We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Home, Great Views and Location”
Review of Nikau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nikau Lodge
Ranked #4 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Home, Great Views and Location”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We just spent the night at the Nikau Lodge - our last night of a three-week vacation in New Zealand. We loved the friendly hosts, and their little dog Jack. They've done a really nice job restoring the old home and running the B&B. The rooms are large with fantastic views. There are a lot of great touches. The kitchen was gorgeous and the cooked breakfast was really wonderful. It was just a quick trip through, but we would have loved to linger in the back garden, take strolls into town (which was really close) and head down to the beach. Next time! But if you're in Kaikoura, I strongly recommend that you book at the Nikau Lodge. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
It was a shame you couldn't stay longer and we do hope you can get back again one day. Many thanks for your very positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
202
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
277 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed at Nikau Lodge just for one night. Quentin and Jane are very friendly hosts and Quentin suggested a lot of dining options in Kaikoura. The Dolphin room was on the first floor with great views of the mountains, the beach and the highway! Unfortunately the B&B is very close to the highway and although the traffic slows down during the night I could hear the first tracks at 6 a.m. Although the bathroom was very clean the shower cabin was very small. Breakfast was fine, with continental and cooked options but you could smell the bacon all the way to the first floor. I don’t feel very comfortable giving an average review but compared to other b&b’s we stayed in New Zealand this was a bit outdated.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
We are sorry Nikau Lodge did not meet your expectations. We have tried very hard to put photographs on our web-site that truly reflect the lodge. There are four photographs of each room that show the bed, the seating area, the view and the bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at Nikau Lodge for 1 night while visiting Kaikoura. One of the best things about this B&B is that the owners (Quentin and Jane) are so accommodating. Quentin picked us up from the train station on our day of arrival and brought us back to Nikau. On our day of checkout, we wanted to hike the Kaikoura peninsula before heading back to the train station – Quentin took our bags to the train station for us so we wouldn’t have to worry about coming back to the house to get them. The accommodations are also top notch - our room was clean, charming, and had amazing views of the mountains and ocean! Also, we noticed that Quentin and Jane clearly put a lot of thought into how to make navigating Kaikoura easy for their guests – they had a binder in our room containing their restaurant recommendations + menus for each, various Kaikoura activities, and a map. It was an easy walk from the B&B to downtown, the ocean, and classic Kaikoura activities, such as whale watching and the peninsula hike. Breakfast was delicious and filling.

The location, quality, and hosts make this B&B an excellent value – would very highly recommend to anyone visiting Kaikoura!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Manager at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
"The perfect place to stay in Kaikoura" - Wow!! We hope we can live up to your recommendation. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

June and quentin are the best b&b Hosts I have come across anywhere, they were so friendly and fun to chat to. The b&b itself was lovely, with fantastic views of the sea/mountains. The room was comfy and there were some really nice touches, e.g. Lovely cookies in the room and really nice moisturiser in the bathroom. There was free wine and beer on offer which is always an added bonus! Breakfast was delicious. Really close to the town centre and tons of very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nj_ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
We really enjoyed chatting with you and feel very privileged to be your favourite B&B in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Jane and Quentin run a lovely place, which is conveniently located right off the motorway. The rooms are very cozy, and their breakfast was amazing! We only stayed one night, but if had time would've definitely stayed longer. Again, great place and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Manager at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Many thanks for your "Awesome" review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We recently spent a night a Nikau after a trip around the South Island - it was nowhere near long enough, from the minute we walked in we wished we were spending more time there. The location is great, a few minutes walk to town with amazing views of the sea and mountains from the upstairs rooms.
The facilities are also great, spa pool, beautiful rooms with modern, clean en suites, lovely lounge and dining area and complimentary beer, wine and delicious home made slice to be enjoyed either in room or in one of the communal areas.
The hosts are fantastic, cooking up a fabulous breakfast which we had ordered the night before, they are super friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Amazing place - will definitely be back as we didn't get to see the whales due to bad weather - will be staying at Nikau again for sure and will be recommending it to anyone who is travelling that way.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs on North side have great view of mountains and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Davies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
It was a shame you didn't get to see the whales and we look forward to seeing you next time when we hope Kaikoura will turn on better weather for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Hands down, one of our favorite places we stayed during our trip around the South Island. The owners couldn't be lovelier. We stayed in the Crayfish room and it was clean, comfortable, cozy, had an amazing view. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the location is very close to the center of town (about a 5-7 minute walk). Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
We love that we were one of your favourite places to stay and really appreciate you giving us a high recommendation. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikau Lodge

Property: Nikau Lodge
Address: 53 Deal Street | close to State Hwy 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nikau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 10 minutes walk from Kaikoura's main town centre, Nikau Lodge has magnificent views of the Kaikoura Mountain Range and the Ocean. Come relax in the lounge, unwind in the garden or just come for a good nights rest. Continental and Full Cooked Breakfast using fresh local produce is served to you in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nikau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing