We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a host!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a host!”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Stayed at Admiral Creighton on a romantic weekend with my third wife. Thoroughly enjoyed myself. Fed the eels, tickled the trout and sampled the generous breakfasts. The host even took me fishing (free of charge) although he did look a bit miffed when I caught more than him (35 perch v 1 blue cod and 10 perch). Thanks for everything especially the spa bath (complete with bubbles and wine).
Good location and good value.

Peter. (from Christchurch).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    12
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
32
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Only stayed 1 night but would have happily stayed here longer. Tony & Yvonne were very welcoming and the free trip to/from the railway station was a bonus we didnt expect. Admiral Creighton made us laugh with his syaings and chatter. Beuatiful views from the garden to the mountains.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF BayArea, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Tony and Molly (King Charles Cavalier Spaniel/Poodle Mix), were batching in the weekend we were there and they were wonderful hosts! Tony gave us great advice, total local "in the know" suggestions - food, activities and fun. They have great selection of videos for in the room or in the community room viewing for the night we stayed in after swimming with dolphins. Saw and enjoyed much more because we had such informative host. Wish we could visit again so we could thank Yvonne for the wonderful jams and lemon curd we enjoyed at breakfast. Go, stay and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Thanks to Tony, Yvonne & Admiral Creighton. Your hospitality was wonderful. Sorry our stay was so short (2 nights). We did hear the Siren go off one of those nights, but as you say in your guide, just roll over and go back to sleep which we did.

Our room was great, the breakfasts wonderful - setting us up for the days journey.

Thank you again.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Whilst you could not fault the bedroom the hosts left a lot to be desired. Tony totally ignorned me when I was sitting at the table on the first day. His wife Yvonne could not really be bothered with us. Continental breakfast consisted of juice, cereal and toast. Not what we are usually used to. The cooked breakfast at $10 was expensive as you could only choose 2 items. We certainly would never recommend this B&B to any of our friends. Unfortunately we were there 2 nights, all the other guests only the 1 night.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulino10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatrats, Owner at Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 November 2010
We are very sorry to have a response such as this as we strive to make everybody feel welcome If guests are talking to each other at breakfast I do not interrupt. We have taken on board the remarks about breakfast and have changed the menu to include more items. . It is very hard to provide a breakfast which meets the requirement of the worlds travellers as their expectations differ widely.
All we can say is sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Let me start by saying I travel a lot and have never wanted to write a review before. Yvonne&Tony Steadman are just absolutely delightful. Extreemly helpful to me as I stayed with them and extra day after my tour. Tony even fixed my huge suite case that had a broken wheel. It weighs 60 lbs and I'm traveling alone so this was an extreem help. I borrowed their bike and rode into town which takes about 5 minutes. The property is beautiful. The accomidations are extreemly comfy. Bathrooms and beds are brand new and great. Even the towels are extra soft. I can't say enough and I'm a tough to please kinda girl. I would absolutely recommend this B&B to everyone traveling to Kaikoura. It's a beautiful town and this is a beautiful and fantastic place to stay.
Cheers to both of you! Thank you for all of your help
Bye Creighton Bye Molly
Oh and if Creighton starts to sing Go Cubs Go you'll know who taught it to him!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braided16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Our extended family (ages 23 to 87) stayed in three of The Admiral Creighton's bedrooms. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived, with Tony and Yvonne going out of their way to offer local advice and ensure we were comfortable. The B&B is located well away from the road and was very quiet, with supremely comfortable beds. The views over a stream to the mountains were beautiful. The complimentary continental breakfasts comprised a wide variety of fruits, cerals and toast, while the cooked breakfasts well and truly set us up for the day. I would recommend this B&B for the solo traveller, families and couples who would love to explore the rugged scenery of Kaikoura.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadarnle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
39 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast

Property: Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast
Address: 191 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the family originally from China,it is our luck to find Kaikoura and this Beautiful Property to live. Its a beautiful world come and enjoy some of the best with us.Four star rated the Admiral Creighton B&B is located inside the Kaikoura Township. Close to everything including the Whale Watch Departure, Restaurants and shops.Set back from the main Highway well away from the Main Trunk Railway line which runs through the heart of Kaikoura. This property offers a tranquil environment with views to the magnificent Seaward Kaikoura mountains near by.Feed the trout & huge eels & ducks in our award winning native stream gardenThe spacious living in our comfortable B&B enables us to offer services such as a small conference, family reunions, fishing parties, and the like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing