We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a renovation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura
Ranked #12 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at Bayview for 1 night in January 2014. We had booked this place after reading the spectacular reviews but we were disappointed. The room was very small and didn't feel clean. There were some leftover hair in the ensuite bathroom(presumably from someone staying there before us.)
While the hosts were very nice and friendly, we did not think this B&B was worth the money!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hereigoagain54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Located at the end of the peninsula, this place is perfect for the ever changing views of Kaikoura's landscape. We also went for a hike/walk to the seal colony from this place, gorgeous view!
We stayed two nights at Margaret's and she and her family was ever accommodating. Breakfast was great too, with goodies coming from her own garden - which is very well tended by the way.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank terence7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had planned and booked a Whale Watch trip in Kaikoura during our trip round the South Island and was looking for somewhere to stay just for a couple of nights. After reading several TA reviews for this Homestay decided to give it a go and was so glad we did.
On our arrival Margaret and Nicky made us so welcome and was just like being back home.
The rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable. They have a nice view from their drive and their garden is a must see providing them with a lot of their own food for themselves and a home grown breakfast for their guests which I must add was delicious.
I would certainly recommend this Homestay for anyone looking for a home from home homestay and should we return sometime in the future to visit Kaikoura we will certainly be stopping here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JORO6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The view from this home is breathtakingly beautiful. The attention to detail by N!ikki and Margaret was delightful. Breakfast included homemade bread, fresh laid eggs and home-grown tomatoes and homemade jams. How can you go wrong with such wonderful hosts in such an inviting atmosphere? Don't miss seeing the gardens.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

On our travels in New Zealand we have been unsure of the definition of a home stay. This is no boutique B&B but nonetheless a joy. Margaret and Nicky welcome you into their home and provide comfortable accommodation and amazing home produced breakfast with no pretension. You are provided with your own lounge, kitchen and laundry facilities whilst always feeling that you are a welcome guest in their home. Thanks for a great (home) stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jaqal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The host was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent, just like staying at Grandmas. Homemade jam, eggs from their own chickens, and good ol home style food. Beautiful garden, and very comfortable lodgings. Wonderful people, and over the top service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilbo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a really charming house with a a nice view over the bay. The home-made breakfast is wonderful. The room are clean and confortable. You couldn't except better (or even equal) price value in any hotels and you would miss the incredible hospitality of Margaret and Nicky. Thanks a lot for your warm and friendly welcome as well as your help during our whole stay to plan our meals and activities. A perfect homestay for a still affordable budget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
351 reviews
1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
118 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Brook House B&B & Cottages
#10 of 32 in Kaikoura
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura

Address: 296 Scarborough Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: £45 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret Woodill is the classic Kiwi grandmother and thinks nothing of getting up at 5.30 am to cook a full breakfast including homemade bread before your whale watching or dolphin swimming trip in Kaikoura, New Zealand. She’s lived in her Kaikoura peninsula home with its sweeping views of sea and mountains since 1934. She began taking in passing travellers over 20 years ago, just before the whales and dolphins turned the township into a tourist Mecca. When her four children left home, opening a bed and breakfast seemed a logical use for spare bedrooms and bathrooms. Since husband Bob’s death in 1999, Margaret says guests are her family and that’s why she calls it a HOMESTAY rather than a B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing