We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Splendid motel”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A very friendly efficient welcome awaits you at this splendid motel. The room had a fabulous view of the mountains from the balcony, and a sea view from the door. The unit was very well equipped and contained everything you could need for a short or long stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks John for taking the time to post a review. It is pleasing to get such positive feedback on the service and facilities provided. We trust that your onward travel has been safe and enjoyable..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    221
    31
    12
    0
See reviews for
100
473
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Rooms nice enough but small bathroom in our downstairs unit. The whole weekend all we could hear was footsteps from upstairs, showers running and toilets flushing, the walls paper thin. Not the relaxing weekend we had hoped for. Wont stay again

Room Tip: Stay closer to town in a quiet Motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay.
If we had been made aware of your concerns we would have welcomed the opportunity to try and rectify them. We did have other rooms available that you may have found quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Very clean, every quiet, excellent place to stay. As it is on the way out of Kaikorua it is still close enough to places to eat and still very close to the beach. It is only a 2 min work to a small shopping centre but has a great supermarket, and brilliant service at the supermaket as well. Is close to railway line, but definately not close enough to be a problem. We have stayed there in the past, and it is a motel that we will always stay in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is always pleasing to see guests returning for a repeat stay as this positive feedback is sometimes the only way we have of knowing that we are getting things right. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
648 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We only stayer here for one night en route through the country. Check in was easy and pleasant. The room was great, just big enough for 2 people and had everything you could think of. We were in a top storey villa over looking the back garden and the sea, great views. Kaikoura is only very small and so everything is within a good distance. Very nice motel, would stay here again and would recommend

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mr_MrsBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope your onward travels are going well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Lovely quiet motel on the main road out of Kaikoura when heading north to Blenheim. Peter made us feel very welcome and gave us a great tip to visit the baby seals at the Oahu stream about 15 minutes out of town on the left side of the highway, better than the seal colony in Kaikoura! Didn't try the bbq out back but available if required.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
283 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent two nights here in a ground floor studio at the back of the building. We'd requested a quiet room, knowing that the complex was right on SH 1 and could potentially be noisy. What we didn't realize however, was that being away from the road meant being closer to the train tracks. The first time a train approached it startled the bejesus out of us, but this only happened twice while we were in the room, so was not really an issue.

We could hear the surf from our room which was soothing, but unfortunately we could also hear traffic from SH 1.

While the motel is near the ocean, it's separated from it by a fenced paddock and the train tracks. We were unable to figure out how to access the beach w/o walking all the way to town and then crossing over from there. There's probably an easier way, but we failed to find it and didn't have the opportunity to ask. Town is accessed via a longish walk along busy SH 1, but a supermarket and pub are within easy reach.

Our unit (#8) was spotless, roomy and well equipped. The bathroom had plenty of shower rails (it's amazing how many motels don't) and a heated floor. The shower was positively massive with excellent water pressure, but the shelf over the sink tilted downwards, causing things to slide off.

The kitchenette was nicely equipped and suited us well.

All in all we enjoyed our stay, but we just weren't crazy about the location. Should we return to Kaikoura, we'll look for accommodation along the esplanade instead.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment, your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This motel is about 20-25 mins walk into the main street of Kaikoura. Very close to a supermarket, bar and bakery.
We originally booked for 2 nights but loved Kaikoura so much that we stayed for 3 nights, consequently we had to change our room for the 3rd night. We asked Peter if we could have another room on the same level to minimise carrying our luggage, he couldn't have made things any easier as he gave us the room next door and the key there and then so that we could move things at our convenience.
Both of the rooms were extremely comfortable, warm, inviting and spotless. The beds were comfortable and the pillows great.
The views from our rooms were great, mountains on one side and sea on the other.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms good but room 16 has a shower capsule.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diandcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thanks for your comments. It is always a pleasure to have people to stay who take advantage of the many things Kaikoura has to offer.I hope your camper van travels are going well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Kaikoura

Property: Quality Suites Kaikoura
Address: 154 Beach Road | PO Box 181, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites Kaikoura 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Suites Kaikoura prides itself on Comfort and Cleanliness. Our commitment to hygiene has set a new high standard in the industry with our 5 star Hygiene Certificate. All rooms have Super King size beds. We offer FREE and UNLIMITED Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Court Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing