We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sunrise Lodge(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
180
150
67
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
150
67
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomheated pooldeluxe cabintrain linewhale watchingpowered siteplay groundgreat facilitiescamper vanself contained unitcamping groundthe kitchenhot waterclean facilitieswalking distanceclose to townthe main road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here last minute and found the staff extremely helpful. We had a few issues with our van (as we had no power supply) and they did everything they could to help us. In the end we had to go for a cabin, and we were very happy with what we had. The bathrooms were lovely and big, with heaters and lots of space.
The beds were very comfortable, and the room was a great size with lots of room for us to be able to make dinner.
The holiday park is also in a great location, with views of the mountains and close to the beach and whale watch tour.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Hi Hollie,
Thanks for taking the time to post this feedback, we really appreciate it. Glad that after trying to sort out a power chord we were able to help you instead with a unit for the night - and it's wonderful to hear you had a nice stay in that unit and enjoyed our location. Hope to see you back here someday. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Having stayed at HANMER SPRINGS ($ 149.-) and CHRISTCHURCH ($ 159.-)we found KAIKOURA 'poor': no lights at bedsite , 'antique' plumbing in bathroom(no 'mixing' cold/hot water, no spare toilet paper, general impression :'old and 'run down' , but comparing prices with the 2 other aforementioned at $ 180.- (and charging a kid at $ 20.- additionally!!)a real RIP OFF!\
Besides: 'noisy' location , absolutely NOT worth the money they are charging.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Hi there,
We do appreciate your comments and are grateful for the opportunity to explain. It is our policy to charge for children and we do advertise this. We feel that we can't be held accountable for other TOP 10’s choosing not to charge for a child in this case. The rate you paid when you booked online was for a two bedroom family motel, we also have cheaper family accommodation options, dependent on availability. I have been into the two bedroom family unit today - there is definitely a spare toilet roll holder but perhaps it was mistaken for a toilet brush holder, I apologise that this wasn’t clear. I agree with you on the bedside lights and as an interim solution am heading to the shops today to purchase two lamps. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we have carefully considered your review and have taken action accordingly. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We looked at a few caravan parks and thankfully chose Kaikoura Top 10.
Great location - walking distance to main street restaurants, whale watching and beach.
They owners were friendly and very proud of their park - facilities were clean and modern!
Highly recommended by us and we'll return again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacq23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

During our recent three-week road trip of New Zealand we stayed in numerous Top 10s around the country, but this one had to be our favourite. The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly, the facilities very well maintained and the location excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthe451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thanks for a TOP review! We are delighted to receive this and as we know how fantastic our fellow TOP 10 Parks are we take this as a real compliment. We pride ourselves on our customer service and it is our aim to continually keep the Park modern and maintained so it’s excellent to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Hope to see you again someday, hope you had a great trip around NZ. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay here last weekend. The place is very well maintained and the 2 bedroom family motel unit we stayed in was great. The fully fenced wee outdoor area was a real bonus with an under 1 year old who's crawling everywhere! Our two girls aged 10 and 7 had an absolute blast on the jumping pillow, riding the fun bikes and swimming in the pool.
From time of arrival thru to check out i found the reception staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful. I asked a couple of questions they weren't sure of during our stay and they took the time to find the answers for me and come round to our unit to explain in person which was much appreciated.
Only negatives for me - $10 for half an hour hire of the spa, probably a bit on the steep side, $10 for an hour hire of the fun bike, again probably a tad steep (that said when our girls went back a second time the next day they were given the bike for an hour for free which was a nice touch and also much appreciated). Also i found the pool temperature rather cold but maybe i'm just getting old, the kids loved it so no real complaints there.

All in all we had a fantastic time and have already booked our next trip back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Hi there Greg,

Thank you very much for this review. We are so glad to hear that your family had a great stay with us and that they kids were kept thoroughly entertained during your stay. We are also glad to hear that you were impressed with our staff; they’ll all be really pleased to hear that. We look forward to having you stay again – and hopefully we’ll have warmer weather so that the pool doesn’t feel so cold – it sits at about 25 – 27 degrees maintained by a heat pump, and as the weather heats up the solar panels increase this temperature too. I can appreciate your comments on the price of spa hire and bike hire and will pass this onto our director as an insight. Thank you for passing this on, appreciate any feedback. Take care and we’ll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews