We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique B&B in Kaikoura with warm hospitality”
Review of Nikau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nikau Lodge
Ranked #4 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Boutique B&B in Kaikoura with warm hospitality”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Nikau Lodge for 1 night in January 2014. Once we got there, we really wished we would've booked an additional night. There's a lot to do in the area and we really enjoyed our time at Nikau and its location. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was super delicious and I liked the added touch of being asked if we wanted to enjoy it with the other guests or in the privacy of our own room. Order the french toast ... you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
It was a shame you weren't able to stay an extra night to enjoy more of what Kaioura has to offer. However we are very pleased you enjoyed your time here and we really appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
202
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay, the hosts were absolutely fantastic, and the room was really nice. Will definitely go back there!!

They had a really cute dog called Jack who love playing ball with us. We really enjoyed the hot tub in the out side environment, with a glass of complimentary bubbles - great times!

Room Tip: The whale room was stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thanks very much and we do hope you can come and stay with us again. Jack is missing you, he hasn't got to play much ball lately!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a reasonably pleasant one-night stay at this B&B on our honeymoon. It ticked most of the boxes (location, amenities, breakfast etc), the views from the bedrooms are unarguably impressive and the easy-to-get-along-with hosts add a certain charm but we left feeling a little underwhelmed given the lodge's high ratings and ranking on this site. The rooms were a bit cramped and pokey - almost on top of each other - the layout upstairs with the communal fridge including complimentary wine was a bit more 'backpacker' than 'boutique'. However, we were lucky enough to stay at some delightful B&Bs during our trip, for not much more than Nikau Lodge, and the very high standards we had gotten used to were probably the reason we found this surfer-esque lodge (which was noisy during the night due to being next to a highway) not quite up to scratch. We cannot say it was bad value though and overall it was absolutely fine for a night, allowing us to enjoy some great activities and seafood in Kaikoura. Just a little surprised that it's Kaikoura's second best B&B.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarlandHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We are sorry you were underwhelmed with your stay at Nikau Lodge. We do understand that despite our best efforts we are not able to please everyone all of the time. We would encourage any future guests to go to our website where there are lots of photos and a description of every room to assist with booking choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Hard to imagine a more beautiful view than the one we had from our window on the first floor of Nikau Lodge: the ocean, the mountains and the beach. Combine it with true outstanding Kiwi hospitality which makes you want to stay on and you get an idea of what staying at Nikau Lodge is all about...

Room Tip: Consider a room on the first floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhoeltkemeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed our kiwi hospitality. We are both very fortunate to be born and bred kiwi's and have lived most of our lives in beutiful Kaikoura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in November 2013. We were made to feel very welcome. We stayed in the Dolphin room which had a lovely bay window which could be opened right up where you could sit to enjoy the view while drinking a complimentary beer or wine. The breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked. Would highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank baggiebird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you very much for recommending us. We do agree that is very nice to sit in one of our upstairs rooms enjoying the view and a glass of our wine or beer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed there at the start of January 2014. The "Whale" room was light and airy, with large windows to open. Small fridge in the hallway has milk for your tea and coffee. The owners/hosts were happy to help guests with whatever they needed to enjoy the town. The weather was nice when we were there, so we were out and about, but I think the downstairs area would be nice to sit in on a cold or rainy day. The included breakfasts were great, and you had lots of choices from light, (cereal, fruit, porridge), to a "full" breakfast that will keep you going most of the day. We were surprised to find out that much of the artwork was done by the owners' son, who happened to be there during our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Whale room, which was nice, but did not get a chance to look at any of the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfordjasiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
A great review, thank you very much. We are very lucky we have a son who can decorate our walls with his art work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for the second time. You are warmly welcomed by your hosts the rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The upstairs rooms have great views ( when the clouds allow) and the complimentary wine goes down a treat. The breakfasts are delicious and set you up for a day exploring all kaikoura has to offer.
It has no pool so my rating is unfair....just can't remove it :-(

Room Tip: Upstairs have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiraethcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you very much for the fantastic review. We are very pleased our Spa pool is now fixed, we had to wait ages for the new motor. Now our guests can enjoy a glass of our complimentary Sauvignon Blanc in the Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
160 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikau Lodge

Property: Nikau Lodge
Address: 53 Deal Street | close to State Hwy 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nikau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 10 minutes walk from Kaikoura's main town centre, Nikau Lodge has magnificent views of the Kaikoura Mountain Range and the Ocean. Come relax in the lounge, unwind in the garden or just come for a good nights rest. Continental and Full Cooked Breakfast using fresh local produce is served to you in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nikau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing