We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastig wiev”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Bendamere House B & B
Lovely and nice room with great views, short walks to Main Street. Fine breakfast served in a private dwelling

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnieTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

The view over the sea from our room was stunning. Locals include sperm whale, albatross and thousands of dolphin. Our room was very clean, with an ensuite that was fine. First day we were out at sea so asked for a packed lunch instead of breakfast, Julie sorted it, no problem.
We stayed two nights, the B&B is clean, very comfortable, and has lovely views.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the ocean are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esenjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The problem with touring New Zealand when coming from the UK is that you keep finding places where you wished that you'd booked in for longer. The Bendamere is one of these with it's large modern rooms (ours was groundfloor) overlooking the lawns and sea. Julie had her hands full with husband just being taken off to hospital but she still had plenty of time for us, giving us advise on where to go to see the seals and where to eat (the White Morph). After a sound nights sleep in a very comfortable bed we had a very full continental style breakfast in the family kitchen.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I stayed for 4 night at Bendamere. Julie was a welcoming and generous host willing and able to help with our visit to Kaikoura. The room was perfect, spacious, with all the facilities you would want and a wonderful view of the bay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Kerry welcomed us with a vice like handshake which signalled the friendly, laidback tone of our two night stay. Our room was on the first floor with fabulous views over their beautiful garden and far out to sea. It was very spacious and comfortable. The kitchenette was adequate but not as fully equiped as some we had stayed in therefore making self catering limited. The continental breakfast, taken in the main house, was delicious. We particularly enjoyed the savoury croissants and Julie's homemade muffins which we were encouraged to take with us as we couldn't manage to eat them at breakfast! Kerry pointed us in the direction of local attractions and advised us on eating options just a short walk away from the main street. He even warned us to ignore the Fire Brigade siren if and when it went off in the town - and it did! A great place to stay in Kaikoura. Thank you Julie and Kerry.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tednsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We received a very friendly welcome from Julie and this signalled the beginning of a wonderful two night stay. The rooms were spacious, although our ensuite shower room was quite small. Our rooms on the ground floor had a patio area leading to a large lawn with seating where we were able to soak up the wonderful sea view and enjoy the glorious agapanthus flowers that were in bloom. Breakfast was served in the main house just a short walk across the garden and was a substantial continental breakfast including fresh fruit and with the the addition of savoury croissants. Our "play lunch" was very welcome later in the day!

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room in the detached building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A view to die for and friendly hospitality.
We were greeted by Kerry with "we thought you'd got lost" and that was the tone of the friendliness from him and wife Julie. We were able to chat about NZ and life in general whilst admiring the sunset over the Pacific.
Our room maybe wasnt the best as it was in the older part of the buildings but perfectly fine.
If you want to get close to NZ then try this.

Room Tip: Try and get one in the new "block"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike51198092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.4 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
168 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
158 reviews
1.4 mi away
Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 37 Adelphi Terrace, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: £117 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bendamere House Bed & Breakfast is a quality property featuring 5 ensuite rooms all with their own balcony and superb ocean and mountain views! All rooms feature Quality King Sleepyhead beds, silent fridges, air conditioners, bathrobes, full tea and coffee facilities and yummy homebaked shortbread on arrival.Free broadband internet for all guests in your room and coin operated laundry facilities on site! Our property features half an acre of lawns and rose gardens where you can sit and relax while enjoying a wine on our garden furniture and at certain times of the year catch the dolphins performing in the bay!! Minutes walk to the Kaikoura township and all sightseeing ventures. Secure off street parking and courtesy pick up and drop off to all trains/buses. Our tariff includes a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit salad, cereals, juices,freshly toasted savoury croissants, toast, honeys and spreads,tea and coffee and delicious homebaked muffins every day! Kerry and Julie have great knowledge of the area and the South Island so we are only to happy to help you plan your activities and trip further on! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing