We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koura Bay Lodge(Kaikoura)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manakau Lodge(Kaikoura)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nikau Lodge(Kaikoura)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
74
12
5
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
12
5
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsowners johnnew zealandpier restaurantan ironbeautiful gardensouthern alpswonderful hostspeninsula walkwayyogurton arrivalbeautiful roomfur sealscomfortable roomsmade us feel at homewonderful staystunning viewsthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed here with my partner back in April or May.
As you can see by the rest of the reviews the place is a wonderful stay and highly reccomended. The owners were just lovely and very friendly. They came to chat to us on numerous occasions and offered us great tourist advice and even the use of their own bikes!
The room was lovely, modern and clean, as was the bathroom.
Would return in a heartbeat. Thanks for a lovely stay :)

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pondweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you so much guys for the lovely review. Can't wait to catch up again!
Best wishes Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We spent two nights at this lovely B+B up on the peninsula hill in Kaikoura. Our room looked out towards the snow capped mountains and the town in the bay below. The room was very comfortable with a fantastic King Size bed, armchairs, large tv, fridge, microwave and small dining table. There were cookies and chocolates in the room on our arrival as well as plenty of toiletries in the bathroom.
Lynne and John are lovely hosts and it was nice to spend time chatting with them over breakfast each morning.
We walked into the town each evening which was a pleasant 30min stroll, although on the way back it is up a rather steep hill so you need to have reserved a bit of energy! If you're not fans of walking it's only a short drive and there is plenty of parking available in the town.
We took the whale watching trip on one of our days there which we would recommend. However if you suffer from motion sickness at all it is advisable to take precautions before going out. It wasn't a particularly rough day when we went but it was pretty choppy by the time we got out to the whales and several people were rather ill!! We saw three whales (all sperm) which was pretty spectacular.
Would definitely recommend Austin Heights for a very pleasant stay in Kaikoura

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saldridge12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you so much it was our pleasure. We enjoyed your company as well.
All the best Lynne & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We spent two days and nights at this bed and breakfast. The owners were most gracious. They prepared a hot breakfast for us on request and helped us have a wonderful experience of the local area. A special treat was that the room had a small kitchenette so we could prepare a lunch, have tea or bring take out back to eat. Since we had to leave early the last morning to go whale watching, we cancelled breakfast and the owners invited us for a light snack and wine when we got back. We highly recommend the this bed and breakfast and the owners John and Lynne. Michael and Ann MArie

Room Tip: The rooms are great..only thing is we were asked not to wear shoes inside..had to go buy some New Zealand sheep wool lines slippers. ( At least that was my excuse for buying them!)
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2012

Thank you Team, for the lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you both and would like to wish you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed two nights at this very good BB. Very clean, perfect service, BEAUTIFUL surroundings. Lynne and John are very friendly. We warmly recommend the place to stay in and Kaikoura is so great!
Anne and Leif from Sweden

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Hi Anne & Leif, long time no see! Thank you for the lovely review. Hope to see you in Sweden one day. All the best from L & J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Beautiful house and enthusiastic host, delicious breakfast, there is no reason don't like this house, all too much 。A beautiful garden and a lovely cat, let us forget the unfamiliar city, nervous, this is a place like home, next time with my lovely daughter again。

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

We are looking forward to that day when you return Team. Many thanks for your nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews