We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and friendly welcome in Kaikoura.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura
Ranked #12 of 31 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 January 2006

I only stayed one night in the Bay View Bed and Breakfast but it was one of the most pleasent welcomes I got throughout my trip around NZ. Margaret, the owner, was delighted to have me just drop by for the night and welcomed me with tea and cake. Bed was comfy but although Margaret lit the fire in the adjoining guestlounge was a little cold (it was nearly winter mind) but good value all the same at $55 per night for the spacious single I was in. The house had a lot of character and rustic charm.

I had to get up early to go swimming with the dolphins but Margaret was ready to cook breakfast at what ever time I wanted - good it was too.

I would recommend this to anyone who has a car and doesn't mind being a 3 minute drive out of the town centre. Quiet location, charming host - would go there again.

7  Thank MrWandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Arnaud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adeline-Lamalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
121 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alpine View Motel
Alpine View Motel
#17 of 20 in Kaikoura
76 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura

Address: 296 Scarborough Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: £45 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret Woodill is the classic Kiwi grandmother and thinks nothing of getting up at 5.30 am to cook a full breakfast including homemade bread before your whale watching or dolphin swimming trip in Kaikoura, New Zealand. She’s lived in her Kaikoura peninsula home with its sweeping views of sea and mountains since 1934. She began taking in passing travellers over 20 years ago, just before the whales and dolphins turned the township into a tourist Mecca. When her four children left home, opening a bed and breakfast seemed a logical use for spare bedrooms and bathrooms. Since husband Bob’s death in 1999, Margaret says guests are her family and that’s why she calls it a HOMESTAY rather than a B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing