We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great two day stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nikau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nikau Lodge
Ranked #4 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great two day stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We really enjoyed our time at Nikau Lodge from the warm welcome to the complimentary wine bottles and proper milk in the fridge. We cannot fault you - breakfasts great, room beautifully clean, information about everything in room - tv worked first time. Thanks Jane and Quentin for a lovely stay

Room Tip: All rooms are good but you get the views in the upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 767Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
What a great review thank you very much. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
202
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for 3 days in February. It had all we could want- and more. The room is very comfortable with great views, the breakfasts set you up for the day, and after a day walking the peninsula, swimming with dolphins or whale watching there is fridge with wine or speights beer to refresh. Perfect!

Room Tip: Upper rooms for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestonTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
What a great review. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This B and B was outstanding for comfort , friendliness, k and local knowledge. All amenities, then some.The views from our window were amazing. Kaikoura is a charming town. Whale watching tours excellent too.
Great hosts Quentin and Jane
Martyn

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our special part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last month. Quentin and Jane are most accommodating and gracious hosts. In addition to preparing amazing, filling breakfasts, they are extremely helpful and always available to their guests. The room was lovely, with a beautiful view of both the bay and mountains. The B and B is in a great location. Not only is it an easy walk to town, but we also were able to walk to the peninsula and back from the lodge. Another plus is the additional amenities - a refrigerator in the hall had milk, water and complimentary beer and wine - the latter most welcome after the walk to the peninsula. Last, but not least, is the homemade treats that appear daily in your room. Thank you Quentin and Jane for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjk8487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here and the little extras we love to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

This is a very comfortable, clean and well located accommodation. The hosts are both welcoming and helpful and look after ther guests really well. The breakfasts are superb, especially the scrambled egg! This accommodation is strongly recommended and very good value for money - you won't be disappointed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Manager at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you very much for recommending us. Quentin is particularly pleased you liked his scrambled eggs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at Nikau Lodge for two nights and had a brilliant time. We were greeted very warmly by Jane and both she and Quentin are lovely hosts, sharing their knowledge of the area and having a laugh with guests! We were amazed when Jane showed us round, to find complimentary wine and beer along with everything one would expect and more! The breakfasts were the best bit. It was such fun meeting fellow travellers round the large dining table while eating truly gourmet breakfasts cooked by Quentin and Jane.
Nikau Lodge is within walking distance of The Whaleway Station for whale watching and some good restaurants. Our room had a fabulous view of the bay and Jane and Quentin's lovely garden which guests are welcome to use. There is a hot tub, although we didn't use it...time just passed too quickly!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfasts, we do enjoy cooking for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at Nikau Lodge for three nights and had the most wonderful time chatting with our hosts (Jane and Quentin), enjoying the fantastic views of Kaikoura bay and the magnificent mountains from our room window, and indulging ourselves every morning with fabulous homemade breakfasts, prepared fresh every morning by Jane and Quentin. What else could one ask for on a short holiday? That’s what we thought, and we were completely over the moon. However, that was just the part of an unforgettable weekend . . .

Nikau Lodge is a beautiful character home with all modern amenities. The lodge commands the most beautiful view of the blue crescent bay and the surrounding mountains, and from your room’s private sitting area with bay window, you can see the foaming waves rolling in. With all the serene nature, we were pleasantly surprised that Nikau Lodge is only a 10-minute stroll to Kaikoura town centre, where you can experience fabulous cafes and restaurants of all budgets. Nikau Lodge rooms are named after sea creatures, and all the rooms upstairs have large bay windows in the sitting area, where you can opt to have your breakfast served in the morning. This is, of course, if you prefer privacy during breakfast. However, we did not want to miss the cosy atmosphere in the main dining room, where we met very interesting guests who came from all over the world, and most of all, we would have missed our morning chats with our charming hosts. Jane and Quentin were always warm and cheerful, and have a great sense of humour (equally charming was their terrier named Jack, who quietly kept bringing his deflated basketball to the dining room just in case one of the guests would be up for a game). Jane and Quentin go out of their way to pamper their guests – from a fridge full of complimentary wines and beer outside of your room to the different choices of gourmet dishes for breakfast (savoury egg Benedict with fresh free range eggs and Jane’s special Hollandaise sauce, Jane’s famous French omelette, which we missed, since we couldn’t resist the fabulous French toasts with caramelized banana and maple syrup. Finally, Quentin’s big but very gourmet Kiwi breakfast that came with free range eggs, gourmet sausages, and rosti potato cake with garden herbs). Our hosts were so generous with the breakfasts that they even offered side dishes, such as: butter braised tomatoes and pan fried mushroom (as if you need more food to survive the Kaikoura walking tracks). While waiting for the hot breakfast, we also warmed up our morning appetite with the healthy continental breakfast, which included muesli, fresh fruits, fruit preserves, and fresh yoghurt (again, with optional side dish of sliced ham and cheese). When we complimented Jane and Quentin of the breakfast, they even generously shared the recipes! After breakfast, our hosts always made sure that we will have a nice day exploring Kaikoura, and since Jane and Quentin are truly Kaikoura locals, they gave us great tips that you won’t find in travel books. They even made our dinner reservation to make sure we could get in to a very busy restaurant – undoubtedly because of their connection. Also, if guests want to take a break from exploring the outdoors, they can relax in Nikau Lodge’s lovely garden, on the lounge chairs by the small pond, or even in the hot tub by the veranda.

We left Nikau Lodge with a full stomach and a warm heart, as if we just had a great visit to our own family. After this trip, when we hear or read about Kaikoura, we will feel that deep connection to the beautiful town of mountains and sea, and to the lovely people who generously welcomed us as friends.

Other Kaikoura highlights:

- Kaikoura Peninsula Walkway (magnificent scenery at pretty easy fitness level -- Must do!)

- Maxtons restaurant (gorgeous view, romantic atmosphere, out of this world venison, and terrific hosts – Book early!)

- Nin's Bin (ultimate casual alfresco dining by the sea with fresh lobster/cray fish. Don’t forget to bring a bottle of wine for maximum enjoyment!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitravelduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Your review is very poetic!! Thank you very much, Quentin reckons he
couldn't have written it any better himself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikau Lodge

Property: Nikau Lodge
Address: 53 Deal Street | close to State Hwy 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nikau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 10 minutes walk from Kaikoura's main town centre, Nikau Lodge has magnificent views of the Kaikoura Mountain Range and the Ocean. Come relax in the lounge, unwind in the garden or just come for a good nights rest. Continental and Full Cooked Breakfast using fresh local produce is served to you in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nikau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing