We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Ranked #10 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming place to stay.”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place and excellent location, very close to all the local attractions and restaurants. Freshly baked muffins daily and a large continental breakfast to wake up to in the morning is a real treat! We would definitely stay here again next time we visit Kaikoura!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    35
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
65
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were just a night at Brook House. After travelling for 2 weeks in NZ, must say it was my favourite accomodation. When I booked I thought it will be closer to town, so when arrived we were quite dissapointed. I knew as well it was kind of B&B but never expect to share Judy s home. But when Judy welcomed us and show our room, we love it! We had outsite bathroon but it did not bother us. Everything was clean and tidy. The cherry on the cake was next morning when we had a wonderful, tasty breakfast! better than any hotel.
Jusy is an excellent host . We felt as aunties home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeMzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I were on our first vacation in New Zealand. Our stay with Judy, Charlie and Henry was on our first night on the South Island. We were given the room upstairs with the ensuite bathroom. It opened out to a balcony with a beautiful view of her immaculate gardens and the mountains in the distance. The linens in the bedroom and the towels in the bathroom were wonderful. The shower had a powerful spray, which we loved.

Judy's manner was informal in a very good way. It felt as if we were visiting friends, as everything you could need was provided.

The only suggestion I would give is in regard to the continental breakfast. When we went into the kitchen the next morning, everything was out on the counter. It had been sitting out for a while. I would have preferred if there had been a sign saying I could help myself to juice and yogurt in the refrigerator. I just don't like warm juice and yogurt.

But that would be my only suggestion. I would definitely recommend staying with Judy.

If you are interested in more details from our travels, please visit my blog at www.yvetterene.blogspot.com.au.

Room Tip: Our room was wonderful. It was upstairs and had an ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheYvetteRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at Brook House last week for one night during our time in Kaikoura.

Judy made us feel welcome from the outset, taking us to see the sights that we would not be able to get to without a car including a panoramic viewpoint, to see the seals and a stop at the local supermarket so that we could pick up some food! Judy shared all of her local knowledge with us which made our stay more enjoyable. She also took us into town in the evening so that we could enjoy a meal out and to the whale-watch the next morning.

Our room was adequate for what we needed and the private bathroom was clean and next to the bedroom. The house has a balcony with amazing mountain views which we enjoyed with one of Judy's delicious home-made muffins.

Although it is quite a way out of town, it is a nice walk there so that shouldn't put anyone off. Would definitely stay there again next time we are lucky enough to go to Kaikoura!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyShake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Brook House for a couple of nights.

I actually arrived a little earlier than I had expected but there was no problem with check in. Judy was on her lunch break (she works part-time at Whale Watch) but still found time to show me round.

I found the house clean and homely with a large kitchen/breakfast room and a comfortable lounge. Nice view of the mountains from the rear balcony. There is no washing up to do - just place your used plates etc in the dishwasher. My room was fine with a comfy bed and adequate storage. My private bathroom was spacious and clean. There was also plenty of off-street parking.

Food was good, especially Judy's chocolate muffins. Judy was always friendly (as was Charlie the poodle) and happy to pass on her local knowledge.

Location is 2 km north of town centre, but so what, It is a pleasant enough walk into town.

I would definitely stay again:)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a room with a private bath. The room was very small and there wasn't enough space for our two suitcases. The bath was across the hall.
Judy was accommodating and knowledgable about the area but a bit over bearing. We never really felt comfortable in " her" house while she was around. One of the things that we were looking forward to was meeting other travelers in the communal area. Judy tended to dominate the any conversation. The best time we had was the morning we left. Judy had to go to work and we visited with the other guests that morning. We all had a great time.

In summary, this felt more like an adult hostel with Judy as the house mother. We could have done a lot better if we just drove into town and found a place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Arrived early but no problem to check in. We had Room 2 with a private bath. Room was basic, clean with a comfy bed and good pillows and linen. Little storage but ok as we only stayed 2 nights. Bathroom roomy with good shower. Room wasn't serviced during our stay but there was no problem when I asked for a clean hand towel (as there was only one supplied). The most amazing view awaits when you open the curtains. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine chatting to other guests.
The large kitchen and lounge were welcoming, and Judy was happy for guests to bring food in. Tea and coffee available at any time, along with the much praised chocolate muffins.
Breakfast was of very good quality, lots of choice of bread, cereal, preserves, yogurt and home made fruit salad.
Judy is happy to help with local info, where to eat etc.
Location is fine, a pleasant walk into town along the busy road.
Would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting lovely Kaikoura.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.9 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
204 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook House B&B & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House B&B & Cottages

Property: Brook House B&B & Cottages
Address: 201 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook House B&B & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Judy and her 'team' - Charlie (the poodle) and Henry (the cat)- welcome you to their home - come and relax at Brook House. Enjoy kiwi hospitality, comfy beds and cosy rooms. Bed & Breakfast in the house but 2 self catering cottages are now also available. Snpectacular mountain views from a peaceful rural setting just off State Highway 1. All this is just 2 km from the town centre and Whale Watch. See you in Kaikoura! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brook House B&B & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing