We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Judy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Ranked #10 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We were so humbled when we arrived in Kaikoura by Judy and her fantastic hospitality. We were collected from the bus stop, and chauffeured around too many places to mention during our stay! The gorgeous dogs Charlie and Louis, along with Henry the cat, and the very tasty choc muffins make this B&B the best we have stayed in. We enjoyed hanging out with Judy whilst experiencing the great things kaikoura has to offer.
Thank you so much - a first class stay!

Room Tip: We were lucky to get upgraded to room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara12121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

We originally booked 1 night stay here on our way to Nelson but decided to spend another night here upon our return trip to Christchurch. It's a well lived-in place with seasoned & comfortable lounge seats; garden & around the property - need some care but forgiven as Judy is managing alone (with some temp help) & despite having an injured finger with Doctor's advice to - slowdown; Judy cannot sit still & doing a great job.

It's the whole 'package' : coming from Judy's friendly, easy personality, cosy & relaxing environment & not forgetting her delicious muffins that brought us back for another night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kembara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Our first night in New Zealand was spent in Kaikoura. After a long flight, this was a real NZ welcome. We had the room on the ground level and had our private bathroom, a kitchenette, warm blankets perfect for a chilly night, fireplace in the main living room. Everything was cosy. The views were breathtaking and Judy was such a great host. Breakfast was laid out every morning nicely on the table. Somehow, the cereals just tasted extra delicious. We went crayfishing and brought back a crayfish for dinner. Judy was so kind to help us prepare and the cat was just so eager to have some too. I always think the first night rest and first day impression is the most important to start a wonderful journey. Brook house just gives that perfect rustic, homely, cosy feel to start or end a trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mawar98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Judy and Louis (the poodle) were wonderful hosts. We wish them well with their future and hope all goes as well as possible.
Kaikoura is a beautiful town and we were blessed with the weather.
Enjoy the seafood BBQ (handpick your crayfish!) at the peninsula (white van), but also try the crayfish at Nins Bin - just north of town.
Try the steaks at Whalers also, good value for money.

Room Tip: Pick the upstairs room with the king size bed, great views from the balcony at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zdardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I think the other reviewers sum up Brook House quite well. Judy was wonderful, a very nice person, providing us with the opportunity to meet and socialise with the other half dozen or so guests in the evening and at breakfast but it certainly was not necessary if we were not that type of people. The room suited us very well, we had our own shower and toilet facilities. Breakfast with the other guests was great, By the way, our circumstances did not require Judy to be providing us with other services such as getting us to whale watching tours on time but she was certainly very accommodating in regard to the needs of the other guests.This was a very good experience and a good price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

WE had a good stay at Brook House. Judy was great help with all her recommendations. Kaikoura is also a great town with amazing views. Distance of B&B from points of interest is not far especially as every tourist is driving. Centre of town and other attractions are 5 minutes away.

We had a room on 1st floor and had good mountain views. The breakfast was sparse but adequate (no eggs). We had to leave at 5am for Dolphin tour and breakfast was spread on table for us to grab a bite before leaving. The wifi also was really helpful.

I also forgot my iPhone after checking out and realised 30KMs away from Kaikoura. I returned and got the phone straight away.

All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varunnayyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

wonderful B&B !!wonderful to stay with Chris & John! wonderful to speek with them ,to drink coffee and tea and eating the special muffins!!! the rooms are very comfortable and beautiful,especially on first floor,we enjoyed it so much,thank you!!! great!!no-excellent!!! I want to come again!greetings,Heide

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank heide1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
357 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
2.2 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#16 of 32 in Kaikoura
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
120 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook House B&B & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House B&B & Cottages

Address: 201 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: £48 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook House B&B & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Judy and her 'team' - Charlie (the poodle) and Henry (the cat)- welcome you to their home - come and relax at Brook House. Enjoy kiwi hospitality, comfy beds and cosy rooms. Bed & Breakfast in the house but 2 self catering cottages are now also available. Snpectacular mountain views from a peaceful rural setting just off State Highway 1. All this is just 2 km from the town centre and Whale Watch. See you in Kaikoura! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brook House B&B & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing