We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place we stayed in New Zealand!”
Review of Sails Motel

Sails Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sails Motel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The first motel we stayed in with our family in New Zealand was the Sails Motel in Kaikoura. This turned out to be the best place we stayed. The room was set up very well. Our two adult children had a small side room to themselves, and we had a large king bed in the main room. The bathroom was enormous with a lovely shower and a heated towel rack. The kitchen had everything we needed. We had a large dining table inside and a large dining table on an outside, covered patio. There were flowers everywhere! When we told our hosts we were considering travelling to Milford Sound, they advised us not to drive into Milford but instead to stay in Te Anau and go into Milford with Trips 'N Tramps because this tour uses a 10-seat van, rather than a huge tour bus, leaves before the tour buses leave, and provides the opportunity to hike Mt. Scott for the afternoon, which we very much wanted to do. The day with Trips 'N Tramps in Milford Sound was definitely a highlight of our trip, thanks to our hosts at the Sails. They were also extremely helpful booking opportunities in Kaikoura, where our children went surfing, and we spent an afternoon kayaking. I give the Sails our highest possible recommendation. It is a lovely place to stay and the hosts were extraordinarily helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sybilsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2009

We stayed in a studio unit for a night while in town to do the dolphin swim (which was also fantastic!) and were delighted with what we found. We booked this motel based on price, location and favourable reviews and we were not disappointed. The unit has everything you need to be comfortable and is a very short walk to the town for shops and cafes/restaurants. The owner was delightful, she went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed and was a wealth of information. If we ever make it back to Kaikoura we will be sure to revisit the Sails!

Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank kmn318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

My main reason for choosing to book accommodation at the Sails Motel was price - $105 NZD per night and secondly the location, but the best drawcard for this motel is the owner Deb! She is full of helpful information for the tourist and will book tours and restaurants for you.
We stayed in a studio unit for 2 nights after walking the Queen Charlotte Track and found the accommodation to be ideal. The room was a reasonable size for 2 people, the bathroom was spacious with a modern vanity, and heating. Fresh towels were supplied daily.
A must to do in Kaikoura is swim with the dolphins, we arranged an early morning trip with Dolphin Encounters whose premises are located a very short walk away (I think one block to the north) of the Sails Motel.
The location is quiet, we even enjoyed a mid afternoon nap in the room, as we were feeling weary after the dolphin swim and the previous days spent walking.
And another pleasant surprise was to find there was actually real milk (a 300ml carton) supplied in the fridge for tea and coffee making - a fresh one each day!
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schnauzerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Well, its not a luxury accommodation and to fit in the budget, we opted for a cheap stay and expected accordingly. But what a surprise this place was !!!!!!!! - clean, very cosy - as if a completely different world from the beach road outside and had excellent helpful hosts - Deb & Ted ...

A steal for the price that any accommodation across NZ would charge (except hostels), it doesn't let you compromise in the staying experience.

Kaikoura is a beautiful place and a must visit and the motel a very good option if you want a good place to stay at very affordable pricing.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mj_musafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Stayed here 2 nights and loved its location and the people who own it. They were so helpful and really went out of their way for us. The town is just the most perfect place and this establishment made the place to be remembered. I wouldn't call it a 'motel', more a special B&B!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SydneyTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

We were only here 1 night but the owners did everything to make sure we made the best of our time. The motel is tucked away and is really quiet, the rooms are comfortable and there is a lovely area to sit outside. The owners booked our restaurant (4225 South where we had an excellent meal) and were concerned and helpful when our Whale Watch was cancelled. We managed to book another later in the day. I would thoroughly recommend them.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yorkstravellers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We stayed in the Sails Motel for 2 nights and found it really amazing. Apart from the good and clean rooms i want to point out the exceptional passion and friendlyness of the hosts.

e.g. Deb gave us perfect advise on the activities in Kaikoura which fit perfectly to our schedule (from seal swimming to whale watching to dining recommendations) and even did the booking for us. Better than any travel agency.

We can absolutely recommend the motel to any visitor who not only wants a good studio unit but also participate from the broad local knowledge and friendlyness of Deb and Ted.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank val2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Panorama Motel
Panorama Motel
#11 of 20 in Kaikoura
181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
2.1 mi away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Motel

Address: 134 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sails Hotel Kaikoura
Sails Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing