We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing location, would not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Yealmpton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disappointing location, would not stay again”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Good basic facilities but naff location sandwiched between railway (stops you getting to beach and whale watch building) and main road (noisy all night). If ever stay in Kaikoura again will stay in fat nicer end up towards walkways where there are good restaurants

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaresDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi there. Unfortunately, the railway does run near to our park and all other accommodation along Beach Road in Kaikoura. This issue can't be helped on our part but it is a trade off for our great, central location - a quick walk to the town centre, to the ocean, to Whale Watch Kaikoura and to great restaurants just 300 metres down the road. We have found a small number of guests are affected by the train. Luckily, there are very few trains with the noise only lasting momentarily. We apologise that this affected your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    136
    62
    21
    12
See reviews for
128
170
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We parked up with our camper van for one night and we very specifically asked at reception for a quiet pitch and was assured they all are. Well they are NOT. The site is narrow and sandwiched between the highway - with heavy lorry traffic at night and unknown to us is literally right beside the railway line and yard. Well they moved a lot of rail freight that night. It was HORRENDOUS. Dreadful night and by far the worst site in 3 months of touring. If you love NZ and want a peaceful site - its NOT this one. Should have asked for our money back. Good location for train and helicopter enthusiasts.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ForrestCornwallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us - As you mentioned, as per other reviews, yes we are located along Beach Road, the main road of Kaikoura, as are a lot of the accommodation options in Kaikoura. It is a shame that the train noise disturbs some guests but we do believe our central location also has some great benefits - an easy to find location, 2 minute walk to town centre, shops and restaurants and in particular close to Whale Watch Kaikoura. The road traffic dramatically reduces at night, the trains are there but usually only 1-3 times a night and only last for 20-30 seconds, they are very short trains compared to overseas trains and luckily it is not a constant noise but we do appreciate that this does disturb some guests. I can't comment on the site you were on as I'm not sure of the number but I apologise that you felt staff didn't put you on a quiet pitch. I hope you otherwise enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a really nice Top 10, we'd stayed in another and visited another and it seems much nicer. The staff were very friendly and helpful, one chap going out to buy some clothes pegs when it turned out a previous customer had nicked off with the supply. The toilets were kept nice and clean. The studio we had was pleasant and fairly secluded. One big bonus is the on site hot tub - you book it out for private use (for free) and it's a really nice private experience in a high quality wooden tub! The heated pool was also lovely for a morning dip. The accommodation was conveniently located for the town.

The only downside is that it's right next to the railway line - I mean RIGHT next to it! We had unit 50 which had a view right across the railway sidings - sleepers just outside our window! We're deep sleepers so it didn't stop us having a good night's sleep, but on the first night I did awake terrified at about 11pm when I though an earthquake was happening, but it turned out to be a train pulling in!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I’m sorry to hear you were disturbed by some train noise – luckily they are only a gentle rumble which only last for a few moments, (maybe 30 seconds) but we do understand this can disturb some guests, however I’m glad you found our central location a benefit. We are glad to hear some positive feedback on your stay too – thanks for this feedback! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kleve, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The only reason to stay on this place is that he is so near by the whalewatching station. Not enough toilets and showers. They were dirty, puh, very dirty!! The traffic noise is too much for to sleep comfortable! I expected more for the money we have paid. I made other experiences on other Top 10 parks.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Petra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraTOP10, General Manager at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thanks for your feedback. I am concerned to hear you found the facilities to be untidy and I apologise for this. We check the facilities blocks at around 8.00am when we open, they are then cleaned by our cleaners from about 10.00am onwards and are checked again in the early evening to coincide with the arrival of guests after 1.00pm and then are finally checked again when we close the office around 9.30pm. Sometimes all it takes is children to run into facilities from the pool and someone to walk in with muddy shoes for the facilities to quickly look unclean or for some sort of incident to occur that staff may not be aware of. We do really appreciate guests letting us know if there is a cleaning issue that needs attending to otherwise it won’t be addressed until an allocated cleaning time. Unfortunately, the railway does run near to our park, it is a trade off for our great, central location - a quick walk to the town centre, to the ocean, to Whale Watch Kaikoura and to great restaurants. We have found a small number of guests are affected by the train. Luckily, there are very few trains with the noise only lasting momentarily and we do what we can to reduce the noise, for example growing a tall, thick hedge around the boundaries of park.
Again, thank you for writing a review; we will take this feedback on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Drove up, got a cabin, parked outside, threw the bag in and went for a beer. Just what was needed at the time, and a 2 min walk to the whale watching centre (lets face it thats why you are in Kaikoura. Had a a decent bed, bathroom was small, telly had rugby . . was all that was needed for my overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Not the best of the TOP10 sites, and as usual, not enough toilets/showers, but it's in a very convenient location for what is probably the main reason that travellers visit Kaikoura.... the whale-watching. Unfortunately our trip was cancelled to rough seas!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salobrenaholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The place is sort of like a camp ground, but with hotel-esque cabins. Our cabin was spacious enough and included a kitchenette. Shower had plenty of hot water, and the bed was shocking very comfortable. The location is good; walkable to most anything and literally in the backyard of whale watching tours. We could occasionally hear the people in the room next to ours, but not super loud. The hot tub is actually quite impressive. Cedar or oak barrel in a private room that you reserve, and it has a stellar view of the mountains. Overall, it isn't fancy, but offers quite a number of amenities. The staff was very very friendly, and I would overall recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.8 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#9 of 20 in Kaikoura
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 34 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting Kaikoura come and stay at our centrally located, award-winning Holiday Park and Motel. Just 300 metres from the town centre we are the perfect base whilst exploring Kaikoura, head out on foot to local tours, shops, restaurants and cafes. Kaikoura TOP 10 Holiday Park offers a range of quality, affordable accommodation options to suit everyone and every budget. In addition, we offer motel accommodation with a difference - relax and unwind in park surroundings with a welcoming atmosphere of open spaces, landscaped grounds and stunning mountain vistas while still enjoying the benefits of quality, comfortable motel units. . Choose from our 4-star Qualmark rated motels or our cabins or for those travelling in motorhomes we also offer sites in our 5-star Qualmark rated Holiday Park.We pride ourselves on being able to offer some of the best motel accommodation options and service in Kaikoura. Not only do we offer quality and comfort in a park-like setting but we also have excellent, modern facilities that you won’t find anywhere else in Kaikoura. Along with Wi-Fi and SKY Guest Select 50+ channels in every motel and freeview in cabins, we also have fantastic family facilities including an adventure playground with the popular jumping pillow, heated outdoor pool, private hot tub, games room, TV lounge and fun bikes for hire. With so much on offer it’s a wonderful chance for you to enjoy your holiday your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing