We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Quiet”
Review of Sails Motel

Sails Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sails Motel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed 5 December 2013

While it doesn't have a view, Sails Motel is a lovely spot, tucked away off the road and very quiet and private. The unit we took is a good sized studio, spotlessly clean, with dedicated sitting, eating and sleeping areas as well as a kichenette and ensuite. There is a very nice patio space outside with table and chairs surrounded by shrubs which gets the evening sun. Deb is a very attentive host and was very helpful with our whale watch booking and with advice on what to do and see in the area. All in all a very comfortable place to stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Signboard at the Entrance was a little misleading that lead us to the neighbours. Driveway to very narrow so do drive with caution. Hosts, Deb was friendly and helpful. She suggested a varieties of restaurants. Room were spacious and clean. There were 4 of us (adults). Location of motel is very close to Dolphin Encounter operator which is just a 3 mins drive away/ ~7 mins walk. Deb reminded us a few times to off the fan/heater in the bathroom after using (perhaps there was some incidents previously) A slight disappointment was that the kitchen does not allow cooking. But overall the place is nice and of good value.

When we were leaving the place to set off towards Hanmer springs, Deb passed us some brochures and information for the road trip.
I would recommend this place for family trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharmaineKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our host ,deb, couldn't have been more helpful. She helped re arrange our whale tour, then went above and beyond helping us decide on a new itinerary to try to avoid some awful weather. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Just brilliant. The room easily large enough for our family. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My kids (aged 12 and 10) were very pleased when we were shown to our room as it was large with a kitchen and they got their own bedroom with separate beds. The bed was comfortable and the room was nice and warm. There is a really narrow driveway but the owner helped us drive down it when we arrived. I did feel at times there was a lack of privacy as our room looked on to the driveway with big windows and you really had to close the curtains all the way so people couldn't see you lying on your bed. The host was very helpful and insisted on showing us all the places we could eat. It turned out quite helpful on the first night as many places were booked out. My partner and I like to discover places for ourselves though, and at times we felt we were being over-helped. That is a small price to pay for a good value room in a good location though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelliell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

It's always a bit hard to tell by photos on the internet what you'll end up with but the Sails Motel was just like it was advertised. We stayed 2 night in unit #3 - the bed was comfortable and warm with extra blankets if needed, ensuite, tv and basic cooking (no cooktop) and as quiet as could be. We could walk into the main part of town in 10 minutes and our hosts, Deb & Ted, were very accommodating with information about the different walks, tours, etc. - they even picked us up at the bus stop and dropped us off as we were relying on bus transport.
If you are Hilton/Sheraton type people - don't stay here but if you want personal attention and clean, comfortable accommodations then this could be the place. Thanks again Deb & Ted.

Room Tip: Depending on the time of year and whether or not you want to wake up to a bright room choose #3 for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We chose Sails Motel to spend our first night on the South Island mainly due to reviews on Trip Advisor.
We were not to be disappointed. Deb proved to be a very friendly and ever so helpful host. She insisted on making sure that we knew where to look for our evening meal with several suggestions, however we decided to eat in.
Some delicious fish and chips from a take away recommended by Deb and a bit of salad from the local supermarket, washed down with a lovely wine capped of a pleasant day travelling from Christchurch through some wonderful scenery included freshly snow capped mountains.
Deb was also very helpful in guiding us to the local points of interest including the wonderful seal pup colony at the Ohau Stream.
As mentioned by previous reviewers, the entrance into the units is quite hidden and narrow, but the position of the units being well back from the road makes for a quiet nights sleep.
The only criticism I can offer is the selection of TV channels available. With a husband who is an insomniac, only having free to air TV which consists of mainly ads and infomercials between midnight and 6am, didn't go down to well. I made sure from then on to look for premises that had Sky channels where possible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granny59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We originially reviewed Sails Motel after a family trip to NZ in 2008. At the time we thought it one of the nicer motels we had stayed at on that trip and always thought we'd be back. This time, five years later, travelling as a couple we were just as impressed and happy with our choice. Kaikoura is simply magic and staying at a motel like Sails just makes the place all that more special. Ted & Deb are definitely the most attentive and friendly motel owners we have come accross. We were greeted like long lost friends and treated like family. Much appreciated

The rooms are still inviting, well equiped,spotlessly and immaculately maintained. The value for money is excellent and it's clear that Ted & Deb are in the motel business for the love of it and not to get rich. Deb refreshed our memories and helped us with directions to attractions and was able to suggest a dining option suited to us as a couple. The Pier Hotel was spot on and was one of the best meals we enjoyed on the trip. Highly recommended. The location of Sails remains one of it's most charming features. Down the lane between the hedges and hidden from the main road but still an easy walk to the main shopping area whilst giving a feeling of seclusion and privacy.

Sails continues to tick all the boxes and we rate the overall experience as outstanding. I can't see any reason at all why we would want to stay anywhere else on our next visit. (Hopefully sooner than another five years though) Trip Advisor put us onto this gem years ago and we're happy to steer other users in Sail's direction.Thanks Ted and Deb. Very well done

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Careful coming up and down the driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.0 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Motel

Address: 134 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sails Hotel Kaikoura
Sails Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing