We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcrowded as too many small sites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We spent 15 nights in our tent, and the one night here was the only one we didn't enjoy :( Tiny sites, way too close together (we could hear when our neighbour rolled over!). That said, communal facilities were very good so, if you're used to crowded campgrounds, or have kids that need "stuff" to entertain them, this would be a good campground for you. It's just not for us so we won't be back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KiwiRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Hi there,
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at our park. Please be aware that the last few days of December and the beginning of January is by far Kaikoura's busiest month. Often travellers are unaware of this, and many visitors arrive without a booking - so for about a week and a half of our peak season we are at full occupancy. Most of our Christmas/January guests enjoy the buzz of the busy season in the park. If you are looking for a less crowded campsite experience, we would recommend travelling outside of the Christmas/January period, as we can offer a much more quiet experience with more sites available. But we thank you for your feedback. :) Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed one night on a non-powered site. There were many guests on the campground, so it was a little bit crowded. The toilets near the TV room were dirty, but the showers in the same block were very clean and spacious. In the main sanitary facilities the shower were of a standard size.
The park is situated in walking distance to the Whale Watch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marigold1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thanks for your feedback. We are currently in peak season and the end of Deecember after Christmas was particularly busy so we are at full capacity most nights – If you are looking for a less crowded campsite experience, we would recommend travelling outside of the Christmas/January period. We clean the showers and toilets in the morning and they are checked in the late afternoon and then once again in the evening. We do really appreciate it if guests let us know at any other time if they need attention as when we are in reception we can’t get down to check but will quickly attend to any issues when told about them  Apart from those issues we are glad you found are central location handy and hope you otherwise enjoyed your time in Kaikoura. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there on two separate occasions recently, once camping and the other time in a basic cabin. Thought the facilities were great, really clean, well equipped, lots of spaces for the kids to run about. Loved the little pool and spa. Staff attentive and friendly. We'd stay again and recommend.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank loocoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Had a motorhome site. Sites fairly compact. Site itself is not the most attractive. Facilities were fine although seemed more limited in numbers of toilets for instance compared to other top10 sites. Well positioned just out of Kaikoura. Supermarket, wet fish shop within easr reach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed in a motel @ the Top 10, incredibly clean and spacious. Staff at the site are brilliant, so friendly and welcoming. So much to see and do in Kiakoura, sadly only had 2 nights there, now wish we had booked more. Great pool, and very well kept grounds. In walking distance to the town with great amenities, meaning no need to use the car! Despite some occasional train noise, definitely recommend this site.

Room Tip: Motel room was near the train track and the entrance to the site, but didn't cause us any issues...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicthebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Booking was made prior to leaving Australia and we had only photos on the Top 10 website to go by. Not disappointed at all. Very pleased with the staff and the facilities. A little disappointed we had a schedule to keep to and had move on. Would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Clean, well-laid out, but a number of the washers and dryers were not working. The one I started with worked for the first load but then didn't dry everything and I had to get assistance from the office. Did have a nice view of the mountains once the clouds cleared away.

Room Tip: stayed in Camper Van
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meo1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 34 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: £39 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting Kaikoura come and stay at our centrally located, award-winning Holiday Park and Motel. Just 300 metres from the town centre we are the perfect base whilst exploring Kaikoura, head out on foot to local tours, shops, restaurants and cafes. Kaikoura TOP 10 Holiday Park offers a range of quality, affordable accommodation options to suit everyone and every budget. In addition, we offer motel accommodation with a difference - relax and unwind in park surroundings with a welcoming atmosphere of open spaces, landscaped grounds and stunning mountain vistas while still enjoying the benefits of quality, comfortable motel units. . Choose from our 4-star Qualmark rated motels or our cabins or for those travelling in motorhomes we also offer sites in our 5-star Qualmark rated Holiday Park.We pride ourselves on being able to offer some of the best motel accommodation options and service in Kaikoura. Not only do we offer quality and comfort in a park-like setting but we also have excellent, modern facilities that you won’t find anywhere else in Kaikoura. Along with Wi-Fi and SKY Guest Select 50+ channels in every motel and freeview in cabins, we also have fantastic family facilities including an adventure playground with the popular jumping pillow, heated outdoor pool, private hot tub, games room, TV lounge and fun bikes for hire. With so much on offer it’s a wonderful chance for you to enjoy your holiday your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing