We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill nights stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Our first stop with the campervan. Boys in the pool straightaway. Good play facilities for the kids, clean shower block n loads of laundry machines. Smaller park so easy to park van Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac7769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

Pretty good all in all. Stand out points are the bouncy pillow / playground for the kids and handy to Hislops restaurant across the road. A short walk over the train tracks to the stone beach. Pool could do with some heating or pack a wet suit. :-) The sites are pretty close quarters, but pleasant overall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Hi there Mark,

Thank you for your recent review of our Park. Glad to hear your family enjoyed our playground and jumping pillow and made use of the facilities on offer. Our location is definitely handy to the town and nearby restaurants. I have double checked with staff today and our pool has not gone under 25 degrees in the last few months, it is usually around 26 degrees and heats up even more in the summer. With the weather cooling I think it may have been that the start of April is just a wee bit chilly :)
Thanks for your review, hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here one night over Easter. Booked a camper-van site with power. Very busy so therefore also noisy during the night. Went to showers at 8 am to find them all flooded and also no toilet-paper to be found. Been to other campgrounds over Easter with basic facilities but they were all spotless and clean - so will definitely not bother paying the extra for a TOP 10 Holiday Park again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. I sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Easter weekend was a very busy weekend for us, much busier than Easter has been for us over the last few years. While we were cleaning the facilities as much as possible at times it felt like a losing battle as no sooner had a cleaner or manager left the building after cleaning and less than half an hour later it was back to the same state again. A mixture of heavy dew in the morning and children in and out of the pool all day also added to this problem on a particularly busy weekend. We tried to deal with as best as possible but will definitely look into how we can keep our facilities up to standard at all times, as we want all our customers experiences to be consistent. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We really liked the location f the site as we parked the camper van and didn't move it until 2 days later. The place was spotless. They have an unexpected number of cooktops and a huge kitchen facility. It has about 10 sets of tables and chairs and a lot of people ate in the kitchen/ dining room area. The spot we had included a nice picnic table. They had 2 staff working the front desk where we have found the camp sites only have 1 so we were dealt with promptly. They also had good laundry facilities and even had an iron and ironing board. We really enjoyed it and would come back. There was no night noise to be concerned with. Great time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2Travel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Despite being a liitle disappointed on arrival that there were no sea views this site is in a great location not far from the centre of town or the sea front.
As with all the TOP10 sites we used during our stay the toilet/shower facilities were clean and tidy and the staff friendly and helpful.
Campsite in the uK could learn a thing or too from the Kiwiws!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Mojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

kaikoura was one of the 8 top 10 holiday park that we stayed in. We had a camper van and stayed there 2 nights. It's really not fair to the management of this site to give a poor rating as I have come to the conclusion that no matter how clean these sites are, it really depends on culture of the people who are staying there to maintain it clean. Long story short, the first night ( march 2nd), the site was all booked. The ladies facility was spoiled completely in the middle of the night. No staff present until 7 in the morning. Imagine a solid booked site with no ladies washroom/ shower..... I am just wondering if it's feasible to have a couple of staff overnight when they are super busy???

Room Tip: there is no waterr front parking . The fence around the park blocks the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Hello there,
Thank you for this feedback - you're right it was a busy night for campervan sites on the 2nd of March and I apologise that you were unhappy with the state of one of our blocks. Our managers do a final check of our two blocks at 9.30pm. We believe this is a reasonable time for the final check. Of course they do get used after this time but a lot less than during the day and early evening. We do have staff who stay on site - they are available for emergencies 24/7 but we don't get them to check the blocks in the middle of the night. While we agree that it is unfortunate that a guest/guests made a mess overnight, we do check the blocks first thing and address any issues straight away, it also helps us immensely when guests alert us to any problems as well to fix it even quicker. We have two blocks available for use so if one was not to a guest's satisfaction we would hope the next block would be used instead. We will definitely take your feedback on board and I will talk to staff to ensure they are doing thorough checks and clean of our facilities. Thanks again for your feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This was our first stay in a campervan site, so I will write as I felt at the time, then add an update at the end after experiencing others.
' Our first experience so nothing to compare with but really impressed. Great location for walk into town, pleasant and helpful staff, nice views, not too cramped and very clean so what's not to like'.
Now after experiencing 12 other sites our views remain the same, this is a good one.
For info we were in a campervan so just had a powered site, cannot comment on other accommodation they had.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#11 of 20 in Kaikoura
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 34 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: £44 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting Kaikoura come and stay at our centrally located, award-winning Holiday Park and Motel. Just 300 metres from the town centre we are the perfect base whilst exploring Kaikoura, head out on foot to local tours, shops, restaurants and cafes. Kaikoura TOP 10 Holiday Park offers a range of quality, affordable accommodation options to suit everyone and every budget. In addition, we offer motel accommodation with a difference - relax and unwind in park surroundings with a welcoming atmosphere of open spaces, landscaped grounds and stunning mountain vistas while still enjoying the benefits of quality, comfortable motel units. . Choose from our 4-star Qualmark rated motels or our cabins or for those travelling in motorhomes we also offer sites in our 5-star Qualmark rated Holiday Park.We pride ourselves on being able to offer some of the best motel accommodation options and service in Kaikoura. Not only do we offer quality and comfort in a park-like setting but we also have excellent, modern facilities that you won’t find anywhere else in Kaikoura. Along with Wi-Fi and SKY Guest Select 50+ channels in every motel and freeview in cabins, we also have fantastic family facilities including an adventure playground with the popular jumping pillow, heated outdoor pool, private hot tub, games room, TV lounge and fun bikes for hire. With so much on offer it’s a wonderful chance for you to enjoy your holiday your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing