We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under the Nikau tree . . .”
Review of Nikau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nikau Lodge
Ranked #4 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Under the Nikau tree . . .”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at Nikau Lodge for three nights and had the most wonderful time chatting with our hosts (Jane and Quentin), enjoying the fantastic views of Kaikoura bay and the magnificent mountains from our room window, and indulging ourselves every morning with fabulous homemade breakfasts, prepared fresh every morning by Jane and Quentin. What else could one ask for on a short holiday? That’s what we thought, and we were completely over the moon. However, that was just the part of an unforgettable weekend . . .

Nikau Lodge is a beautiful character home with all modern amenities. The lodge commands the most beautiful view of the blue crescent bay and the surrounding mountains, and from your room’s private sitting area with bay window, you can see the foaming waves rolling in. With all the serene nature, we were pleasantly surprised that Nikau Lodge is only a 10-minute stroll to Kaikoura town centre, where you can experience fabulous cafes and restaurants of all budgets. Nikau Lodge rooms are named after sea creatures, and all the rooms upstairs have large bay windows in the sitting area, where you can opt to have your breakfast served in the morning. This is, of course, if you prefer privacy during breakfast. However, we did not want to miss the cosy atmosphere in the main dining room, where we met very interesting guests who came from all over the world, and most of all, we would have missed our morning chats with our charming hosts. Jane and Quentin were always warm and cheerful, and have a great sense of humour (equally charming was their terrier named Jack, who quietly kept bringing his deflated basketball to the dining room just in case one of the guests would be up for a game). Jane and Quentin go out of their way to pamper their guests – from a fridge full of complimentary wines and beer outside of your room to the different choices of gourmet dishes for breakfast (savoury egg Benedict with fresh free range eggs and Jane’s special Hollandaise sauce, Jane’s famous French omelette, which we missed, since we couldn’t resist the fabulous French toasts with caramelized banana and maple syrup. Finally, Quentin’s big but very gourmet Kiwi breakfast that came with free range eggs, gourmet sausages, and rosti potato cake with garden herbs). Our hosts were so generous with the breakfasts that they even offered side dishes, such as: butter braised tomatoes and pan fried mushroom (as if you need more food to survive the Kaikoura walking tracks). While waiting for the hot breakfast, we also warmed up our morning appetite with the healthy continental breakfast, which included muesli, fresh fruits, fruit preserves, and fresh yoghurt (again, with optional side dish of sliced ham and cheese). When we complimented Jane and Quentin of the breakfast, they even generously shared the recipes! After breakfast, our hosts always made sure that we will have a nice day exploring Kaikoura, and since Jane and Quentin are truly Kaikoura locals, they gave us great tips that you won’t find in travel books. They even made our dinner reservation to make sure we could get in to a very busy restaurant – undoubtedly because of their connection. Also, if guests want to take a break from exploring the outdoors, they can relax in Nikau Lodge’s lovely garden, on the lounge chairs by the small pond, or even in the hot tub by the veranda.

We left Nikau Lodge with a full stomach and a warm heart, as if we just had a great visit to our own family. After this trip, when we hear or read about Kaikoura, we will feel that deep connection to the beautiful town of mountains and sea, and to the lovely people who generously welcomed us as friends.

Other Kaikoura highlights:

- Kaikoura Peninsula Walkway (magnificent scenery at pretty easy fitness level -- Must do!)

- Maxtons restaurant (gorgeous view, romantic atmosphere, out of this world venison, and terrific hosts – Book early!)

- Nin's Bin (ultimate casual alfresco dining by the sea with fresh lobster/cray fish. Don’t forget to bring a bottle of wine for maximum enjoyment!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitravelduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Your review is very poetic!! Thank you very much, Quentin reckons he
couldn't have written it any better himself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
202
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Excellent B&B with a superb view, cracking hosts and mega-delicious breakfasts (try the French toast with caramelised bananas, we may never get over it!). Quentin and Jane made us feel very welcome and we fully recommend a dip in the hot tub after a blowy walk on the peninsular.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joandjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much. We love your "Kaikoura Kracker" review title!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

The wife and I were lucky enough to spend one of our last nights in New Zealand at Jane and Quentin's beautiful bed and breakfast. Jane and Quentin were wonderful hosts - so friendly and inviting we felt as if we'd gone to an old friend's house.

We were booked in the dolphin suite and were not disappointed with the stunning views of the mountains and oceanfront. While we are not normally early risers, we made an exception and awoke at 530 am to watch an astounding sunrise from our room. And just a couple hours later, the pampering continued when Jane and Quentin knocked on our door and brought in a delicious breakfast of omelettes, banana French toast, and lovely fresh fruit! It was easily one of the best breakfasts on our entire trip!

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at the Nikau Lodge and would recommend it without hesitation to anyone considering staying in the Kaikoura area. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer, but we will hope to return one day in the not too distant future!

Thanks again Jane and Quentin!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed our hospitality. We agree that we are very lucky here at Niaku Lodge to be situated in a great spot to see the sunrise. We hope you will be able to make it back again some day. Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed for 4 nights towards the end of our stay in New Zealand. Most of our trip was with an international tour company and supposedly "in style" staying in hotels and lodges, some of which were very grand on the surface. Nikau lodge offered more "style" and far better service than any of them. For us they passed the Ronseal Test, what you see on the website is what you get. Our room was clean and well presented; the WiFi worked and was FREE (unlike in most hotels, etc.); breakfast superb; the advice on things to do, restaurants, etc. spot on .... do I need to say more.

We hardly noticed any noise from the road and would go backpacking if the accommodation offered was as good as Nikau Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in Whale which faces the sea and hence away from the road if you are worried about the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewRoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We are so pleased you liked our "style"! We work hard at trying to make our website a true representation of Nikau so are very pleased that we passed the test. Thank you so much for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Nikau Lodge for 1 night in January 2014. Once we got there, we really wished we would've booked an additional night. There's a lot to do in the area and we really enjoyed our time at Nikau and its location. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was super delicious and I liked the added touch of being asked if we wanted to enjoy it with the other guests or in the privacy of our own room. Order the french toast ... you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
It was a shame you weren't able to stay an extra night to enjoy more of what Kaioura has to offer. However we are very pleased you enjoyed your time here and we really appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay, the hosts were absolutely fantastic, and the room was really nice. Will definitely go back there!!

They had a really cute dog called Jack who love playing ball with us. We really enjoyed the hot tub in the out side environment, with a glass of complimentary bubbles - great times!

Room Tip: The whale room was stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thanks very much and we do hope you can come and stay with us again. Jack is missing you, he hasn't got to play much ball lately!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a reasonably pleasant one-night stay at this B&B on our honeymoon. It ticked most of the boxes (location, amenities, breakfast etc), the views from the bedrooms are unarguably impressive and the easy-to-get-along-with hosts add a certain charm but we left feeling a little underwhelmed given the lodge's high ratings and ranking on this site. The rooms were a bit cramped and pokey - almost on top of each other - the layout upstairs with the communal fridge including complimentary wine was a bit more 'backpacker' than 'boutique'. However, we were lucky enough to stay at some delightful B&Bs during our trip, for not much more than Nikau Lodge, and the very high standards we had gotten used to were probably the reason we found this surfer-esque lodge (which was noisy during the night due to being next to a highway) not quite up to scratch. We cannot say it was bad value though and overall it was absolutely fine for a night, allowing us to enjoy some great activities and seafood in Kaikoura. Just a little surprised that it's Kaikoura's second best B&B.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarlandHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We are sorry you were underwhelmed with your stay at Nikau Lodge. We do understand that despite our best efforts we are not able to please everyone all of the time. We would encourage any future guests to go to our website where there are lots of photos and a description of every room to assist with booking choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
160 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikau Lodge

Property: Nikau Lodge
Address: 53 Deal Street | close to State Hwy 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nikau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 10 minutes walk from Kaikoura's main town centre, Nikau Lodge has magnificent views of the Kaikoura Mountain Range and the Ocean. Come relax in the lounge, unwind in the garden or just come for a good nights rest. Continental and Full Cooked Breakfast using fresh local produce is served to you in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nikau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing