We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views and wonderful welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and wonderful welcome”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were given a big welcome by Lynn - meeting John, also very welcoming, on day 2. Our room was beautiful, spacious, well equipped, with fantastic views. Our whale watching trip was at 7.15am - and Lynn kindly got up and made us breakfast before we went. She had already booked the trip for us and had offered to book a table at a restaurant. Very friendly and helpful - excellent hosts. Being a ragdoll owner myself, it was lovely to meet 17 year old Oscar - albeit briefly!
The house is set in beautiful gardens.
We had a fabulous meal at Tuti's

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us Karen. We are pleased you enjoyed it as we certainly enjoyed our time with you. We hope to meet again sometime. All the very best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    12
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
12
65
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Austin Heights B&B was one of the best stays we had on our South Island tour. Very warm welcome by Lynne and John, easy to feel like home, wonderful views right from our windows (beautiful night sky too) and not at least a lovely little town with anything you need for your holidays.

You should pay a visit to the Green Dolphin restaurant, stunning food!

Thanks again and again for this wonderful experience!

Yours, Mia and Norman

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi Mia & Norman, thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us & the Green Dolphin.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we will get to meet again sometime, take care and all the very best from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Austin Heights B&B is located in a quiet residential area on a low hill close to the town, which can be reached by a quarter-hour walk down an attractive hillside path or a few minutes drive. The house sits in a beautifully kept garden and there is ample off-street parking behind the house. Our first-floor room was spotless and comfortable, with a superb view from the balcony over the sea to the mountains beyond the town. The continental breakfast was both generous and tasty. The owners, Lynne and John, were friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome in their home (as did Oscar, their ragdoll cat). We will certainly plan to stay here again on our next visit to Kaikoura.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have balcony with superb view over the town and bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review Bill & Marcia. We both enjoyed our time with you very much and will look forward to meeting you again in the future. All the best from both of us plus Oscar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

A Wonderful time with magnificent hosts, definitely going back, stunning views of the mountains, sheep in the paddock opposite, very clean and what a beautiful well-cared for garden, a restful setting with the beautiful ragdoll cat Oscar

Thanks for your lovely hospitality from Greg and Sam, Christchurch ex South Africa

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory and Sam... v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
What a lovely review from an awesome couple, thank you so much Team. Can't wait to spend some more time with you both. Take care until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This stay was joint top of our 11 stops in our first visit to NZ. From the outside it does not look as good as it is but, believe us, you won't be disappointed here. Our hosts could not have done more and the rooms were bright and very clean and well appointed. Good value for money. Super views from our rooms and only drawback is that it is a little way out of town. If you're staying at Kaikoura - and Kaikoura is not a place to miss - then this has to be it!
Richard + Diana Morris and Olga Cannan UK

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6xb42long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi Team, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We do appreciate it and we feel honored to have meet you all. Take care & all the very best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Great location on the hillside overlooking Kaikoura. The views from Austin Heights were stunning.The rooms were very clean,homely,comfortable,well equipped and in great decorative order. Lynn and John were very welcoming and we very much enjoyed breakfast around the table with other guests as well as the hosts.They were very accommodating with regards to breakfast ,as I have a wheat and gluten allergy.....We don't get that in the UK. We really did enjoy our stay there,and would highly recommend it.

Catherine and Steven -Hampshire,England

Room Tip: All the rooms had scenic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you very much Catherine & Steven for taking the time to write a lovely review for Austin Heights! Hope we meet again & all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We have just had two fantastic days in Kaikoura. Austin Heights is the place to stay. The views from our balcony were beautiful and the sunsets amazing.
Our hosts Lynne and John made us very welcome. Their home is beautifully decorated and is kept exceptionally clean with everything you could need. Our room was very spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast was served in their dinning room and offered plenty of choice. Laundry facilities were also available, which was really helpful.
There is plenty of parking space beside the immaculately kept garden. Just a lovely place to stay. Thanks.

Room Tip: We chose one of the upstairs rooms which was open plan and had a large panoramic window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
6.0 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
7.3 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
160 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast

Property: Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
Address: 19 Austin Street | Kaikoura Peninsula, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Love Kaikoura, but hate the noise of the traffic - here's the answer. Beautiful Austin Heights is situated on the Kaikoura Peninsula where it is peaceful and commands a stunning Panoramic view of the Kaikoura Mountain ranges, Pacific Ocean & Coastline. Only a five minute drive from the town center and all local attractions. Like the Whale-watch, Dolphin & Seal Encounters, handy to the beautiful Peninsula Coastal walkway & the Seal Colony. Lovely, spacious & sunny, apartments with a lovely decor, excellent quality beds. Opening directly out onto a long balcony with a Panoramic view of the Mountains & Pacific Ocean. Own kitchenette, fridge, microwave, tea & plunger coffee facilities. Private entrances & parking space. Austin Heights is surrounded in prize-winning Gardens. Lynne & John your friendly Kiwi Hosts have 15 years experience running their B&B and will make you welcome to Austin Heights. A special continental breakfast plus free range eggs is included in tariff plus all government taxes. Free WIFI available at all times. Complimentary pick-up & deliver to the bus or train with prior notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing