We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The Cottage Motels are simply wonderful. We found our stay all that the Trip Advisor reviews had said and more.
The cottages are incredibly well maintained and appointed, and became our home whilst we explored and enjoyed Kaikoura. Our boys enjoyed selectingand watching movies from the huge DVD library whilst we prepared dinner - the option to self cater was great and the kitchen well equipped. We really enjoyed a very peaceful and restful stay.
Daryl and Raewynn were fantastic hosts and ensured that our cottage was heated prior to our arrival, and that we had milk on hand. A newspaper on the doorstep in the morning plus plunger coffee - a wonderful way to start the morning. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Kaikoura Cottage Motels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed at Kaikoura Cottages for 4 nights. Cottage 6 was ours with spectacular views of snowcapped mountains as a backdrop to our cottage which had its own private back yard. Totally private, immaculately clean, well appointed and modern. A good DVD selection and complimentary wi-fi access helped on one wet day and host Raewynn was friendly, helpful and knew how to give genuine hospitality to all her guests. Could not speak more highly of her attention to detail.
Thoroughly recommend this venue for travellers with their own car as it is a few kms out of town.

Room Tip: Cottage 6 has fab views and two queen beds.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I’ve stayed in five star hotels that aren’t as clean and well kept as this the Kaikoura Cottage Motels. There really isn’t a blade of grass out of place. The cabins are spacious and well equipped and the views are spectacular. We couldn’t fault the host either – he had a bottle of milk and a free Internet access voucher ready for us on arrival. Great value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holcrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

These cottages have everything you need for a really comfortable stay. They are spotlessly clean and comfortable and have great little grassy areas just outside for you to sit in the sun. The hosts are really friendly and helpful, you couldn't want more from this type of accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratbag67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

My Partner and I stayed here on 8th and 9th January whilst on a tour of the South Island and were not disappointed!! Everything about these cottages is great. If relaxation and peace and quiet is what your after then look no further. The cottages are located just outside town on Old Beach Road. They were clean, spacious and most of all, the staff were so helpful and friendly. The rooms were large with sky television and there was a brilliant selection of free dvds available from the office. Very up to date titles. Whilst we were there we went on two trips both of which I'd highly recommend. The first was Whale Watching which was simply amazing to see a Sperm Whale so close to the boat - beware seasickness sufferers tho!! The second trip we did was swimming with the dolphins in the wild. Again amazing - we located a pod of about 200 dusky dolpins where we simply got in and swam with them - a totally unique experience. Snorkel equipment provided in the cost. Although the cottage is equipped with a great kitchenette we made the most of the local takeaway cuisine. On the first night we had fish and chips from Coopers Catch. This is located at the start of the main shopping street in Kaikoura. Don't be scared by the name Elephant fish. It was delicious and similar to cod. Very resonable but very busy so be prepared for a short wait. The next night we had pizza from Black Rabbit pizza company which is located on the main road into Kaikoura. The pizzas were vere devine and they tasted even better from the porch of our cottage sipping a nice Pinot Gris. All in all, if you go to Kaikoura, do not miss these cottages. They were a brilliant find. Kiwi hospitality first class.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottieKent_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

These cottages are such great value. They seem new (although I think they are about 7 years old), they are immaculate, well appointed and each cottage is so private with its own verandah and small grassed area out front. The hosts supplied a gas barbeque so our family could enjoy a bbq on the grassed area outside our cottage, whilst we were being mesmerised by the snow capped peaks that each cottage is well placed to view. The hosts were fantastic and welcoming and also supplied free DVDs. Our kids filled in their spare time on the trampoline (even our teenager) whilst we sat on the verandah staring at the view. Highly recommend you spend time at Kaikoura Cottage Motels.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vidfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed here one night. Points to note is that it is on the outskirts of Kaikoura. It is not walking distance to restaurants or bars, and you would need a car to get to the town area some 3 km away.
It is situated next to a main highway and train tracks are nearby. We were woken at about 4pm by the train, and heavy trucks also woke us in the night.
The heater was pathetic. It was really noisey - rattled and turned off every 2 hours. There was a small fan heater as well but it was also too noisey to sleep with.
It is NOT a two bedroom unit. It is a one bedroom unit, with the main bed in an area off the lounge, an open plan arrangement with a half wall between. We had insufficient bedding with my daughter getting cold in the night (i don't let the children sleep with electric blankets on). I see in the info that more blankets can be obtained - but we didn't realise we'd need more until 3am in the morning.
I have never read such stern rules in a info kit - you will be charged for breakages (thats fine), odours left, any stains, carpet cleaning and the list goes on and on about all the charges you will be liable for. Seemed a bit over the top.

The view from the units was very nice and the landscaping was well done. But overall, we wouldn't go back. Its too far out of town, and too noisey.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Brook House B&B & Cottages
#10 of 32 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Cottage Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Cottage Motels

Address: Corner Old Beach Road | Mill Road and State Highway 1, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £84 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Cottage Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaikoura Cottage Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing