We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing, friendly and wonderful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The staff were wonderfully friendly, the cottages were clean, roomy and have the most wondreful views. Couldn't fault anything about Kaikoura cottage motels other than our stay wasn't long enough but we will fix that next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

This is excellent value. An individual cottage, clean extremely comfortable, quiet and with friendly hosts. We would definately stay here again. There was everything here that travellers need, and the whole feel of the place was good. Just out of the main town area, a short distance to walk, and many restaurants not too far away.

Maggie Wake

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We recently had 2 nights here and couldn't have been happier. A very friendly welcome from Raewyn who explained everything. The views are gorgeous but the main appeal was the cabin which was so modern, well thought out and equipped with quality inclusions. It was great to cook yourself instead of eating out. Good TV and DVDs...so much choice!!! The cottage gardens and surrounds are lovely too.
One of the best self-contained cabins we have stayed in and thanks for the warm hospitality Rae. (By the way Rae....the Store at Kekerrengu was stunning and great coffee !!!)
Fantastic all round!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed here last year for a night, so we came back this trip and stayed for 3 nights. Just such a wonderful peaceful stay and a great base from which to explore the surrounding area. The owners cannot be helpful enough and go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful time.
Units were as usual spotlessly clean and all fittings modern and up to date. These units are right up the Northern end of Town, so just go that little bit further when travelling up from Christchurch, you wont be dissappointed!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our cottage offered really good value at $NZ110 per night total for the two of us. The cottage had an open plan area including lounge/dining/kitchen/main bed with a small separate bedroom which included two single beds. The decore is sterile, but the cottage was absolutely immaculately clean in every respect and had obviously been newly fitted out. The owners are very helpful and as an added bonus have a great DVD collection that you can borrow from at no cost. The cottages also have the benefit of meaning that you don't need to share walls with other guests. In summary, great value for money and would be good accommodation for families.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie1232003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, lovely new cottages, gorgeous views. Shame we could only stay one night. Great rate was obtained using "wotif". Note: Cottages are at the town end of Old Beach Road - beware your GPS may take you several km's away to the other end of the road.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights - we found the owners to be very helpful and friendly.

We had a cottage on the outside, overlooking the mountains :) Very private and it had a car parking space right next to the unit.

The cottage was well equipped. Had 2 beds, modern shower room. Little kitchen and living/dining area.

Ideal base for exploring Kaikoura - about 5 mins drive away from the little town. Supermarket on route for supplies.

Had onsite laudry and a huge stack of DVD's at the office should you need any.

Good priced and very clean cottages - would return on our next tour of NZ :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 27L09R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
350 reviews
2.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.9 mi away
Bay Cottages
Bay Cottages
#17 of 36 in Kaikoura
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
2.5 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#16 of 32 in Kaikoura
103 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Cottage Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Cottage Motels

Address: Corner Old Beach Road | Mill Road and State Highway 1, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £80 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Cottage Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaikoura Cottage Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing