We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect stopover in Kaikoura!”
Review of Nikau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nikau Lodge
Ranked #4 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The perfect stopover in Kaikoura!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

On arrival at Nikau Lodge we received a very warm welcome from our hosts, Jane & Quentin. Jane showed us to our room (we'd requested the Dolphin Room) which had fabulous views over Kaikoura Bay and the snow-capped mountains. The room & en suite were very well 'equipped' and the bed itself was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and made lunch totally unnecessary!! Our visit to Kaikoura came at the beginning of our trip to NZ and made for a really great start. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for your high recommendation and your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
202
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by our hosts Quentin and Jane who were very nice. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated . We had views of the mountains and the ocean from our room. Breakfast was cooked to order and was very good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tumblingshoals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Manager at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We are glad you enjoed our views and breakfast. Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Moving on from Christchurch on Day 3 of our stay in South Island, we stayed with Quentin and Jane for one night. Our room was extremely comfortable, with every mod con and lovely views over the town of Kaikura. Hospitality tray extended to wines and beer, whatever your predilection. Breakfast was a mixture of Continental and Full English, again, whatever you wanted. Quentin gave us lots of useful advice concerning where to stop on our journey north to Blenheim and I'm sure we would have missed the sight of the baby seals if he hadn't told us where to go. An altogether enjoyable time at this lovely place. Would go back if we had the opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy we were able to start your New Zealand holiday off on the right note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Excellent B&B in Kaikoura. A short walk into the center of town. The owners are very accommodating - they picked me up at the train station and were very helpful with rescheduling my whale watch due to bad weather. Very highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilldog12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you very much for your recommendation. We are very happy to help our guests with complimentary pick ups from the train and helping with tour bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandisfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Nikau for two nights, in mid-October. Our host, Quentin, picked us up at the train station and gave us an overview of the town on the way to the B&B. Upon arrival we met our other host, Jane. Our room was very comfortable and nicely decorated but the best part was the view - it looked out over the town, to the mountains and the ocean - beautiful! The guest refrigerator is stocked with beer and wine. The breakfast menu offered many options each morning and the food was delicious. One morning we had eggs benedict, the second morning it was a wonderful omelet. Having started our NZ journey in Christchurch, our stay at the Nikau was our first stop on our way to the Queen Charlotte track. We could not have asked for a better experience.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms face front, each room has big windows and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 571Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We hope you had a great time on the Queen Charlotte track and that our breakfasts set you up well for walking the track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our last stop before heading to our flight out of Christchurch and it could not have been better. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely seating area to enjoy the beautiful views and the swan towels an added delight. So too, was the well stocked guest fridge on the landing, a first in our experience. Jan and Quentin are very friendly and helpful hosts along with their "singing dog". Sorry little fella, your name has slipped right out of my head.With the aid of the menus supplied in our room we chose the White Morph on the waterfront and had a lovely meal. Be advised if you follow the short cut provided by Quentin the flight of steps which seemed easy on the way down are twice as high and steep on the way back after eating too much. Talking of which the breakfast menu has something for everyone and Quentin cooks a "mean " egg. If we are lucky enough to revisit this area I would not hesitate to stay at the Nikau again.

Room Tip: From what I could see all upstairs rooms provide good views of the beautiful surrounding scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We are very pleased we managed to make your last stop in NZ a memorable one. Your room tip is correct all our upstairs rooms have great views of the sea and mountains. Many thanks and we hope you do manage to get back here again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ningbo, China
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

A boutique home stay that delivers. We were there for two days and enjoyed every bit of it. The rooms have an outstanding view of a place that is already stunning. The rooms are perfectly done and the breakfast great. Very little to find fault with - the only thing we could have asked for was hard beds. Thanks to Quentin and Jane who made it such a wonderful stay for us.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bishwadeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for the fantastic review. We are sorry the bed wasn't hard enough for you, it is very difficult to have a bed that suits everyone. In the Whale room we have a brand new Super King bed and it is the best in the Sleepmaker Hospitality range.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
153 reviews
6.5 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikau Lodge

Property: Nikau Lodge
Address: 53 Deal Street | close to State Hwy 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nikau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 10 minutes walk from Kaikoura's main town centre, Nikau Lodge has magnificent views of the Kaikoura Mountain Range and the Ocean. Come relax in the lounge, unwind in the garden or just come for a good nights rest. Continental and Full Cooked Breakfast using fresh local produce is served to you in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nikau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing