We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura
Ranked #12 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We spent 2 nights with Margaret and her daughters and we felt like at home. They were very helpful and we learned a lot about Kaikoura and the surrounding area. The lovely house with the beautiful garden has great views of the Bay. We also enjoyed to cool down in the pool. Breakfast is delicious with homemade jam and fresh fruit from the garden. We had a comfortable room and there is also a guest lounge.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    14
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This is like being at home. It was our second visit to stay with Margaret at Bay View Homestay in Kaikoura. This time Margaret was ably assisted by her daughter Margaret. These two charming ladies made us feel most welcome with their typical New Zealand welcome, a cup of coffee and one of Margaret's famous muffins. We had the same room as we had the last time. Only this time it was even more comfortable and the ensuite had been enlarged and made so sparkling. The morning got of to its usual start with Margarets home grown home fruit or home made museli followed by beautifull cooked eggs bacon and tomato. The view of the bay through Margeret's kitchen window is so lovely as you eat breakfast and enjoy the conversation. It was a perfect start to the day. It is obvious that numerous people make repeat visits to Bay-view and it is easy to understand why. These two very kind ladies make sure that you enjoy a comfortable stay at Bay-view. To them both we owe a great big thank you.

Room Tip: The double room with the ensuite is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed only one night with Margaret & her daughter Nicki and wish it could have been longer. Situated above the town near the Lookout, and with great views of the Bay, the house is a traditional Kiwi home with a beautiful garden - and judging by the produce and jams, a very fertile one. We received a warm welcome and stayed in a pretty, quiet room with lovely en-suite wet room. There is a comfortable guest lounge with fridge and small kitchen facility and as it was a cool spring evening, Nicki lit the lounge wood-burner so it was soon toasty warm. We had a delicious breakfast the next morning, served up with Margaret's memories of her life in Kaikoura. By the time we left we felt we had made new friends, not conducted a business transaction - a true Kiwi homestay at its best.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms but the en-suite double, with a window overlooking the side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fern D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We spent 3 nights here at the start of our trip and could not have been more comfortable,or better looked after.
Conversations with Margaret over breakfast were very special and we learnt a lot about Kaikoura and the surrounding area.

We had mixed weather but by our last morning were treated to the wonderful view from the kitchen window of the bay and the snow-capped mountains beyond. Just wonderful like the hospitality we received.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazndaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed good substantial breakfasts and the bonus was a wood fireplace in the living room. Although it is a good 25 minute walk to the town, the location on the hill has great views. You need to know that they do not accept credit cards for payment.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundeep-travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a fantastic time in Kaikoura thanks to Margaret and Nicki. They made us feel at home from the get go and offered terrific advice about the area and the towns Restaurants. The cooked Breakfast was perfect and the stewed fruits and homemade Jams all sourced from her garden were delicious. It makes a big difference to stay with genuine locals that know real hospitality.

Thanks a million,
Lachie and Jess

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inverlachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

Margaret and her daughter Nicky were great hosts. I originally planned to stay two nights, but after just the first one I booked two extra, making it four in total. For a walker like me, the location was great - about 25 minutes down into town and on the doorstep of the peninsula walk. Lovely accommodation - vintage, clean and comfortable; good shower pressure in the bathroom, absolutely wonderful breakfasts and home baking every day. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Thank you Margaret and Nicky! From Naomi (and Alanna) x

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Brook House B&B & Cottages
#10 of 32 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura

Property: Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura
Address: 296 Scarborough Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret Woodill is the classic Kiwi grandmother and thinks nothing of getting up at 5.30 am to cook a full breakfast including homemade bread before your whale watching or dolphin swimming trip in Kaikoura, New Zealand. She’s lived in her Kaikoura peninsula home with its sweeping views of sea and mountains since 1934. She began taking in passing travellers over 20 years ago, just before the whales and dolphins turned the township into a tourist Mecca. When her four children left home, opening a bed and breakfast seemed a logical use for spare bedrooms and bathrooms. Since husband Bob’s death in 1999, Margaret says guests are her family and that’s why she calls it a HOMESTAY rather than a B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing