We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Nearby Hotels
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
183
26
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
26
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree dvd hirewalking distance to the beachflying foxshort drive into townquick driveawesome viewsa great place to staysurrounding mountainsmotel unitsself containedthe kitchenwasher and dryergreat hostsnew zealandexcellent stayspent nightsthe snow capped mountains
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2011

These cottages have everything you need for a really comfortable stay. They are spotlessly clean and comfortable and have great little grassy areas just outside for you to sit in the sun. The hosts are really friendly and helpful, you couldn't want more from this type of accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratbag67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

My Partner and I stayed here on 8th and 9th January whilst on a tour of the South Island and were not disappointed!! Everything about these cottages is great. If relaxation and peace and quiet is what your after then look no further. The cottages are located just outside town on Old Beach Road. They were clean, spacious and most of all, the staff were so helpful and friendly. The rooms were large with sky television and there was a brilliant selection of free dvds available from the office. Very up to date titles. Whilst we were there we went on two trips both of which I'd highly recommend. The first was Whale Watching which was simply amazing to see a Sperm Whale so close to the boat - beware seasickness sufferers tho!! The second trip we did was swimming with the dolphins in the wild. Again amazing - we located a pod of about 200 dusky dolpins where we simply got in and swam with them - a totally unique experience. Snorkel equipment provided in the cost. Although the cottage is equipped with a great kitchenette we made the most of the local takeaway cuisine. On the first night we had fish and chips from Coopers Catch. This is located at the start of the main shopping street in Kaikoura. Don't be scared by the name Elephant fish. It was delicious and similar to cod. Very resonable but very busy so be prepared for a short wait. The next night we had pizza from Black Rabbit pizza company which is located on the main road into Kaikoura. The pizzas were vere devine and they tasted even better from the porch of our cottage sipping a nice Pinot Gris. All in all, if you go to Kaikoura, do not miss these cottages. They were a brilliant find. Kiwi hospitality first class.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottieKent_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

These cottages are such great value. They seem new (although I think they are about 7 years old), they are immaculate, well appointed and each cottage is so private with its own verandah and small grassed area out front. The hosts supplied a gas barbeque so our family could enjoy a bbq on the grassed area outside our cottage, whilst we were being mesmerised by the snow capped peaks that each cottage is well placed to view. The hosts were fantastic and welcoming and also supplied free DVDs. Our kids filled in their spare time on the trampoline (even our teenager) whilst we sat on the verandah staring at the view. Highly recommend you spend time at Kaikoura Cottage Motels.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vidfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed here one night. Points to note is that it is on the outskirts of Kaikoura. It is not walking distance to restaurants or bars, and you would need a car to get to the town area some 3 km away.
It is situated next to a main highway and train tracks are nearby. We were woken at about 4pm by the train, and heavy trucks also woke us in the night.
The heater was pathetic. It was really noisey - rattled and turned off every 2 hours. There was a small fan heater as well but it was also too noisey to sleep with.
It is NOT a two bedroom unit. It is a one bedroom unit, with the main bed in an area off the lounge, an open plan arrangement with a half wall between. We had insufficient bedding with my daughter getting cold in the night (i don't let the children sleep with electric blankets on). I see in the info that more blankets can be obtained - but we didn't realise we'd need more until 3am in the morning.
I have never read such stern rules in a info kit - you will be charged for breakages (thats fine), odours left, any stains, carpet cleaning and the list goes on and on about all the charges you will be liable for. Seemed a bit over the top.

The view from the units was very nice and the landscaping was well done. But overall, we wouldn't go back. Its too far out of town, and too noisey.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Really great stay at the Kaikoura Cottages. Very close driving distance to the township and the hosts were most welcoming and helpful. Would recommend others to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisbane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews