We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sails Motel
Nearby Hotels
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$123
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
77
35
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
35
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhale watchingplace to staydebmotelloungechristchurch
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We stayed in the Sails Motel for 2 nights and found it really amazing. Apart from the good and clean rooms i want to point out the exceptional passion and friendlyness of the hosts.

e.g. Deb gave us perfect advise on the activities in Kaikoura which fit perfectly to our schedule (from seal swimming to whale watching to dining recommendations) and even did the booking for us. Better than any travel agency.

We can absolutely recommend the motel to any visitor who not only wants a good studio unit but also participate from the broad local knowledge and friendlyness of Deb and Ted.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank val2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Sails Motel is on the Esplanade but tucked away and is in a quiet location, the rooms are very spacious and clean, this was the best value motel we stayed in. The hosts Deb and Ted were exceptionally friendly and there recommendations on where to eat and where to stop off on route to next destination were excellent. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braniff58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

I stayed here for about 3days. the place was really nice, well kept. i loved how it was tucked away but yet very close to the beach and town. it had a cottage feel to it being away from the road. the owners are very friendly and very helpful. when you arrive if you havent had any activities planned they are very helpful in arranging things for you or giving suggestions. they also reccommend some good places to eat. when i stayed i was also offered a ride to and from the motel as i came in from the train station. the rooms are a nice side. my only draw back was it was kind of cold when i was their and they did have a little heater but not enough to really heat up the place. they did have heated blankets which definately helped. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceangirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Booked this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor - and we were very impressed.

Tucked away off the main road, this the found this small motel to be a great place to stay. It is located near most of the other motels, a 2 minute drive (or 5 - 10 minute walk) to the main strip of restaurants.

The rooms are pleasant and clean - with a nice bathroom area. The furniture wasn't flash, but very comfortable. The rooms were nice and warm, and there was a small kitchen area.

The hosts were fantastic. We are used to staying in large smart hotels and wouldnt normally interact too much with the owners of a hotel, but at Sails they were exceptionally helpful, and seemed genuinely friendly and interested that we have a good stay. They helped book tours and made some good restaurant recommendations.

We would certainly return.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank DanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

We had a brief one night stop over in Kaikoura and chose Sails Motel based purely on the Trip Advisor reviews.

There were five in our party including three children and we were more than happy with our choice of accomodation.

Sails is a small motel located quietly back off the main esplanade and is operated by a very friendly couple who are very obliging and attentive to the needs and requests of their guests.

The unit we were accomodated in was very spacious, well appointed and clean. The bathroom and use of opaque glass cubes as a feature wall was a standout feature. The kitchenette was well decked out to allow families or small groups to self cater.

Our kids jokingly decided to rate motels on the standard of the bath/shower. In this regard, Sails rated highly. Good water pressure, plenty of space and easy temperature control.

Finding motel/hotel accomodation for 5 is a difficult task at times and as was the case at several other places on this holiday our 3rd child was on temporary bedding (fold out lounge). No complaints. All beds were comfortable and the quiet location was appreciated.

Price wise, we found Sails to be very good value.

To sum up Sails Motel and Kaikoura - Kaikoura is a lovely place. Plenty to do. Good dining options etc. The motel was friendly, cosy, clean and very good value. A bit more personable than some of the other bigger establishments. Recommended

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews