We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely lady running this place.... nice clean rooms”
Review of Lazy Shag

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Shag
Reviewed 18 April 2011

nice place, nice staff.... good location near town and good value for money. would recommend this one

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandrahaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2011

the hostel is centrally located and close to the "main" part of the town, though it's so small so everything is relativlly close.
the rooms were too stuffy as there were no windows. same as others says, there were no lids on the trash cans since they were devided by recycling order, so there were many flies as a result of that.
women at reception was very energetic and friendly,too bad the sheets cost money.
tv room was pretty cozy but the tv and movies were out of date...
plenty of parking!!!
all together if you're not coming to kaikoura to view whales or dolphins there's nothing else to do there, so take that under concideration.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yula1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We really liked this place. Receptionist was friendly and good fun. Clean, happy and relaxing. One of my fav stays in NZ.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superbunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The Lazy Shag is about 5 minutes walk from the town centre of Kaikura which is pretty handy. The rooms are very warm which is good considering it's often pretty cold in the area but the bed aren't the best, plus you have to pay to have a duvet which I think is a damn cheek so I used my sleeping bag instead.

The kitchen isn't great, quite small and a tiny eating bench to the side so many people have to eat on the sofas in the room adjacent. Kitchen equipment is adequate. The communal area is quite pokey.

Although it did the job for a night, this place has no soul and isn't great for socialising - no bar either although Kaikura is a small place so perhaps it's not worth their while.

Global Gossip PCs which is handy though.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

we loved the name as we were on honeymoon so booked imagining budget level but s basic standard. It wsa freezing when we got there and we had a half broken 1 bar heater in our room. The rooms were very cheap but the bed was lumpy as hell and there were tiny hand towels in the shower which didnt suffice.

We ended up sleeping sp badly we got up at 5.30 to watch the sunrise so spent all of 6 hours in the room. If on honeymoon stay away - you want a better level of this....and a more comfy bed!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twhDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our en suite room was quite nice. The tv lounge was good. However the kitchen is the major downfall. It is big and fairly well equipped BUT stinks as there are open bins in it. This in turn leads to an abundance of flies. They were everywhere. There was no escaping them!! The cleanliness of the kitchen is poor too, dead flies all over the walls and tea towels don't seem to be washed well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joey010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Stayed at the Lazy Shag in January while travelling in the South Island. We stayed for 2 nights in a double room.
We enjoyed our stay at most of the backpackers on our way and from the description in the Lonely Planet expected this to be in line with the rest.
The backpacker is quite new and all the rooms are ensuite - which we considered a treat.
Our room was very small and dirty, the toilet was dirty and looked as if it has never been cleaned, the sheets on the bed were dirty with visible stains. No towels were provided. The toiletpaper is chained up so you can't use too much at a time.
The kitchen was also quite disgusting - the dishwashing liquid used was watered down and smelled and so did not clean the dishes well - leaving everything dirty, kitchen towels were not replaced and so were wet and smelly - and to top it all the stovetop took over an hour to heat - so cooking food was not really an option.
The TV did not work - only movies.
Internet was not free - but cost the same as in most other places.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilelstka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.4 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#16 of 32 in Kaikoura
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Shag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Shag

Address: 37 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £14 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Lazy Shag Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing