We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - very easy and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed overnight and booked last minute while travelling with family including 2 teenage sons. Apartments were clean and warm and very easy to use. Shower pressure a bit weak - pet peeve... but next door fish & chip shop was magic! Also gave recommendations on stop off at seal pups as we headed North.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haggis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our one night here. The owners have thought if everything. The cottages are clean,warm and comfy. The kids enjoyed the play area. The views of the kaikoura ranges are wonderful and the warmth of the winter sun meant we could sit on the north west facing deck a
nd soak it up. Highly recommend. of

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Cannot say enough about Kaikoura Cottage Motels! Lovely, friendly hosts. Possibly the cleanest place we have ever stayed! Beautlfully decorated interior. Warm & inviting. Great heating. Comfortable beds. Quiet location. We will be back!
The Overends

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMO64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Comfy, friendly, and the cleanest place I have ever been to. It is very quiet and affordable. The garden is nice. There is a laundry room for self-service. I would stay there again. Kaikoura is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma_StCugat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Sadly we only stayed one night. This was the best place we stayed throughout N.Z. We would recommend this to anyone. The cottage was beautifully clean and comfortable. The heater had been turned on waiting for our arrival. The owners went out of their way to be helpful and provided as much detail as we could ever have wished for. Even though it backs on to a main road there was no road noise.
We couldn't fault the cottages.
Hillary

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed one night and wished we had been there for a few more days. The view from the front porch over to the mountains was magic and to sit out there in the afternoon sun was so relaxing. Very chilly night but little cottage warmed up beautifully and the bed was lovely and comfy. Basic bathroom facilities but quite adequate for our needs. Had asked for access unit due to husband's walking difficulties and he managed the shower fine. Spotlessly clean. Nice fish and chip shop just down the road if you don't want to drive to town, which is a wee way away. Raewyn, you are a great hostess and we appreciated your warmth and helpfulness.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WetaRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

stayed there for one night with my wife and baby.
the cottage was very tidy and convenience with a nice living room with a big screened TV and a big balcony.
the hosts were very nice.
all in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaron1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
347 reviews
2.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bay Cottages
Bay Cottages
#19 of 36 in Kaikoura
54 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#16 of 32 in Kaikoura
103 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Cottage Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Cottage Motels

Address: Corner Old Beach Road | Mill Road and State Highway 1, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £78 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Cottage Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaikoura Cottage Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing