We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Despite being a liitle disappointed on arrival that there were no sea views this site is in a great location not far from the centre of town or the sea front.
As with all the TOP10 sites we used during our stay the toilet/shower facilities were clean and tidy and the staff friendly and helpful.
Campsite in the uK could learn a thing or too from the Kiwiws!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Mojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

kaikoura was one of the 8 top 10 holiday park that we stayed in. We had a camper van and stayed there 2 nights. It's really not fair to the management of this site to give a poor rating as I have come to the conclusion that no matter how clean these sites are, it really depends on culture of the people who are staying there to maintain it clean. Long story short, the first night ( march 2nd), the site was all booked. The ladies facility was spoiled completely in the middle of the night. No staff present until 7 in the morning. Imagine a solid booked site with no ladies washroom/ shower..... I am just wondering if it's feasible to have a couple of staff overnight when they are super busy???

Room Tip: there is no waterr front parking . The fence around the park blocks the view
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Hello there,
Thank you for this feedback - you're right it was a busy night for campervan sites on the 2nd of March and I apologise that you were unhappy with the state of one of our blocks. Our managers do a final check of our two blocks at 9.30pm. We believe this is a reasonable time for the final check. Of course they do get used after this time but a lot less than during the day and early evening. We do have staff who stay on site - they are available for emergencies 24/7 but we don't get them to check the blocks in the middle of the night. While we agree that it is unfortunate that a guest/guests made a mess overnight, we do check the blocks first thing and address any issues straight away, it also helps us immensely when guests alert us to any problems as well to fix it even quicker. We have two blocks available for use so if one was not to a guest's satisfaction we would hope the next block would be used instead. We will definitely take your feedback on board and I will talk to staff to ensure they are doing thorough checks and clean of our facilities. Thanks again for your feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This was our first stay in a campervan site, so I will write as I felt at the time, then add an update at the end after experiencing others.
' Our first experience so nothing to compare with but really impressed. Great location for walk into town, pleasant and helpful staff, nice views, not too cramped and very clean so what's not to like'.
Now after experiencing 12 other sites our views remain the same, this is a good one.
For info we were in a campervan so just had a powered site, cannot comment on other accommodation they had.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Enjoyed the stay, motel studio very comfortable clean & would recommend to anyone - pitty the Whalewatch didn't happen due to bad weather & poor visibility but the rest of the stay was great. We will be back sometime soon I hope.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My family spent a night there. The family house is comfort. There's a kitchen, heater, comfort bed with the modern style decoration. We've just loved this hotel. The weather's quite cold, luckily we had heater. The kitchen's nice with cooking equipments

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stopped here on way to Marlborough with our 22 ft yacht and they let us park it beside our tent. All amenties were plentiful, modern and clean. The staff were very helpful about eating out etc.
Kaikoura is an excellent place to try NZ seafood "Kai" meaning food and "Koura" meaning crayfish and of course we didn't pass up on the crayfish!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed here two nights. The location in that it is near the main attractions is great.

The Internet was difficult. I had bought the €50 card from IAC but our pitch couldn't pick this up at our pitch but could pick up the camp sites own Internet card but I would have to pay for that. Of course, I didn't want to do this. We were in spot 42. They had nowhere else that night but we moved the next day. I found it odd we could get one Internet and not the IAC. I agree with what the manager said about how helpful IAC are. Just hit the contact us bar and they always respond.


I, too found the noise difficult. The trains are infrequent but the one at 7 am felt really near and very loud. I hated hearing the traffic noise but it didn't bother my husband as much.

There is a great walk from here around Kaikoura peninsula.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brierfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback on the Internet Access Company, known as IAC. We do agree that it was odd that our internet signal was strong and IAC's signal was weak - other IAC customers had also experienced some signal issues so we called IAC to discuss this with them and on the 21st of February an IAC technician from Christchurch visited our Park and added an extra aerial as well as extending the height of two existing aerials to increase the signal across the Park. We are hoping this will now fix the error that sites at the extremities of the Park were experiencing, site 42 in your case. I apologise that during your visit you had difficulty with your internet and hope for future guests we have remedied this.

Glad you enjoyed the walk around the Peninsula, it is definitely a must do for visitors.

Thanks and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 34 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: £39 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting Kaikoura come and stay at our centrally located, award-winning Holiday Park and Motel. Just 300 metres from the town centre we are the perfect base whilst exploring Kaikoura, head out on foot to local tours, shops, restaurants and cafes. Kaikoura TOP 10 Holiday Park offers a range of quality, affordable accommodation options to suit everyone and every budget. In addition, we offer motel accommodation with a difference - relax and unwind in park surroundings with a welcoming atmosphere of open spaces, landscaped grounds and stunning mountain vistas while still enjoying the benefits of quality, comfortable motel units. . Choose from our 4-star Qualmark rated motels or our cabins or for those travelling in motorhomes we also offer sites in our 5-star Qualmark rated Holiday Park.We pride ourselves on being able to offer some of the best motel accommodation options and service in Kaikoura. Not only do we offer quality and comfort in a park-like setting but we also have excellent, modern facilities that you won’t find anywhere else in Kaikoura. Along with Wi-Fi and SKY Guest Select 50+ channels in every motel and freeview in cabins, we also have fantastic family facilities including an adventure playground with the popular jumping pillow, heated outdoor pool, private hot tub, games room, TV lounge and fun bikes for hire. With so much on offer it’s a wonderful chance for you to enjoy your holiday your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing