We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Even Better Hosts!”
Review of Nikau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nikau Lodge
Ranked #4 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Indian Hills, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Views, Even Better Hosts!”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Can't compare Nikau Lodge to anything else in Kaikoura as we were only there 2 days, but everything was top-notch and superbly friendly. As said in previous postings, Quentin and Jane are really helpful and relaxed, friendly hosts. My wife and I could have stayed there for a week as it would have been great to continue the friendship with this couple. We did a B&B tour of New Zealand by motorbike for 2 weeks; arriving at the Nikau Lodge was a welcome relief after some challenging riding on NZ's backroads. Our down to earth hosts had plenty of extra touches that we didn't find at some other B&Bs, most notably complimentary wine and beer and fantastic cookies! My wife's a pastry chef, she should know. Breakfast was hearty and delicious. Quentin and Jane work hard to make your experience comfy and relaxed and it shows in every way. Great location above town on the hill and plenty of opportunity to explore on foot from their gorgeous house. I would wholeheartedly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Kaikoura and the hosts will go out of their way to make your time there a memorable one.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMadMotoCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
202
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Such a wonderful stay! I was travelling the South Island with friends, and ended up at the fantastic Nikau Lodge. Quentin and Jane were so generous with their time and local knowledge. The breakfast provided was AMAZING, particularly Jane's homemade museli. The rooms were well-tended and spacious, with stunning views of the Kaikoura ranges. The overall experience could not have been better. We'll definitely be heading back to Nikau!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamper8622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This was one of our favourite places we stayed at during our trip of the south island of New Zealand. We only stayed for one night, but it was excellent. We had a lovely room which looked right down the coast and at the mountains. It was a great welcome. Jane and Quentin provide a fridge for guests with wine and beers which was great when we arrived. The omlette we had for breakfast was the best my husband had ever had and was really nicely presented. Also Jane and Quentin are great hosts very relaxed and friendly. The room was spotless. I guess one comment (which is the same with most of the B&Bs we stayed in) is that there wasn't much space for hanging up clothes, but that didn't really bother us given we were there for just one night. If we were going back to Kaikoura we would without a doubt head back to Nikau Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VCT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Thanks very much for your great review and very positive comments. We are glad that you mentioned the lack of hanging space for clothes because we have been working on that very problem over the last couple of weeks. Quentin has come up with some plans for nice wooden wardrobes that will be in keeping with the rooms. So he will now have to hone his carpentry skills again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

stayed at this B&B for a night recently and wanted to stay a lot longer. A quiet beautiful house with lovely gardens and close to the town center.They taught us a little bit about rugby while we watched a game with them. The breakfast was the best we had while in New Zealand. This is a wonderful area to visit and I wish our travel agent had arranged for us to stay here longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhnatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

This is a fantastic B&B. We were made very welcome. The breakfasts are lovely and the rooms have beautiful views on the mountains and the sea. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

The view from the bedroom of the mountains and sea was stunning. Lovely brekkie, friendly helpful hosts and clean bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teajaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We felt very well looked after from the moment of our arrival until our departure. Quentin and Jane were ideal hosts, making us feel quite at home. We very much appreciated their local knowledge, useful advice, and sense of humour. Also a very talented and artistic family - their own works hanging on the walls.
Nothing was too much trouble, the breakfasts were interesting and superb, and the room was nothing short of luxurious, with wonderful views of mountains and sea. We stayed two nights but wished we could have stayed longer. Can highly recommend this very friendly and welcoming B&B. It's in a hilltop position but only a short walk from town.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-geologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
160 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikau Lodge

Property: Nikau Lodge
Address: 53 Deal Street | close to State Hwy 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nikau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 10 minutes walk from Kaikoura's main town centre, Nikau Lodge has magnificent views of the Kaikoura Mountain Range and the Ocean. Come relax in the lounge, unwind in the garden or just come for a good nights rest. Continental and Full Cooked Breakfast using fresh local produce is served to you in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nikau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing