfalls of using their cheap, poorly designed machines. I wouldn't recommend this place for many reasons, but it will likely be the only place available if you roll into town late. If so, avoid using the laundry unless you're one of those people who likes to read instruction manuals on every day household appliances.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JSOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This complex is made up of privately owned apartments which the manager lets out. The one we stayed in was two bedroom on the ground floor with no outdoor furniture anyway. Two bedrooms was more than we needed, but it was getting late to be fussy. No view despite the price. Internet is not free. Walking distance to a nice restaurant down the esplanade which is good. (restaurant and the walk)

Room Tip: If you want a view over water, you need to specifically ask. Don't assume by the name and promot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sierra Beachfront Motel
Sierra Beachfront Motel
#18 of 20 in Kaikoura
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments

Property: Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments
Address: 126 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, modern 1 and 2 bedroom courtyard or balcony apartments with stunning sea and mountain views. Only 50 metres to the beach, 100 metres to Dolphin Encounter, Albatross Encounter, award winning cafes and restaurants and a 2 minute drive to Watch Watch and town. Located on the sea edge of the famous Peninsula Walk. Executive double spa bath, access and family apartments. Apartments all have a fully self-contained kitchen (stove top, oven, rangehood, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle, plunger coffee machine), in-room laundry (washer/dryer), 50+ channels on SKY LCD TV, wireless Internet access, super king and twin bedrooms, double glazing, air conditioning/heat pumps, electric blankets, hairdryer, alarm clocks, a private balcony or a private gated courtyard to enjoy the views, indoor and outdoor dining settings, free on-site parking. .Continental breakfasts available for purchase. 2 Studio units with kitchenette, ensuite, Queen or King bed, 50+ Sky channels at complex rear - perfect for a quiet restful overnighter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Apartments Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing