We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lazy Shag
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$152
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Court Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$157
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anchor Inn Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panorama Motel(Kaikoura)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
21
45
34
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
45
34
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoilet and showerstayed here for nightsensuitetowndormheating
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our en suite room was quite nice. The tv lounge was good. However the kitchen is the major downfall. It is big and fairly well equipped BUT stinks as there are open bins in it. This in turn leads to an abundance of flies. They were everywhere. There was no escaping them!! The cleanliness of the kitchen is poor too, dead flies all over the walls and tea towels don't seem to be washed well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joey010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Stayed at the Lazy Shag in January while travelling in the South Island. We stayed for 2 nights in a double room.
We enjoyed our stay at most of the backpackers on our way and from the description in the Lonely Planet expected this to be in line with the rest.
The backpacker is quite new and all the rooms are ensuite - which we considered a treat.
Our room was very small and dirty, the toilet was dirty and looked as if it has never been cleaned, the sheets on the bed were dirty with visible stains. No towels were provided. The toiletpaper is chained up so you can't use too much at a time.
The kitchen was also quite disgusting - the dishwashing liquid used was watered down and smelled and so did not clean the dishes well - leaving everything dirty, kitchen towels were not replaced and so were wet and smelly - and to top it all the stovetop took over an hour to heat - so cooking food was not really an option.
The TV did not work - only movies.
Internet was not free - but cost the same as in most other places.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilelstka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Small double rooms in a very central location. They all have private baths which was great but NO free internet as advertised in Lonely Planet and seen in other TripAdvisor reviews. For the price, you can't beat it. Parking included.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Spent 3 nights here,

+ Price was ok
+ Good location
+ Free internet
+ Good kitchen & tv room

3.5/5

2.5/5

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tf_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

This was one of the better places we stayed whilst on a 2 week trip around NZ's South Island. We were driving and there were plenty of car park spaces, the room was clean but very basic, but we weren't lacking anything we needed. The en suite was clean and functional. There were 2 tvs in the lounge but neither worked as as a tv which was a shame, but there were planty of videos to choose from and comfy bean bags! The kitchen was clean and again had everything we needed. Think there are improvements being made so sure it will be even better now than when we were there!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MancMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews