We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sails Motel

Sails Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sails Motel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice little motel”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Sails is quite small, in a good location, on the beach road but tucked away from any road noise. Deb went out of her way to be helpful and we were almost overloaded with information. It was a relatively short walk into town. Before we booked, Deb helped us with advise about whale watching and when to go. Good pace to stay in Kaikura

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peterandvivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    35
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
77
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Spent one night here and Deb, the host, couldn't have been more helpful. She gave suggestions on what to do, where to eat, how to get places. Room was private and quiet and spotlessly clean. Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A gem of a place, off the main road and very quiet. Debbie, our hostess, went the extra mile (kilometer) to ensure that our plans for the weekend were satisfied. Bed: very comfortable; sitting area with tv; small kitchenette with microwave, toaster and kettle providing a facility to prepare simple food if not wanting to eat out. Kaikoura has a number of restaurants, bars, cafes and takeaways (fish & chips, pizza and a seafood barbecue) so - spoilt for choice.The downside, most food places are about 1km away; longish walk or very short ride!

Room Tip: All rooms are sheltered and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toops_and_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights straight after arriving in New Zealand and Deb couldn't have been more attentive in checking whether the whale watching tour we were booked on for the next day was the best in terms f the weather. She also offered lots of advice on other activities, restaurants and stops for our long drive to Dunedin the day we left. The room itself was adequate with a small kitchenette, dining table and sofa. There is no internet which would have been nice but overall we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talladega, Alabama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Deb seems determined that you have a great time in Kaikoura! Very helpful and sweet. Our room was OK, not my favorite of the trip, but had most of what we needed. It wasn't set up to allow cooking, but we didn't want to there anyway. Not at all fancy, it was clean and convenient to restaurants. No coffee maker in room..."just a short walk down the esplanade." Told us about a great place to eat breakfast north of Kaikoura when we left. But, altogether an OK place to stay in one of the most beautiful places on earth!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fountain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

While it doesn't have a view, Sails Motel is a lovely spot, tucked away off the road and very quiet and private. The unit we took is a good sized studio, spotlessly clean, with dedicated sitting, eating and sleeping areas as well as a kichenette and ensuite. There is a very nice patio space outside with table and chairs surrounded by shrubs which gets the evening sun. Deb is a very attentive host and was very helpful with our whale watch booking and with advice on what to do and see in the area. All in all a very comfortable place to stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Signboard at the Entrance was a little misleading that lead us to the neighbours. Driveway to very narrow so do drive with caution. Hosts, Deb was friendly and helpful. She suggested a varieties of restaurants. Room were spacious and clean. There were 4 of us (adults). Location of motel is very close to Dolphin Encounter operator which is just a 3 mins drive away/ ~7 mins walk. Deb reminded us a few times to off the fan/heater in the bathroom after using (perhaps there was some incidents previously) A slight disappointment was that the kitchen does not allow cooking. But overall the place is nice and of good value.

When we were leaving the place to set off towards Hanmer springs, Deb passed us some brochures and information for the road trip.
I would recommend this place for family trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmaineKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sierra Beachfront Motel
Sierra Beachfront Motel
#18 of 20 in Kaikoura
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Motel

Property: Sails Motel
Address: 134 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sails Hotel Kaikoura
Sails Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing