We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely B&B and beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brook House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brook House B&B
Ranked #10 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Homely B&B and beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked one night here in the double bed ensuite bathroom while on the road to Queenstown. Judy and Charlie were extremely welcoming despite our late arrival. Because we arrived at night, we did not take advantage of the wonderful view but were pleasantly surprised to wake up to a view of the mountains and the sound of the beach. Breakfast was good, but unfortunately did not get to sample the chocolate muffins (we woke up too late but they looked delicious the night before!). Free unlimited wifi is also a nice plus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ting t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    34
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
63
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This place was amazing value for money, with full cooking facilities and free laundry, priced well below other locations with comparable facilities. Clean and comfortable rooms. Free and unlimited wifi, with good reception in the room we stayed in and in common areas. Breakfast was generous and had suitable variety. Would strongly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for 2nights on 28th March. We had the en suite bedroom which is very nicely furnished, very cosy & clean. Judy & Chariler (poodle) were both very friendly & welcoming. Is a plus point that brook house did provide free WIFI, which most of the other accomodation didn't, as well as breakfast, which includes home-made chocolate muffins, cereal, fruit salad, bread & coffee/tea/milk/orange juice. Overall, brook house gave me a very homely feel, & would recommend anyone who is in Kaikoura to stay there. *one minus point would be that the sound proof system is not that excellent in the room, as we were able to hear some talking and closing of doors during the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvet0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Brook House is a little way outside the main part of Kaikoura town. We were travelling by car so this wasn't a problem for us.
We had an upstairs room with en-suite, which would have had a lovely view of the mountains but they were covered in mist during our one-night stay. The room was very comfortable and clean. Guests are free to help themselves to tea, coffee and Judy's delicious homemade muffins. Breakfast is also help yourself - fresh fruit salad, cereals, toast and jam/marmalade. Judy is a very friendly and welcoming host and we felt totally at home. Recommended so long as you're the sort of person who's comfortable with a communal ambience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TolinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fladbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Judy was very welcoming, with freshly cooked chocolate muffins on arrival. We chose the en suite room which is upstairs, opening onto the balcony and has stunning view of the mountains. We only stayed for one night, and we found the accommodation to be clean and comfortable. The breakfast was self-service, as were any teas/coffees, which you could make in the kitchen/diner. The TV was in the lounge, which was shared with Judy and the other guests.

Room Tip: We chose to have an en suite, but the private bathrooms do appear to be just across the hallway to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvonReflectionsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

When you first drive into Kaikoura this B and B is right on edge of town, on the 'strip'. Nicer to stay on other side overlooking peninsula beach. Having said that, Kaikoura is small place and it only takes couple of minutes to drive into town/down the coast. Set back from the road it's a quiet spot with 5 rooms. The bathroom was on other side of corridor but was just for us. Nice balcony to sit on and admire views at the back. Breakfast was help yourself - bowl of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, toast and jams - eat as much as you want. Can make hot drinks in her kitchen when you want and sit in her lounge to watch TV. A nice difference experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EalingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis201, Owner at Brook House B&B, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Kia Ora
Thank you for your thoughtful review. I would just like to mention that the mattresses are only 3 years old the cover is to keep them clean (which they are) and electric blankets are common in New Zealand usually used to take the chill off the bed in the winter but I leave them for guests from warmer countries who may like the warmth.
Kind regards
Judy
brook House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This B&B is run by a lady working whale watching company and has a warmth of a home away of the home. Living and dining rooms are great for socializing with other guests. The owner is very pleasant and resourceful. Nice backyard.
We had a downstairs room with a shared bathroom but we had no problems whatsoever as it was across our room and never occupied by other guests. I have to say though that we stayed here only one night on our way south.
Mattress looked a bit worn out (or I had such a feeling because of an extra cover) and everything seemed to be too humid (probably because it was raining those days or it might be normal for Kaikoura as mattresses had electrically heated covers.
Free Wi-Fi. Complimentary breakfast with a lot of fresh fruits (my preference) but also cereal oatmeal (my wife’s preference)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drago_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#14 of 32 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House B&B

Property: Brook House B&B
Address: 201 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Judy and her 'team' - Charlie (the poodle) and Henry (the cat)- welcome you to their home - come and relax at Brook House. Enjoy kiwi hospitality, comfy beds and cosy rooms. Spectacular mountain views from a peaceful rural setting just off State Highway 1. All this is just 2 km from the town centre and Whale Watch. See you in Kaikoura! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brook House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing