We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, great breakfast and facilities”
Review of Nikau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nikau Lodge
Ranked #4 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Carnforth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, great breakfast and facilities”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We were made really welcome. Room facilities and view were great. Breakfast had good choice and was excellent. Highly recommended. Value good for New Zealand where prices are high compared with the UK

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
We love having wonderful people from all over the world come to stay with us so it is very easy to be welcoming. We give several options for breakfast on each of our two menus (these alternate daily), this is important as many of our guests stay 2-3 days and appreciate having a choice. Many thanks for your high recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
202
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Seal room had an amazing view of the bay and mountains to the north of Kaikoura. Jane and Quentin were extremely friendly and helpful. The hot tub, complimentary beer and wine, complimentary dvds and location were all huge perks. The breakfast was also delicious. I would stay there again! Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnyappleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
We are happy you enjoyed the little extras we provide. Our philosophy is to provide everything on a complimentary basis so no-one will have any surprises when they come to pay their bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a lovely B&B located about 5 min walk from the main street in Kaikoura. It is on top of a hill so the view from the rooms is great. The owners of the property are a very friendly couple and great people to have a chat with about the local area. All rooms are very tastefully done and have an ensuite. You can choose to have breakfast in your room or in the dining room. We opted for in our room so we could enjoy the view from the inside balcony. There is also a communal computer as well as plenty of reading material should the weather not cooperate!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gugerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thanks so much for your review. A lot of our guests do like to have breakfast served in their room. We have a table and chairs set up in each room; in the upstairs rooms they are in an alcove that has big windows to make the most of the wonderful views of the Kaikoura coast and mountains. What a great spot to enjoy one of our gourmet breakfasts!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed with Jane and Quintin in mid-Feb 2012 upon arrival on the train from Christchurch. We found the Nikau exceedingly clean, the view amazing, the furnishings spot on, breakfast tasty, complimentary wine and beer a great touch and the location relative to town perfect - a short walk to town center. A shout out is also in order for Jack, the terrier whom we hopefully tired with our game of football.

Quentin also offered a ride to the train station upon our departure, which we accepted with appreciation.

Our trip to NZ involved 14 nights and I would place Nikau as a tie for 1st among accomodations we visited.

Great hosts, hospitality and facilities for a stay in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Es4vols1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
What an awesome review. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Nikau Lodge was our first stop in our tour of NZ, arriving in January. Jane and Quentin were very helpful, and the little touches like the free wine + beer were greatly appreciated. They were conscientious about my cream allergy with the breakfasts, which were great and tasty.

Our room had a panoramic view of Kaikoura bay, and a lovely bay window to sit in the sun and relax.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLFTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Thanks for the fantastic review. We enjoyed having you both to stay and hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The good
The owners are just lovely, really helpful, giving recommendations for restaurants and lifts into the village.
They have free wine for the residents in a little fridge on the landing. Such a nice touch.
Beautiful views from the top bedrooms
There's a spa pool.
The breakfast was delicious.

The bad
My bed had hairs in it - various different ones, it wasn't an isolated one. Also on the pillows. It really grossed me out.
The shower crevices needed a good clean and the carpet needed a good vacumn.
It's at the top of a very steep hill.
The wifi didn't work.
It was very expensive.

I feel bad for saying the bad stuff because the owners were so lovely!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
We are dismayed to hear through TripAdvisor that there was a problem with the cleanliness of this guest's room. Usually we score highly (93% top marks in TripAdvisor reviews) for cleanliness. We are now revising our cleaning procedures to make sure this does not happen again.
We do not apologize for being on the top of a hill; this is why everyone raves about the views from our upstairs rooms. We also offer a complimentary pick up and drop off service so guests should never have to carry luggage up the hill.
Our WIFI does work for laptops upstairs, I pads and phones downstairs. When there is a problem with connectivity re-booting the modem usually fixes it. We have a computer expert coming this week to assess our system and see if it can be improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Nice place, with a warm welcome from Jane and Quentin. The rooms are nice, with a good standard overall, and nice touches like the excellent toiletries and the complementary wine/beer. It's worth getting the right room - the Whale room is very nice, while the Crayfish room gets the noise from the trucks going past on the highway.

Room Tip: Get the "Whale" room or one of the other rooms not facing the highway (as "Crayfish&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikau Lodge

Property: Nikau Lodge
Address: 53 Deal Street | close to State Hwy 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nikau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 10 minutes walk from Kaikoura's main town centre, Nikau Lodge has magnificent views of the Kaikoura Mountain Range and the Ocean. Come relax in the lounge, unwind in the garden or just come for a good nights rest. Continental and Full Cooked Breakfast using fresh local produce is served to you in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nikau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing