We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Ranked #10 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a room with a private bath. The room was very small and there wasn't enough space for our two suitcases. The bath was across the hall.
Judy was accommodating and knowledgable about the area but a bit over bearing. We never really felt comfortable in " her" house while she was around. One of the things that we were looking forward to was meeting other travelers in the communal area. Judy tended to dominate the any conversation. The best time we had was the morning we left. Judy had to go to work and we visited with the other guests that morning. We all had a great time.

In summary, this felt more like an adult hostel with Judy as the house mother. We could have done a lot better if we just drove into town and found a place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    35
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
65
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Arrived early but no problem to check in. We had Room 2 with a private bath. Room was basic, clean with a comfy bed and good pillows and linen. Little storage but ok as we only stayed 2 nights. Bathroom roomy with good shower. Room wasn't serviced during our stay but there was no problem when I asked for a clean hand towel (as there was only one supplied). The most amazing view awaits when you open the curtains. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine chatting to other guests.
The large kitchen and lounge were welcoming, and Judy was happy for guests to bring food in. Tea and coffee available at any time, along with the much praised chocolate muffins.
Breakfast was of very good quality, lots of choice of bread, cereal, preserves, yogurt and home made fruit salad.
Judy is happy to help with local info, where to eat etc.
Location is fine, a pleasant walk into town along the busy road.
Would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting lovely Kaikoura.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We arrived to Brook House on a wet, windy day in Kaikoura to very clear instructions left by Judy on where our rooms are (she had "upgraded" us to two room which was great) and how to settle in - which we did with tea, coffee, milo and of course the choc chip muffins!

Judy was very knowledgable about the area, working herself on the Whale Watch - alas, it was not to be this time due to the weather. She told us about the waterfall close by where we could see seal pups playing to their hearts content - do not miss this fun, free activity! She advised us on where to eat in town. We played board games in the afternoon in the kitchen, so I disagree with people saying there should be a tv in the rooms! Do something different for a change, take your eyes off the box.

You're probably better off having a car here as it is a walk down country roads from the town, but we had a car and so enjoyed our trip immensely.

We had a little misunderstanding once we had left with payment, but Judy sorted it all out very quickly and very apologetically. We really appreciated this!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orourkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolleston, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed with Judy and Charlie for 2 weeks having just moved to NZ. Brook Houseis a great place to stay. Very welcoming and ideal for seeing the best of Kaikoura. Judy is such a lovely person and very friendly and Charlie the poodle is adorable. I highly recommend the place and I will most definitely be returning soon. Plus....she makes the best chic chip muffins!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeoconnell1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed at Brook House in July 2013 and had a great experience. Judy is very easy going, welcoming and gave us great tips for our travels. The rooms are simple but fantastic value for money. Loved it!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis201, Owner at Brook House B&B & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We enjoyed your company and hope to see you again. Kind regards Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comblanchien, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We usually use motels but for this trip to Kaikoura, my wife and I thought : "Why not a Bed and Breakfast?"
What a great idea, and how lucky we have been to find Judy and her dog Charlie!

We had booked the bedroom n°3, and she offered us to stay in the n°2 with our own bathroom. Who on earth is so generous with tourists?

We had a great night, a nice view when we woke up, and a marvelous breakfast.
Congratulations for your muffins Judy!

I agree that the TV in the bedroom would be great.
However, we will be back there for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphael2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

nice B&B, nice owner, the room is clean big and very nice! free wi-fi internet and parking! the breakfast was great and we had a very nice stay! I'd surely stay there again if got the change. the only small point is that there is no tv in the room, but the balcony has a great view! the bathroom is outside the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#13 of 32 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook House B&B & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House B&B & Cottages

Property: Brook House B&B & Cottages
Address: 201 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook House B&B & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Judy and her 'team' - Charlie (the poodle) and Henry (the cat)- welcome you to their home - come and relax at Brook House. Enjoy kiwi hospitality, comfy beds and cosy rooms. Bed & Breakfast in the house but 2 self catering cottages are now also available. Snpectacular mountain views from a peaceful rural setting just off State Highway 1. All this is just 2 km from the town centre and Whale Watch. See you in Kaikoura! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brook House B&B & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing