We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale Watching”
Review of Miharotia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miharotia House
Ranked #17 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Whale Watching”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

View from our room amazing. Own patio area to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and the view. Comfortable and spacious accommodation. Trevor & Polly made us very welcome and were extremely helpful with suggestions for dinner, Trevor pre booked our evening meals to avoid disappointment. Delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank killywhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in Mahrotia House while travelling around New Zealand with friends. Our room was large and comfortable with fridge containing milk and coffee making apparatus as we have come to expect in NZ b&bs. The views from our room ( on the ground floor, sitting and eating were one floor up) were tremendous and, if you walked less than 100m further up the hill, beyond tremendous.
Breakfast was fine, for those who like cooked it was excellent, for those who prefer fresh fruit and baked goods it was less good.
Our hosts were kind and helpful although less involved with their guests than some are. Trevor was fascinating with his insight into abalone harvesting.
I would happily recommend this b&b for anyone wanting to stay in Kaikoura.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HasHout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

It's the little things that make a great stay a truly memorable one.

From the outset Polly and Trevor did more than what I would expect from a host. Organising us dinner at a great little seafood restaurant in advance was not something I thought you'd have to do in Kaikoura, it was, and we were very appreciative of this little gem of local knowledge, many people were turned away. Polly even drove us to the restaurant that evening, the crayfish was also the best ever! They then went a step further and organised our whale watch tour, again very grateful - 3 whales, two up close, was an absolute treat.

The accommodation was simply perfect, great view over the bay and on to the Seaward Kaikoura Range and Mt Manakau. Wifi was complimentary and fast. Breakfast was healthy, and Trevor makes the best coffee!!!

But to top everything was the bottle of champagne to help us celebrate our wedding while on our honeymoon!

Thanks Polly and Trevor, a very memorable and enjoyable two days.

Room Tip: Only three rooms, all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Specultor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic accommodation, Incredible views. Polly and Trevor are wonderful hosts. Excellent breakfast choice, prepared by our hosts in a great setting. Polly drove us to our restaurant for dinner. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
157 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a gem of a place. The hosts are really lovely and made us feel very welcome. The room was huge, with a large bed, kitchen area, sitting area and wonderful views over the sea. Breakfast was very good with home made scones (that Penny wrapped us for us, when we couldn't eat everything). Trevor, a fisherman, was full of information - and predicted that we wouldn't get out on our whale watching tour because of rough seas (when it looked fine). He turned out to be correct! Location is on the hill over the town, and it is possible to walk down into the town but we chose to drive. Easy parking.. They are also close to the seal colony, which they recommended and which was really good. Finally we left a coat, and Penny went out of her way to get the coat sent on to the next hotel we were staying at, and refused to let us reimburse her a penny!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprogg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arden, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was so enchanted to arrive at Miharotia House. It is a beautiful and well appointed home with a stunning view of the bay. My hosts, Polly and Trevor, were very kind and helpful. My room was absolutely beautiful. I especially liked that it had a private entrance which allowed me to "sneak out" in the middle of the night to have a good look at the southern stars. The landscaping is absolutely stunning. I cannot say enough good about Miharotia House.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatherNick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Polly and Trevor are most affable and expert hosts at this purpose-built modern villa. Superbly situated with views over the bay and only a few minutes drive from the centre of town, the accommodation lacks nothing. Spacious rooms, all with spectacular views, comprehensively equipped and furnished complete with two easy chairs, tv, fridge with complimentary drinks etc, easy access wi-Fi and best of all, a purpose built ensuite bathroom with walk-in shower and plenty of put-down space for toilet bags etc.
Breakfast whether cooked or 'continental' style is simply superb and served upstairs in your friendly hosts lounge/diner which has a magnificent view over Kaikoura. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All three bedrooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernonpopperbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.8 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.7 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#14 of 36 in Kaikoura
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
2.7 mi away
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Brook House B&B & Cottages
#10 of 32 in Kaikoura
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miharotia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miharotia House

Property: Miharotia House
Address: 274 Scarborough Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Hotel Class:4 star — Miharotia House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miharotia House is an architecturally designed and decorated luxury Bed and Breakfast, nestled on the peninsula and overlooking the tourist mecca of New Zealand, Kaikoura. Meticulously designed by local architect John Chapman to capture the panoramic 180 degree views and incorporate recycled New Zealand Rimu from the original House. You will enjoy the attention to detail in this superb home, from the spiral wooden staircase to the curved windows in the dining room. Subtly sophisticated, inside are three individually decorated guest suites complimented with modern day luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Miharotia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing